We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just spent fantastic few days at George III. My wife arranged a surprise 50th birthday celebration here. The staff were brilliant, coping with 23 for lunch including 4 late arrivals and all the meal changes that occurred. They even made sure I was not around when contacting my wife to check on details. The food is excellent, the Chef deserves a michelin star or two, we recommend the Bread and Olives, Stea and Ale pie with Waffles and Cherries to finish. The room was delightful with fantastic views across the estuary, comfy bed and was refreshed everyday. We didn't even need lunch with the wonderful breakfast on offer. We have travelled the world and still feel this is the best, nothing to beat waking up to the view, having a great breakfast then cycling the trail, ace.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge, any room there is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    96
    72
    48
    63
See reviews for
110
164
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

If it is so busy and popular, why not take on more staff at predictably busy times. ie. August? Why not streamline the menu to make it easier for the kitchen? My lunch was not as described on the menu.I had chosen carefully due to wheat intolerance and was disappointed. Waitress had to be consulted twice and went back to kitchen reluctantly to get me a bowl of potatoes to compensate for those that should have topped the meal as per menu. All in all not a great experience. Probably best to stop for just a drink and admire the view if you have time to wait at the bar for service. Suggested to man at bar he needed help: "there isn't any" he said. Well,why not?!!! My husband thought his meal was ok, though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynetteP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Tywyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Ive been coming to the George hotel regularly with family and friends, must be about 5 times now, it never fails to please. The food is define and presented amazingly, just the presence and smells makes your tongue water! All the staff here are very welcoming and helpful, they are so friendly and bubbly! i've really enjoyed every time i've come and i'd definitely share the word to other friends and families! the whole experience is fantastic.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had to wait at bar whilst the world's most miserable barman collected and washed a few glasses (not at all busy, could have done that later). Then during our drink, woman in restaurant above came and told our children off for skimming stones in the estuary (disturbing no-one). Then loudly moaned about a dog barking ! Not the most welcoming place to be ! Advise that you avoid this place and drink / eat elsewhere - there are lovely pubs with great views (e.g. on the shore of Tal y Llyn a few miles south). Thought about eating here last year, but when we climbed the stairs to the restaurant, were confronted with signs "no muddy boots", "no children"....this place screams "not welcome, we run this place to pay the bills, not to serve customers". Lots of nice places to eat in Dolgellau too - avoid George III !!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank TeamThommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penmaenpool, Manager at George III Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Yet another inpatient tourist that is not prepared to wait during the busiest time of the year!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We visit the area regularly, Summer and Winter. The Pub is in a stunning location with excellent passing trade from holiday makers (often cyclists and walkers) whatever the weather, so it is usually busy. The Waitresses were trying hard, but the mature male bar staff slow beyond belief. Queues of people left standing, not just unserved, but ignored completely while glasses were put in the washer, albeit still leaving most of the counter top cluttered and filthy. No smile, no effort to meet and greet the paying customer, whatsoever. In another bar, one young barman was left untrained and unsupported trying to serve as best he could. I run a service business myself, and can see when the management don't care. When so many people in the area are working so hard to make a living from the tourist trade, it is little wonder the grumpy standards at the George are a much discussed topic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EddieSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have recently returned from our third visit to the George 111 at Dolgellau which never fails to please. This friendly family run hotel has what is surely one of the best locations in Wales to the extent that in an ideal world every room would be at the front to enjoy the views over the tidal estuary. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained. There is a wide choice of well presented and very substantial dishes on the menu which is sufficiently extensive to excuse any odd hiccup in the busy kitchen. Not that we experienced anything but professional competence from the attentive staff so we are surprised to read the odd negative comment. Surely from people who are only happy finding fault or those whose expectations are unrealistically high given the reasonable prices. The George does not pretend to be Claridges but is a welcoming, scenically situated hotel catering for a varied clientele, from couples seeking a relaxing, comfortable break with good food to walkers and cyclists making enthusiastic inroads into the downstairs cellar bar menu which offers outside eating. We find the George good value and a relaxing retreat. The number of repeat bookings and a busy restaurant suggests many others do too..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

A table was booked in advance for this birthday party.The only good thing about this pub is
the location.
This place has no atmosphere & the staff are not up to the job.we were shown to a table & was
tossed a menu by a very unprofessional waitress who gave us a jug of water & 4 dirty glasses. Very abruptly she told us to order food & drink at the bar.After a long wait at the bar with our list of food & drink for 8 people we were told that the kitchen was to busy to do us any starters plus a 1 hour wait for food ! At that point we all got up & walked out.
Another party who saw this told us they wished they had walked out before paying like us.
This didn't spoil the evening as we went into Barmouth & had a fantastic meal there instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mickbustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#6 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing