We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing 3 day autumn break at this friendly hotel.”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing 3 day autumn break at this friendly hotel.”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at the George III Hotel for 3 nights from 23rd Oct 2012,and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found all the staff were very friendly and obliging. We found the wide chioce of breakfasts excellent, as were the 3 evening meals, being able to select from a wide choice of menu,with prices to suit all pockets.
The room we had in The Lodge was comfortable and kept very clean and tidy.
The position and views across the estuary are "out of this world".and walking along the Mawddach Estuary is flat and suitable for all abilities.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will be going back next year.
Wendy & David
PS We just can not understand some of the adverse comments!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    100
    80
    52
    68
See reviews for
121
177
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

First of all I am extremely surprised by the amount of the negative reviews about this nice warm welcoming place. Please don't be put off by them as they seem unreasonably unfair.
My family and I had meals here previously in the past and never ever felt disappointed. You always get best quality food along with attentive customer service. Yes, it might be slight delays during busiest time of the year but it is indeed very understandable, besides you're always told about await and easily can order some nibbles meanwhile.
Last time we had my birthday celebration here and it went absolutely great. Not just me but every member of my party loved their food (particularly perfectly cooked steaks) and staff was faultless as always. As it's said in a few reviews about lamb shanks I can not help commenting that it is very odd as I happened to order same dish and it was mouthmelting. Meat very juicy and tenderly cooked and along with mint sauce was incredibly tasty.
As for customer service we all felt wanted there and didn't experience even a single inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you wish to visit the most unfriendly,most unwelcoming,most ill mannered hotel in Wales then this is the place for you! They do not care if they serve you or not and two coffees took forever. The staff are unbelievably rude and certainly need to learn the basic art of customer care but do not take my word for it,go and see for yourself, then go and have lunch down the road.....

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank 69Bassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Show Prices
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

The George third hotel has always had 1 of the best views in wales. Stunning is an understatement!! But! The food ! Maybe the worst in the area!! Walkers , it's a must! Eaters , stay away !! What a shame

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Having been recommended by friends, my husband and I booked a table in the restaurant for Saturday evening. On being shown to our table, we found we were not actually sitting in the restaurant but in what appeared to be a walkway between the restaurant and bar area, making us feel rather uncomfortable. We were handed menus and told that we had to order our food at the bar (we've never had to do this in a restaurant before). After our order had been placed, we were told that, as they were rather busy, there would be a wait of at least 30 minutes. What would have been nice is the offer of bread or something to nibble on whilst we waited. 40 minutes later our starter arrived, which was nothing special, definitely not worth the wait. We got a bit concerned on how long we would have to wait for our main course when, on clearing our plates, we were asked if we would like to see the dessert menu! Fortunately, it wasn't too long. Unfortunately, the food wasn't very good. The steak in the pie was very tough and the chips tasted of old oil - not very pleasant. The best part of the lamb shank was the carrot and swede mash. By this time, we'd had enough so didn't even wait to be asked about dessert, just went to the bar to pay. Not once were we asked if everything was OK - perhaps they were scared what the answer might be!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 600Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Having been there 34 yrs ago when privately/family owned we were delighted ad the atmosphere and food to match.Went several times and despite change ownership-less so but still good-views as ever fantastic but welcome and food indifferement. Even moved restaurant to a conservatory.
Other guests we me after similar years of enjoyment said the same=shame

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 810Nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We used to have a strong family connection to this lovely old hotel but we have not been here for about 10 years when it was clean and well run and very, very busy. The possition is of course beautiful. We called at 12.30pm on a lovely day but there was only maybe a dozen people in which could explain why much of the hotel was closed up including the room with the best views. We were greeted by a miserable barman and had a couple of drinks out of dirty glasses and ordered our meals out of the tattiest menu holders I have ever come accross. The specials on the wall were not that special because they did not have them all but they were programmed into the till. The food was average in quality but not exactly as described on the menu - for instance, roast potatoes were in fact deep fried, 'crispy pork' wasn't. My wifes' pork came with plain and boring boiled veg. My haddock was over £13 and worth about £9. Very disappointing. I think a shorter menu would be better. The waitresses were pleasant. Behind the bar was very dirty, not the dirtiest I have ever seen but not far off, there is no excuse for dirty bins and drip trays, they are easily washed and since smoking was banned there is no excuse for filthy ceilings and stereo speakers. When we came to pay, the barman asked if everything was ok and I told him no. The misery just carried on processing my card and said nothing. I don't think the old newspaper clippings should be up any more because they are about how it was, not how it is now unless we went on a bad day of course.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edmund C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing