We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice meal shame about the barmans attitude”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice meal shame about the barmans attitude”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Visited for a family meal Easter Sunday, can't fault the meal or the restaurant staff, but the obnoxious attitude of the barman would be enough to put anybody off a revisit. A real shame as I have known and visited this hotel for more than 40 years.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    100
    80
    52
    69
See reviews for
121
178
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were planning on having a nice lunch here in beautiful surroundings but were told after ordering our drinks that children were not allowed and had to be in the room at the back of the hotel, a dark and empty room.!!
Obviously we then left!we have 2 children(ages 10 and 8) both of which are very well behaved and at the time were sitting looking at the menu.
If you are of a certain age and dont like children i can recommend otherwise i suggest going to one of the other establishments nearby were you are welcomed with a smile!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penmaenpool hotels

Show Prices
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Please do not go here if you have children. We went for a meal as we had on numerous occasions (we live locally) and were told by the barman - you can't sit there with children (this was to be the girls, age 8 and 11 who know how to behave in restaurants! first meal there), you will have to sit in the back room at table 2 (the room was segregated dark and empty) When I enquired as to when this rule had come in, I was just told there's a sign on the doorway. Needless to say our money went elsewhere as we finished our drink and left. If you are 60+ and Welsh you should be ok.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It was our first visit to this pub on Saturday.We had cycled quite away and decided to pop in for food and a drink.We arrived about 2.30pm but were shocked at how we were spoken too while waiting outside while the others went in to purchase our food and drinks.There were 6 adults and 3 small children(one of which is under two) A very rude barman toldmy friend that her 18 month child was not allowed to eat her jam sandwich while we were waiting to be served(pub policy) She then asked did they sell baby food at which point he said no! By the time we got served it was 2.45pm at which point he then advised they has stop ordering food!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank bexo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had booked booked the George111 for my Mother in law. Mother's Day. We had been to Barmouth for the weekend, this just finished the weekend off beautifully. The staff where a pleasure, but please if you do go make sure you have the Desserts, yes they really are has good as they look.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a quirky hotel in a fantastic location. We stayed for a weekend and loved the views - we stayed in the Lodge. There are fantastic walks from your doorstep. The bar is lovely and cosy but the new part of the restaurant feels put of keeping and lacks character. Food was Ok, generours portions and decent choice. The let down was our room, very tired & needed a makeover. But we'd put up with that for everything else the hotel offers and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We didn't stay in this hotel but we did go for lunch. To be honest I was a little shocked by how unfriendly the bar man was. When I asked if I could swap my new potatoes he more or less said no.. I paid £14 for my main (during lunch) so you would have thought swapping my new potatoes for mash wouldn't be a problem. The sandwiches looked good and the waitress was friendly but I wouldn't visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank michos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#15 of 34 in Dolgellau
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing