We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class”
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Room was spotless & charmingly full of character with every need catered for, including wireless internet, telephone, flatscreen tv & heated towel rail in the en-suite, the bed was extremely comfortable).The food was delicious & plentiful with a wide variaty of dishes to choose from mixing traditional with a la carte. The hotel dates back to the 15th century and it shows in its layout and character, it has a very warm and relaxing atmosphere, staff were hard working and polite. My husbund and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay, enjoying the beautiful scenery on our bike rides into Barmouth. I would highly recommend this hotel and will deffinitely be returning.

  • Liked — The room.
  • Disliked — The price of a pint.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fevs_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    96
    73
    48
    63
See reviews for
110
165
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We have just returned from a weekend break to George 111, Hotel. and we thoroughly enjoyed it, The hotel bedroom was very
comfortable with absolutely lovely views over the estuary. The food was also very good, and if you enjoy cycling or walking it was an ideal location , We will certainly return to this lovely hotel.
Mr & Mrs Bright, Shropshire.

  • Liked — old hotel with character
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank foxleyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We stayed at the George III in November and would just like to say how lovely it was. The setting is unbelievable, the views from our room were stunning. The room was recently renovated and looked beautiful. A lot of thought had gone into the decor and it showed. The food is delicious and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The owner of the hotel was there and did everything ensure his guests had a wonderful stay. He gave us free coffee top ups with no extra charge: you don't get this kind of generosity any more these days! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful break in a beautiful part of Wales, with tasty food and welcoming staff.

  • Liked — The rooms and the view
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

A great hotel, well run and with fantastic food, drink and hospitality. The comments written by the other reviewers do reflect the truth of this hotel. Stay and stay again great value and a pleasure to return.

  • Liked — The ambiance and warm welcome
  • Disliked — Dated bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Relax and enjoy everything this hotel has to offer
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Brabuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

A lovely spot with the hotel now incorporating the old railway stationmaster's house.

We booked - despite the price of £98.00 a night for a twin room just to "tick off" another railway stay.

We arrived and explored the room - when was it converted???

The block has a tourism award nailed to it and of fairly recent origin too. It's either easy to win awards in these parts or the adjudictors saw the external photos and no more.

The room could date from the mid sixties and so could the tv - no remote - and the clock radio - no reception

The room was clean, but at the price - not up to the standard you would expect - I would rate it at equivalent to £50.00 to £60.00 a night stays in Scotland.

The evening food was probably Brake Bros best - it was certainly heated on the premises - but probably prepared in an industrial complex far away.

The lower bar and terrace where we ate was an incomparable location deserving of much, much better. The draught ale was excellent. We went upstairs having been recommended to the residents lounge and found everywhere in darkness. When we saw it in the morning on our way to breakfast we realised why. It hasn't been renovated in forty years and it shows.

Breakfast was slow as the young guys who staff the hotel had enjoyed a good evening the night before - we know because we were there.

All in all a lovely traditional welsh hotel who's manager wants throwing in the river, and which wants remarketing at a more competitive price, as compared with other hotel experiences in Britain it is well over priced and is relying totally on its location rather than its reputation.

  • Disliked — Dated furniture and equpment
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get a discount rate - its not worth the rack rate
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Rangmore, Burton On Trent, Staffs UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three days in July 2006.

We soon found that our room was not being properly cleaned. Fingermarks were visible on the glass entrance door, the overhead centre light fitting was covered with cobwebs, dirt was found beneath beds and cupboards and on the skirting board. A packet of biscuits had fallen behind a cupboard and been left there. Wallpaper was peeling away around the window frame and there was a black patch of damp at the foot of the entrance door.

In the bathroom the shaving light did not work and the glass cover was broken. The extractor fandid not work. The upper half of the exterior transom window was utterly filthly.
Two part-time cleaning ladies were present, both very pleasant and helpful, but were twice seen smoking and drinking coffee in public areas.
The most serious complaint concerned the lack of any hot water on the first day of our stay. This was due to a boiler fault, not repaired until mid-afternoon.
Service was often very slow at breakfast and one day guests had to wait half an hour before being served.

The General Manager was away from the hotel on two of the three days. He avoided an opportunity to speak with us about the problems preferring it seemed to chat with his local friends and cronies.

On the credit side all the young staff were pleasent and helpful, but were very clearly overworked.

All in all an unfortunate visit.

Helpful?
11 Thank Richard2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing