We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot Tea, Lukewarm Welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hot Tea, Lukewarm Welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Called in here for a pot of tea near the end of a return cycle ride on the excellent Dolgellau-Barmouth Mawddach Trail. Opted to sit outside adjacent to the trail beneath a balcony. Both members of staff we encountered were curt but the tea was fine and reasonably priced. It's a lovely spot - just a shame passers-by were more friendly than the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    96
    72
    48
    63
See reviews for
110
164
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stay regularly at the George III and were there last weekend. The food was as good as ever and, as usual, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The new TVs are a big improvement. The staff were very helpful and anxious to make our weekend a happy one - the live folk music on Friday was a most enjoyable experience. The weather was cool and wet, but beyond the control of management!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masonicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsgate
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Excellent food extensive menu, real ale (a must). Room very clean with comfortable bed, good view over the river, encountered no problems with any part of stay, quiet location, very friendly staff and helpful especially the waitresses, good value. will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamsgateMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in the George for 2 nights over the Bank Holiday weekend, and were rather surprised by the negative comments submitted by others as we had a wonderful stay. The location is superb, the bedrooms excellent (best night's sleep in a hotel for many a year);food, especially breakfast was very good, and the service was always with a smile.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing a restful holiday in a beautiful part of Wales

Room Tip: Any with an estuary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willyn1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stay a few miles down the coast and have been to the George for a meal on numerous occasions. The food is wonderful although you do sometimes have to wait if you haven't booked. The main criticism is the attitude of the barman (older guy with glasses). He can be very curt and is generally miserable. He needs to learn how to speak to customers. It does get very busy but I still think a smile wouldn't go amiss. Other than him the staff are pleasant and helpful.
If you aren't bothered about how you're treated and enjoy good food and fantastic views then give it a go

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

we visited there on mon 26th aug just for a meal.....we have actually stopped there twice before,and the only reason we didnt this time was because it was full(sooooo glad off that!!).we were asked what room w were in,and when i replyed that we werent staying ,we were swiftly moved out off the "best bit with a view",and seated else where.we were told that we would have to order our drins from the bar....order the food from the bar,etc.what really annoyed us was the fact that the couple sitting at the next table were waited on hand and foot!!! obviously residents??? funny thing is,i dont remember paying any less than then hmmmmm funny that.the food took 50 to arrive and was ok,but notheing special.the bareman,who could possibly be the owner,as the last two times we have stayed there,was on reception,was as misserable as ever!.i get the feeling if your from Wales and a regular,you should be ok,but to quote the managers remarks from one of the many bad comments on here......"yet another tourist moaning about bad service when were busy!!!!!!!!!"hmmmmmm not exactly a good comeback is it!!.anyway,the waitress who moved us was lovely,not here fault,she said she hadnt been there long,id get out whiole you can love!!!.we stayed twic because off the beautifull scenery,not for the service thats for sure,we found the most warm and welcoming b&b right opposite,just over the bridge,and we will deffinatly be returning,they KNOW how to do the job correctly!! they dont seem to like children,or families.or anyone who isnt from wales at the GEORGE,i wouldnt bother,there are far better places else where!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzyt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked a meal for 10 of us in advance by phone, and were asked to give meal selections by e mail, ahead of the visit so as to avoid a larger party arriving after our booked time. Up to this point the staff I dealt with were helpful and friendly. When we actually arrived the service was another matter! Our table wasn't ready so we were asked to go to the bar to order drinks, but told that the toddlers in our party would have to go up to the dining area to wait! This was not practical so I asked how long the table would be. The member of staff shouted at me - 'We're doing it now!' When we went up to the dining area there were 2 tables so I asked could they be put together. Again an aggressive response saying no. When challenged she agreed to do it , but said that I had been told when booking that there would be 2 tables. When I said that this hadn't been mentioned she said 'Well it should have been' - again aggressively.
We had ordered starters but when the staff were reminded of this I was told that it had been overlooked and the main courses were ready for serving. Despite all this hassle not once did the staff actually enquire during our meal whether everything was ok, and no-one asked if we wanted desserts or tea/coffee. As you can imagine we were most unhappy with the experience , although the food itself was fine. I decided to write to the hotel to seek an apology or explanation, which I did 10 days ago, and I have not had an acknowledgement, never mind a reply. We had a lovely week in Dolgellau, spoiled only by this experience.

Room Tip: N/A meal only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#6 of 34 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing