We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque views over estuary with breakfast!”

Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant in the curvilinear dining room of The Hotel Portmeirion overlooking the tidal estuary. Lounge menu served on the terrace (unless a wedding or function has reserved exclusive use of the facilities). Afternoon tea available from 2pm to 5pm. Traditional Sunday lunch (a Sunday lunch booking and credit card details are required for free entry to the village).
wales
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Picturesque views over estuary with breakfast!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Only had breakfast here but the staff were very attentive and the food good and you just can't tire of that view,even when it's raining! The tables are laid out very elegantly but I would suggest tongs should be supplied with those gorgeous little sugar pots. Just wish I could afford to stay for a week!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank blover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    91
    32
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice evening but!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visited the restaurant on August 15 and as per usual the standard of the food was excellent and the service could not be faulted. However our welcome at the gatehouse left a lot to be desired. The lady at the gate informed us that the village was full and that we had to leave our car at the top car park which was fine. She then proceeded to tell us that there would be a long wait for the minibus due to staff shortage. We had an eighty two year old lady with us so I asked if I could ferry her down to the hotel and then bring the car back to the parking. She said this was not possible as there was no turning space at the bottom. We walked down only to find that there was enough room there to turn a bus around. This really is not good enough and left us in no mood to enjoy our evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, depends who you are as to the service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We ate here on the first night of our stay and really enjoyed it, the food is fine dining and carefully presented and crafted. The first night the restaurant was quite quiet and the service was personal and courteous.
The second night was a different story ( although the food was still fabulous). We were the only English speakers in between some large parties of Welsh speakers, we found it impossible to attract the waiters, any waiters attention. We are still waiting for our table water and it took a full 35 mins to get the bill, simply because no one bothered to look our way.
All staff were buzzing around a party of either local dignitaries or regulars, I've no way of knowing, as I don't speak Welsh.

This is a fabulous restaurant in fantastic and unique settings and I would like to have given it five stars. But the dining experience is about more than good food, the customer likes to be valued. I was the first night and gave a substantial tip. I didn't tip on the second night . Would I go again? Probably not as I think if you're not local you are tolerated but not valued

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank E3388travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Top Location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What nicer a way to while away a visit to stunning Portmeirion than to sip a fine glass of wine out on the terrace overlooking the water! Friendly, efficient staff and a pleasant experience all round.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SlumpedFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal. fab experience.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had Sunday lunch at the Hotel Portmeirion to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. I booked some time in advance and also checked that there would be a vegetarian option available.
We had a lovely window table with beautiful views. The service and the food was excellent. We would love to go again sometime. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion also viewed

 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Restaurant at The Hotel Portmeirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing