We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel ever.”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best hotel ever.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Once again we had the most glorious time ; the food was delicious;the accommodation excellent;&all we did all day was ride our bikes along the trail to Barmouth & Fairborne; rode on the little steam train & took the ferry across the estuary; then cycled back to the hotel & soaked in the bath before our meal. The views are so beautiful and the wild life spectacular: who could ask for more .

Room Tip: Any room in the lodge esp. room 7 which has a bath as well as shower & great views of estuary &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    96
    73
    48
    63
See reviews for
110
165
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was clean and traditionally furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the view from the room was amazing. The bathroom was clean, but could do with a bit of modernising. The shower was temperamental, but eventually we managed to get it working ok. The kettle in the room could do with being replaced or cleaned thoroughly.

Breakfast was very good, the bacon was nice and crispy, the eggs cooked well and there was a good selection of cooked and continental food, although the sausages could have been a little better quality.

We also ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings and on both occasions the food from the extensive menu was very good, the staff were friendly and attentive, whilst it was also fairly reasonable.

The car park is a decent size and the main road nearby means it's easy enough to get to.

The ceilings are low in the main hotel building, so mind your head if you're tall!

We would stay here again and recommend it for a quick get away to take in the lovely surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the main hotel building have great views and ours also had a 4 post bed. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had pre-booked a table for group of us (including children) only to find that we had been split onto 2 tables. We had ordered food but nobody bothered to take a drinks order, which meant traipsing to the bar where only one person was serving and thus a lengthy wait. When there was a complication with the orders the staff were audibly annoyed. We saw the "no children on the balcony" sign but it wasn't made clear about children in the upper part until I overheard waitress telling someone to leave his young son outside if he wanted to go to the upstairs bar, he had apparently come upstairs because the lower bar also only had one person serving. Food was okay, but the menu was too eclectic. Suggest they reduce the menu size, increase the quality. On the plus side the location is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toadfish68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Non Essex Girl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We saw the Mawddach Trail on a TV programme a while back and booked the hotel as it is directly on the trail and gave us the chance to catch up with good friends living nearby. We booked last minute (a three night midweek break) through the hotel's website and after speaking to the owner Jim a little later were kindly upgraded to the four-poster room.

The room had lots of character plus all the mod cons including a good sized flat screen TV, it also provided stunning views of the estuary. The four poster was huge and with gorgeous bedding was very comfy. My only slight niggle was the shower which had a habit of going cold mid-wash - I didn't complain about this as it didn't bother me too much.

I found the staff a mixed bag - some very friendly (at breakfast) and others (bar staff) that lacked customer service skills and a smile. Regrettably we didn't get the chance to try out the hotel restaurant but did have pub meal and ate breakfast which offered a range of cereals, fruits and cooked choices.

Would definitely stay here again - would try suite next time (wasn't available this time round).

Room Tip: Book an estuary room - its worth splashing out extra £20 for suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slicker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went for my father's birthday. Food ok but the attitude of the batman was horrendous. It was very busy and there was no apology despite my husband waiting half an hour for a drink. The waitress in charge of the carvery was also very very rude. I also overheard other customers asking for a refund due to the poor customer service

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely location local beer excellent. Food very average and very overpriced my son counted 14 chips and 16 peas on his adult meal. Service poor. Long wait at bar with one poor barman taking all orders and working the bar. Suggest get drink but take sandwiches to eat by estuary after

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ethelandberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawshall, Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My three children and I had planned to have lunch here on our way to Barmouth. This hotel has always been a bit of a treat for me as I've lived in the area, on and off, for quite a few years and always looked forward to visiting.

We wandered through the various rooms, not wanting to end up in one of the rooms that children weren't allowed. We ended up in the room furthest from the entrance but, since it was a nice day, we wanted to eat outside. There was a door leading to a balcony which was furnished with tables and chairs - so we opened the door (I was holding it open for the children) and were just about to sit down. A young waitress appeared and, from the other side of the room said, bluntly "You can't use that door". I didn't quite catch what she said the first time so said "Sorry?" Again, bluntly, she said "You can't use that door". There was no notice on the glass panelled door to say we weren't supposed to go out on the balcony via this door. "You have to go back out the front door and round the front of the hotel" she said. So, we were allowed on the balcony by not via that door?? Small sigh from me, but, we all shuffled back through the hotel and out through the entrance. We rounded the corner en route to the balcony and were met with a notice saying 'No children allowed on the balcony'!!!!??? So, why tell me - clearly with 3 children in tow - to go back outside when, surely, she must have known we wouldn't be able to take a seat out there anyway?! Can't comment on the food, we didn't get that far - we felt we'd been spoken to in a curt manner, been admonished for using a door that had no signs that suggested it shouldn't be used and given the wrong information to boot!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing