We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on DBB in the Penthouse Suite as a birthday treat from my partner.
As part of the Portmeirion Estate, this was the main reason for the visit.
The penthouse suite is large and contemporary (do not expect an antique style room) with an oversized bed, great bathroom and lounge area.
You have the whole floor to yourself with a private roof terrace (weather permitting).
Restaurant was first class with freshly prepared cooked breakfast and a great dinner menu. The sweet choices were fantastic.
All in all a great experience, not cheap but the penthouse made our stay one to remember. Had an option of eating at the Portmeirion hotel also where the menu looked appetising but enjoyed our meal so much in the Castle that we ate there the second night also
Portmeirion only a short walk from the hotel and a mini-bus on request to ferry you into the estate.
All the staff were friendly and efficient and would highly recommend a stay at this special hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NeilY0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We having been visiting Portmeririon now for almost 30 years and it never fails to impress. We have stayed in the hotel and the cottage suites but for the last 4 visits we have stayed at Castell Deudraeth.

The service, food, facilities and ambience of the place is beyond compare. The standard is extremely high and we have never been disappointed on any of our visits. We usual eat in the hotel one of the nights of our stay and the Castell provide transport to drop you off at the hotel door and pick you up when you are ready to leave.

We love the Castell accomodation-the suites are perfect. With a bathroom in the turret and a coal effect fire in your sitting room it is perfect in summer or winter. The views from the windows are of fields and the sea and it is a 10 minute walk into the village proper.

The food is superb. Local ingredients and a modern twist to the menu mean that it is all very tempting.

The staff are lovely and nothing is ever too much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

WOW!! not often i say that, but the grandeur of the castle at night, teamed with location and appearance on arrival made fiance birthday an amazing treat, very upmarket, elegantly designed and the menu shockingly i found cheap..well for us anyway. staff had impeccable serving manners, polite, portions were perfect size (very filling) we only used the restaurant so cant comment on accomodation - but had we known about this place, would definately have booked!! not alot of tables, but they are very close proximity to other tables which we didnt like but non the less this did not ruin the evening - so if you want 5star dining or thereabouts this place is highly recommended ...book ahead is advisable as very very busy

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sahdiah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We took advantage of the January blues offer which enabled us to stay in the penthouse. It would have been way too overpriced in high season for what it actually was. Having said that if money is no object this is the way to go. The room was lovely with a fire right in the middle which we enjoyed curling up by with a bottle of bubbly while the weather roared outside. The weather wasn't kind to us when we were there but on a plus point we had the whole of portmeirion practically to ourselves.

Room Tip: The penthouse has its own large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Well we finally used the vouchers we got for wedding presents and now that its "out of season" booked the penthouse in the Castle..... We arrived on Sunday and maybe they were understaffed but it took ages to get someone to reception to check in. The room was not what I expected. It was lovely - but modern. Huge room with a sitting room at one end, a false wall with a fire place in the middle of the room and a huge super king bed at the other side of it. The sheets on the bed were fab - really high quality of cotton. Windows running all along the wall but of course being in the turret no view sob sob..... but if you went out and bend down and looked through the little gaps, you had a fab view and I could imagine in the summer it would be a lovely heat trap. Little kitchen and bathroom also in the space. I didn't like the climb into the bath for my shower as it was high and I'm only little - they need something to grab onto. I know it was a whirlpool bath but maybe put a nice walk in shower somewhere? The space was a bit sparce - could have been a bit more opulent.

We had a massage which was great - they taxi you down and will collect you when you're finished - Ruth was great - lovely time.

We also had dinner - the dining room is lovely with a fantastic fire in the waiting area. I did find the tables were a bit close but as it wasn't packed they put everyone at every second table - the ceiling are so high also that it could do with some curtains for the night time maybe as its a bit cold and you can't see anything anyway. But the food was absolutely fantastic. ohhhh I'm dribbling at the though of it... mmmm. We don't normally have starters or desserts but we did on Sunday night and they were definitely worth it. Staff were good in the restaurant. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but that was maybe just as I didn't like the saugage in the full welsh, the hash browns were nice. Certainly nothing major.

Had a walk around the next morning but it was blowing a gale so didn't stay for long but we have been there before so we knew what it was like and will be back again.

Room Tip: The penthouse is fantastic but I'm not sure its worth the money as you don't have any views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maresaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Setting: Beautiful location, very peaceful & relaxing out of season.
Hotel: looks great, lovely interior, dining room lacks atmosphere and couples tables are too close together.
Room: Penthouse: lovely, well equipped, comfy bed but no view due to balcony.
Service: Reception very helpful & friendly, free taxi service to Village. Dining room staff are slow, look bored and failed to bring some drinks we had ordered.
Food: very average. Dinner was good but somewhat lacking for price, i.e boiled carrots with no hint of seasoning. Breakfast was frankly poor. Bacon dripping in grease, poor continental selection. I could make allowances for it being out of season but the hotel was busy!
SUMMERY: Potential to be a fine hotel. Looks great but staff need better management, food needs some excitement. For the cost, standards need to be better.

Room Tip: If you are physically able, the walk to the village is lovely, only 10mins. Go out of season if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandyferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was a marvellous two nights in Portmeirion. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The manager on the night I checked in was more than happy to find out where I was travelling to the next day. She also accommodated an earlier breakfast time for me (though it turned out I didn't need it). Breakfast was fabulous - very generous portions, lovely views.

The room was huge, with a kitchenette and I got fresh milk from the staff. Lovely fireplace - but it was much too noisy, so I didn't use it. (I was in Room 5) But that was the smallest of issues.

I definitely would like to return there again. And again.

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonsey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,500 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
22.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
714 reviews
17.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range: £107 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing