We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service made this my most disappointing dinner ever.”
Review of George III Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George III Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmaenpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I'm from Dolgellau, so I wasn't staying at the hotel, just eating at the restaurant; my fiancée and I were visiting my parents and decided to go out for dinner on the Saturday night. We'd booked for 7, and arrived just before. We were seated pretty promptly, and provided with menus. So far so good. It all went downhill from here. They took so long to take our order that we began to despair; every time someone came in we looked round hopefully, but in vain. Finally we actually asked the waitress if she would take our order. She said she would soon, and left; after a few minutes she came back and we ordered. Then began the long wait for our food. Eventually, at about 8.10, my father got up to find someone to enquire to after it. Our starters arrived shortly after. The wine we'd ordered never did. We finished our starters (all good quality and well presented) and waited. No wine and no main course arrived. Nor did any apology or explanation. No one once came to tell us we would have to wait. No one even came to clear our plates. And so we went home, paying for the starters we'd had, and had a Chinese.

The hotel is at a stunning location; the menu is extensive; the quality of the food is good. But they're getting something badly wrong if they handle a busy Saturday evening in August so poorly that customers leave before their main course.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

We visited this hotel becasue of the location which is stunning so we were not dissapointed there. Our welcome on arrival was not particulary warm and once we found our way to the room which was also the fire exit!, to find plaster coming off the wall and a damp ceiling our expectations were low!
We booked a table in the restaurant for dinner. Our table overlooked the estuary and the view was hard to beat, our food which arrived promptly was good and wholesome, nothing fancy but well cooked and good portions well presented. Service was mixed, some staff were very pleasant and welcoming others not so.
After a days walking it was nice to sit on the balcony with a beer (or a cream tea!) and admire the view, again service was good and prompt.
The location deserves more than a two star hotel, but at present two star is what you get, albeit perhaps a little expensive for that grading, but we were prepared to pay a little more for the location. We had a bedroom at the back, I'm sure ones at the front would have superb views.
Good choice of beers in the bars, wine choice a bit limited.
Expect two star and you wont be too dissapoited, expect more and you will.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Room was spotless & charmingly full of character with every need catered for, including wireless internet, telephone, flatscreen tv & heated towel rail in the en-suite, the bed was extremely comfortable).The food was delicious & plentiful with a wide variaty of dishes to choose from mixing traditional with a la carte. The hotel dates back to the 15th century and it shows in its layout and character, it has a very warm and relaxing atmosphere, staff were hard working and polite. My husbund and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay, enjoying the beautiful scenery on our bike rides into Barmouth. I would highly recommend this hotel and will deffinitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fevs_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We have just returned from a weekend break to George 111, Hotel. and we thoroughly enjoyed it, The hotel bedroom was very
comfortable with absolutely lovely views over the estuary. The food was also very good, and if you enjoy cycling or walking it was an ideal location , We will certainly return to this lovely hotel.
Mr & Mrs Bright, Shropshire.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank foxleyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We stayed at the George III in November and would just like to say how lovely it was. The setting is unbelievable, the views from our room were stunning. The room was recently renovated and looked beautiful. A lot of thought had gone into the decor and it showed. The food is delicious and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The owner of the hotel was there and did everything ensure his guests had a wonderful stay. He gave us free coffee top ups with no extra charge: you don't get this kind of generosity any more these days! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a peaceful break in a beautiful part of Wales, with tasty food and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bettyboo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

A great hotel, well run and with fantastic food, drink and hospitality. The comments written by the other reviewers do reflect the truth of this hotel. Stay and stay again great value and a pleasure to return.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Brabuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2006

A lovely spot with the hotel now incorporating the old railway stationmaster's house.

We booked - despite the price of £98.00 a night for a twin room just to "tick off" another railway stay.

We arrived and explored the room - when was it converted???

The block has a tourism award nailed to it and of fairly recent origin too. It's either easy to win awards in these parts or the adjudictors saw the external photos and no more.

The room could date from the mid sixties and so could the tv - no remote - and the clock radio - no reception

The room was clean, but at the price - not up to the standard you would expect - I would rate it at equivalent to £50.00 to £60.00 a night stays in Scotland.

The evening food was probably Brake Bros best - it was certainly heated on the premises - but probably prepared in an industrial complex far away.

The lower bar and terrace where we ate was an incomparable location deserving of much, much better. The draught ale was excellent. We went upstairs having been recommended to the residents lounge and found everywhere in darkness. When we saw it in the morning on our way to breakfast we realised why. It hasn't been renovated in forty years and it shows.

Breakfast was slow as the young guys who staff the hotel had enjoyed a good evening the night before - we know because we were there.

All in all a lovely traditional welsh hotel who's manager wants throwing in the river, and which wants remarketing at a more competitive price, as compared with other hotel experiences in Britain it is well over priced and is relying totally on its location rather than its reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmaenpool
0.3 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
5.6 mi away
Min-y-mor Hotel
Min-y-mor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Barmouth
338 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tal Y Don Hotel
Tal Y Don Hotel
#14 of 24 in Barmouth
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#12 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
Ty Seren Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Dolgellau
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George III Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George III Hotel

Address: On the Mawddach Estuary, Penmaenpool, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1YD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau > Penmaenpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmaenpool
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — George III Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George III Hotel is superbly situated at the head of the magnificent Mawddach estuary. It is said to be one of the most beautiful in europe. The main Hotel was built in 1650 and was once a ships chandlers serving the flourishing boat building industry until around 1890 when it was converted into the Hotel. Our lodge rooms were converted in the 1970's to form 6 en-suite guest bedrooms from what was the Railway Station and Sation Masters House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your George III Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George III Hotel Penmaenpool, Dolgellau, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing