We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My partner, I and our little girl visited here last week whilst spending a week in Fairbourne with 6 other family members. We both ordered fillet steak and our little girl had sausages and I have to say it was very nice, after the usual holiday food we had been eating this was a gem of a place. Steak was the price you expect to pay for a good steak and we could have eaten cheaper easily but we wanted to treat ourselves. I ordered a white wine and personally I love it when I can pick the type and then have my own little bottle but I am easily pleased :). We didn't wait long and we had a cosy table in the dining room looking out of the window to the estuary. We finished with 3 separate desserts all of which were amazing. As a foodie family we would definitely recommend this place to anyone in the area

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    96
    72
    48
    63
See reviews for
110
165
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I ate here over the last few days. So this review is just about the dining experience which was good overall. The pub faces the estuary and has a very pleasant outlook allowing diners to eat on tables outside in the balmy sunshine in a picturesque environment.

There is a good variety of food with sensible prices - not cheap but not expensive. The food we had was the rack of lamb and silverside beef in a black bean sauce. The lamb was perfectly cooked and well presented as was my beef in a black bean sauce. Both somehow lacked some flavour which means I have dropped my marks to 4 stars. The service was excellent, being attentive without being pushy and it was quite busy on a bright summer evening.

But as a dining experience I would have no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My Husband and I have been regular visitors to the George for the last 14 years and wish to put another side to the story. Yes, sometimes we have had to wait up to 10 minutes or more to be served, but when you have Mom and Dad ordering drinks and food for themselves, two kids, nan and Granddad and you get the scenario of Dad sending Mom back to see what flavour J2o drink Natalie would like and then to send her back again to see if little Jack would like beans or peas with his meal!!!!!!! - All this time people are waiting their turn to be served. The bars are not very large and whilst two staff would be handy again you have a problem if one staff is pulling two pints of fosters for example and the second staff also wants to pull two pints of fosters, only one pump, you still have to wait. It is no wonder the staff do not want to chat and seem quiet, all they would like to do is serve you as quick as they can and not keep everyone else waiting. I would not be happy of they started a conversation with a long queue waiting. The food we have been served has always been excellent and whilst the prices may seem higher than a city where you can get two meals for the price of one or two for £10, they are average prices for a rural location where purchasing costs and transport costs marking up prices, plus local produce is always that bit more expensive. Spare a thought before you go to any bar to order drinks and food for both the sanity of the staff and other waiting customers. Have a little patience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The view from the hotel was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were clean and comfortable if a little dated. To be honest, that didn't matter - it just added to the charm. However, the staff were the grumpiest that I have ever encountered. All in all, I would go back just for the sensational view but it could have been perfect.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank nishanisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Mr L took Mrs V to meet his mum for the first time, and this is mum's favourite eatery and we weren't disappointed. The atmosphere was friendly and warm, serving fresh, home cooked food. Would recommend the seafood lasagne, the liver and bacon, and the ribeye steak. A good wine list at reasonable prices. A successful introduction to Wales!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have just stayed at The George for three nights ( in two different rooms, due to a few days elsewhere in the middle of my break ) and found it to be a friendly and welcoming hotel. The rooms are scrupulously clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The views are unsurpassable. An extensive and varied menu was on offer, which was served up by hard working and efficient staff. The quality of the food was very good and I enjoyed all my meals. I have read the negative comments and am amazed. Overall, I thought this atmospheric old hotel was a delight and, whilst busy and full during my stay, the staff still found the time to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We can say it has been a pleasure for us to have eaten at the George for the last eight nights.
Why?
Well first, the menu was very comprehensive, the quality, taste, service and presentation exceeded excellent which probably explains why it is very busy every night.

The staff we cannot fault they smiled and joked with us and made a real fuss of our three year old grand daughter in a genuine loving way.

In the future we will certainly be eating there some more. "After all you cannot get too much of a good thing"

Stuart H

We thank you the George most sincerely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Barmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 33 in Dolgellau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
Gwesty Gwernan Hotel
#10 of 33 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Property: George III Hotel
Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing