We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday in Gate House”
Review of Hotel Portmeirion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Portmeirion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have visited Portmeirion many times before, often as day visitors. We have stayed in several other self-catering cottages (and once in the Castell) but it has been a few years since our last stay. Much can happen over time, but we were pleased that the changes seemed for the better.

On arrived, we checked in at the Castell and were given our keys to the cottage. We were a bit early and the cottage was still being cleaned so we spoke to the lovely staff about the cottage - this is when we found out that the cottage had recently been refurbished (more later on this). We also found out that the cottage had a lovely garden at the side with great views.

So when we offloaded the luggage (reserved parking space immediately outside the door) and had a look around we were amazed. The cottage has been altered downstairs to accommodate a second bathroom with shower (really good!) and the massive dining room had become a kitchen/diner which is definitely a better use of space. All the kitchen appliances were brand new in a very tasteful set of fitted units, But the view from the dining room steals the show - we were lucky as the trees were not quite in full leaf, so we got an almost unobstructed view of the estuary. The lounge downstairs has now been fitted with a log-burner and plenty of logs/sticks were left. We didn't need to use it though, as the weather for the week was superb.

Upstairs, the bedrooms have been altered to give a bit more space, and the cottage can now sleep 5 people having two doubles and a single. The in-room sinks have been taken out (presumably as there is now a second bathroom) and the upstairs bathroom has been updated. Bedding and towels were premium hotel quality, and a lovely bar of L'Occitane soap was left on top of each pile of towels in the room. Definitely a 5* standard. The bedrooms were over the main path into the village (literally - Gate House is built on an arch) but we found that it was peaceful and tranquil at all times.

The whole cottage was scrupulously clean and had everything we could need. I would definitely recommend this for anyone staying in the area. A handful of other cottages have also had the makeover, so I imagine the others will follow suit.

With regard to the rest of the village, there have been a few changes since our last visit. The shops have moved around a bit, but at least Pot Jam remained where it was - it is great to stock up with lovely treats, and they also stock fresh bread and milk. There are more choices of cafes now, but the Town Hall is still our favoured choice.

The gardeners look as though they have been busy recently - lots of new planting, but also they have had to deal with the recent storms that have felled a number of the big trees in the grounds. All the paths seemed to be open and accessible. We took a walk around the woodland paths in the evenings, and there was hardly a soul to be seen. My recommendation is the path that runs along the back boundary wall to an amazing viewpoint at the extreme end of the grounds where you can see round the bay to Porthmadog and Borth y Gest,

In conclusion, this was a great place to stay and I definitely intend to return soon.

Be seeing you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoneStarrUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan H, General Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. I am glad that you liked the refurbishment work carried out on the Gate House. As well as the Gate House we carried out refurbishment works on Government House, White Horses and Belvedere also. We are always reviewing our accommodation and looking at ways to improve the standards in the accommodation and other parts of the Village. We are currently discussing a few options for this winter, in time for next season.

I very much look forward to welcome you back to Portmeirion

Be seeing you...

Dylan Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at Portmeirion over the Easter break and as usual thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the village in two different cottages and the staff made the arrangements to move our belongings from one cottage to the other so we did not have to do anything. We have stayed here a number of times and every time the accommodation is faultless, the food is excellent and the scenery is out of this world; it really is a fantasy place

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan H, General Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you for many more stays in the future

Be seeing you....

Dylan Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Of all the hotel experiences in my life, this hotel takes the big prize on every count. I've stayed there a number of times and each time my stay has been faultless. Moreover, this last time I was just blown away with the ways and how many times one or another staff member went that extra mile for me and my friend visiting from the US. I can't recommend a stay at Portmeierion Hotel too much!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan H, General Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words after your stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed this visit, and very much look forward to seeing you visit us again.

Be seeing you...

Dylan Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in the Portmeirion Hotel over a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is that old world British charm along with the very wacky eccentricity of the place that gives it such a unique feel.

We took great pleasure in exploring the pathways through th sculptured landscape, the gardens and the beach... we were lucky with the weather, but even in winter I can imagine this place being a beacon of serenity and calm. I have truly never experienced a place like it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel itself (i Understand you can also stay in the village but I didn't see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan H, General Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at Portmeirion. I'm sure that when you return you will have to try one of the Village rooms, to experience waking up in the centre of the Village.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Portmeirion

Be seeing you...

Dylan Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel is friendly and welcoming. It benefits from the fantastic views and has plenty of areas to sit and while away your time, both inside and out. It seems very relaxed and easy going with guests of all ages from babies to pensioners. The bedroom we had was snug but well appointed and we were very comfortable there. It was lovely waking up to the sea views and the sea birds calling. Breakfast is very good - plenty of choice - and the coffee excellent. We were less keen on the dinner menu. The menu was over-fussy and there was a tendency to do too much to the food so it lost its original taste. They even put foam on the food! But when the views are lovely and the service good you can forget the slightly mediocre food, particularly as the wine list is very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our lazy break at the hotel.

Room Tip: There is a lift up to the first floor only, so do check if you have any mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryFamily_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan H, General Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and will be sure to discuss your comments about the dinner menu with our Head Chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Portmeirion soon

Be seeing you...

Dylan Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited Portmeirion village and found it interesting and quirky, but with an elderly aunt and mother needed to find somewhere to sit down and have a cuppa, this was ideal. beautiful period hotel, staff all dressed traditional in black, and tea, and hot chocolate served in beautiful silver pots. We did have to wait a little while to receive our order but gave us opportunity to mellow in the vista.
They appear to do winter special offers at the hotel which seemed reasonable so would consider the possibility of going back sometime.

Portmeirion, as may be known, was used for a series way back called The Prisoner apparently, but this hotel itself would make you feel you are on the set of some period drama with the Art Deco type of design and layout.

So even if your visit does not allow for enough time for a meal if you are looking around Portmeirion itself, do head down to look at the view over a delicious hot chocolate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan H, General Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your afternoon tea overlooking the Estuary, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay.

Be seeing you...

Dylan Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What an appalling experience today at Portmerion. Having booked a table for lunch online and recieved email confirmation on arrival at the gates was asked to pay £10 each for entry! When questioned it was implied that I was lying about having a table booked, which I had great pleasure in producing evidence to the contrary. With this was told we could enter for free and the Hotel was expecting us. On arrival at the hotel, after being made to park a 10min walk away, reception was empty! When we proceeded to make our own way to the restuarant we were met by a 'gentleman' who threw some menus at us told us to sit down in the lounge and come back to him when we were ready to order!! We were refused entry into the restaurant, despite having booked a table, without explanation. If it hadn't of been for the 1hour 30min journey we made specially for this lunch we would've walked straight back out. The lack of customer service, professionalism and frankly rude staff has ensured that we won't be returning and I certainly won't be booking my impending wedding at this venue which was one of the reasons we were attending for lunch.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
12  Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan H, General Manager at Hotel Portmeirion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Portmeirion. I am very disappointed that your visit was not a positive experience.

Upon booking your table for our lunch menu at the Hotel, it should have been explained to you that an entry fee is payable to enter the Village, however I am glad that under the circumstances the opportunity was used to not charge and let you in. Parking for the Village is located near to the toll and entry into the Village, as we have limited access (residents only) of vehicles into the Village. This is for health and safety and because of space constraints due to the layout of the village.

It is inexcusable that when you arrived at reception there was no member of staff on the desk to greet and welcome you, and there is no reason after making a table reservation that you were refused entry into the dining room. I can assure you that we have spoken and conducted investigation meetings into the events of your experience and I can ensure you that these standards have been improved.

I'm sorry that following your experience you decided not to consider Portmeirion for your upcoming wedding, but may I wish you all the best in finding your perfect venue, and that you have a fantastic wedding day.

I very much hope that you will come and visit Portmeirion again, and see that the level of service you experienced on this day was not consistent with our general high levels.

Yours

Dylan Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
17.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portmeirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portmeirion

Address: | Minffordd, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range: £105 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portmeirion 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Portmeirion is a romantic seaside resort on the coast of Snowdonia in Wales. It was opened by Clough Williams-Ellis in 1926. Noel Coward wrote Blithe Spirit here in 1941. Patrick McGoohan filmed The Prisoner here in 1966-67. In early September Portmeirion hosts Festival No6, a unique celebration of arts and music. Access during the festival period is for Festival Ticket Holders only. Portmeirion is open every day all year and is suitable for all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Portmeirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Portmeirion Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing