We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed in the Penthouse Suite - WOW. It was absolutely fantastic. Probably one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in and we have stayed in some nice hotels. Our friends had a Suite downstairs which was also lovely. The only blip to our night away was the food in the restaurant. Not sure it warrants rosette award. We all found our meals a bit basic? The restaurant in the main hotel is far superior. Would go back tho if we could get the PS again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khnorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Castell Deudraeth is a fabulous building that has been restored with a modern twist. Our room in the castell was a suite comprising of a living room with small kitchenette, a very large bedroom and a bathroom in the turret which a large bath and powerful shower over. The food was excellent and the staff warm and friendly. The village is charming and the setting is picturesque. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerontious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the night of 26th November for my husbands birthday. Gorgeous room, clean and comfy. Food scrummy. Staff so courteous and always there when you want anything.
Second visit and will Definitely go back again
Recommend this place to everyone

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jayne720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed two nights on our way to Dublin via Holyhead. Absolutely amazing room with under floor heating a huge sitting room and a kitchenette with very good tea and coffee making facilities. Staff in the hotel were lovely, bed was very comfortable and food was good both in the Castle and in the hotel down in the village. A minibus is on call to take you up and down to the village whenever you want which was very helpful. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: We had room 1 in the castle which was a lovely big room with dual aspect and underfloor heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherO61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just returned from an over night stay at the castell and all I can say is....wow. The shower is a 9/10 plenty of hot water and a non dribble flow it gushes out !!!!(the only thing there was I could not move the head) The bed was very comfy and the towels were fluffy, the room was excellent, large with a nice fire. The entrance to the village was include and a bus ran up and down the hill.Dinner was excellent cooked and presented to a very high standand. Breakfast ...I could have worked my way through the menu but opted for the salmon and eggs, orange juice, toast and tea...the teapot had a non dribble spout a very rare thing to be found on hotel breakfast tables.
My only thing ...and me being a fussy so and so ....was the bread at dinner was not warmed it was a spring onion bread and it would have been nicer warmed.
We are hoping to get back to do some walking next spring so we will be booking again.
well done to all the staff

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokerpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just returned a weekend stay in the penthouse suite at the castle . The room itself was very nice but it would have been nicer to arrive to a warm lit room on a cold november afternoon , the biggest problem we had was the bed , it was very hard we did ask if anything could be done ,and they very kindly supplied a topper so that was good . We ate in the castle on the first night and the staff here all really friendly and good . The second night we ate in the hotel and that was not such a good experience , whilst the food was ok we were seated at a table right by a function room which was holding a party of 30 so very noisy , a bit strange as there was other empty tables away from the noise in the main part of the resturant , we were then asked if we wanted desert by four different waiters / waitresses even tho we asked to have a 15 min break as we had only just had our main plates taken away , all in all a good stay but personally i would eat in the castle its a nicer atmosphere

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Biddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed in room 1 for one night. Lovely place and staff. Could have stayed longer. Highly recommended especially good value for money. Reasonable prices for a hotel considering they have you as a captive audience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Daryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,541 reviews
22.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
724 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
17.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range: £170 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing