We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Stay”
Review of Penmaenuchaf Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were delighted with our time at this country hotel
THE OWNERS HAVE THOUGHTFULLY RESTORED THIS PROPERTY
Great location for day trips
Lovely rural setting,great lodgings and food
Welcoming staff made every effort to please
We will return

Room Tip: I dont think that there is a bad view from any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We took advantage of an offer through Travelzoo and albeit it was a last minute decision it was very pleasant. Our bedroom perhaps was a bit on small side but for what we paid we were more than happy. It was clean and well furnished with excellent toiletries in bathroom. Our afternoon tea of homemade scones, tea and glass of sparkling wine when we arrived was very welcome especially sitting by the log fire in a well decorated and tastefully furnished lounge.This set the scene for rest of our stay. Staff were friendly but unobtrusive. The food was fantastic...plenty of choice on the a la carte menu but no choice on fixed price menu but thats your choice. Breakfast was well cooked with plenty of choices. A very enjoyable break and treated with courtesy throughout. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had one of the more expensive “deluxe” rooms, which was spacious and well furnished with a large bathroom. The food was good and quantities quite large, but as mentioned by others, we thought an extra £3-50 on various starters and main courses was irritating, as was the demands for breakfast and dinner times to be booked in advance.
This is an expensive hotel, and maybe too expensive for what is offered, but the location is splendid and it has a very good restaurant and nice public rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterJohnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After staying at other hotels in Wales which surpassed expectation, this was a huge disappointment. The location is nice and the hotel itself has huge potential all let down by indifferent staff and owners. Our room on the top floor in the roof space and was overpriced for what is was. 2 small windows with nice views. Tiny bathroom with no place to put your own toiletries. Bugs in the bath/shower. A kettle which, according to the sticker, had not been tested since 2009 - and required a call to reception to work (staff member demonstrated the dodgy switch technique to get it to work). Originally white desk chair which is now stained and tacky. Did have free wiifi but very slow.

Room info booklet advises breakfast time from 7:30am. However, entire lower floor in darkness when we went downstairs and were advised by staff member, who had just arrived to work, that we would not be served until 8:30am. No apology. Dinner too did not live up to the expectation based on the menu choice. Food bland and overpriced. Also thought the "service" was a tad fussy.

With new management and staff, this place could be spruced and freshened up. As it is, it just lets the side down, with a feel of being tired and uninviting. Luckily there are plenty of other hotels available which are fabulous and reflect the warm, welsh hospitality.

Room Tip: Unfortunately can only judge by our room - avoid the top floor if you have large suitcases (as intl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A group of 10 of us stayed on a full board package. Not one single complaint from 10 people. The food exceeded expectation. Very rigid on their price structure but delivered the September package on 1st. October. Nice to be able to pay compliments !

Room Tip: Rooms vary with quite a big mark-up for better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A perfect country house hotel for a special weekend - the staff were superbly attentive (but without being intrusive), and had clearly been trained to an extremely high standard. The quality of the food was perfect. The room ("Scott") was well furnished and most comfortable.
Mildly irritating was the extra costs for certain dishes - is is really necessary to add these supplements when the meal cost is already £42.50 per head, and the accommodation charge top-end?
Beware the speed humps in the drive - the last but one at the top was impossible to negotiate without grounding (both going up and down, and at crawling speed).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Appalling bedrooms. Dire meanness. Pricing is madness - d.b.&b. at £580 for 2 nights mid-week break in September. Dreadful cheap coffee and tea in room. Washing-up liquid disguised as soap and shampoo. Bathrobes that Primark would not stock. MFI wardro bes, cheap carpet and even cheaper plastic flooring to bathroom. Insufficient hot water. Because we had two small dogs we had to use the fire escape for entry and exit. A list of conditions for dogs written by a frustrated prison governor and ending "We hope your pet enjoys his stay". It seemed from the dozens of photos throughout the hotel that some Welsh Royal Family must be in residence. It was in fact the owners and family posing in evening dress for admiring customers. Dinner just acceptable except the one hour wait after ordering, geared we presume, to obtain maximum bar take. Over all, a dire experience and watch the extras. They offer nothing free.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank dundee468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
24.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
769 reviews
23.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
24.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
17.9 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmaenuchaf Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmaenuchaf Hall

Address: Penmaenpool | Dolgellau, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penmaenpool
Price Range: £123 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penmaenuchaf Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penmaenuchaf Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penmaenuchaf Hall Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales
Penmaenuchaf Hall Hotel Penmaenpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing