We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”
Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite. There is only 1 picture of the room on their web site, and none that are of any use on the web so we booked it more or less blind, but I can state that our stay there was worth every penny. The room is stunning and with the huge terrace adding to the setting I think it's as good a room as we have stayed in anywhere. The rest of the hotel is lovely and the Brasserie food really good quality and beautifully presented. The Staff are really professional and the inclusive Port Merion tickets and free mini bus just add to the experiance.

From our experience a very welldeserved 10/10

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonzo1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    65
    16
    14
    12
See reviews for
71
250
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A pleasant and romantic getaway. The room on the second floor was lovely, with a great view, comfy bed and luxury bathroom. My only real complaint about the room was that it was screaming hot all the time due to the underfloor heating which we could not turn down. We did eventually get round to asking reception to do this and they did.

The comlimentary sherry in the room was a nice touch as well. The atmosphere in the bar was good with some comfy seats and interesting architecture and an open fire.

The bar was quite good, with some bottled local beers. Service was sometimes not super quick but for some reason I often find this in hotel bars. I think the hotel was between the closed season and the busy season so they were still getting their staffing sorted out.

Location is fine - obviously it's part of the Portmeirion complex. The walk to the actual village is about 8 minutes and the path is well lit.

Parking was easy and right outside the entrance. Staff all perfectly friendly.

The restaurant is excellent but that is another review in itself. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here recently with some friends. Very nice large and airy room. The bed was a bit firm for our taste but not at all uncomfortable. We had wondeful weather and it was lovely sitting in the garden. Potmeirion is famous for its microclimate and it was strange to see lupins in full bloom in the middle of May in North Wales. Staff were all very friendly and courteous. We ate in the brasserie on our first night. Pretty good but a little bit of a triumph of presentation over flavour. The breakfasts were very good. If you're going to Portmeirion its well worth staying here or in the village as you feel more part of it. There is separate channel on the TV showing episodes of 'The Prisoner'! Be seeing you.

Room Tip: Our friends had a superior room which was actually two rooms. They said they actually preferred our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for friends 50th , very nice. Rooms are contemporary clean and spacious . Lovely view and nice to walk to portmeirion at night after the evening meal. The meal was very nice fine dining but may be portions a little small in comparison to others

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our bedroom at Castell Deudraeth was amazing, a beautiful en suite with a large seating area and a kitchenette to make our tea and coffee! The setting is idyllic - tranquil and picturesque, like being in a fairy tale. The staff were very friendly and we loved strolling down the hill to Portmeirion. The food was good although a little short on fresh fruit, yogurt etc at breakfast. Everything was cooked well and the service was excellent. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a suite - worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely building and gardens just outside Portmeirion village. Six of us sat around a roaring log fire in a splendid fireplace where we had pre-lunch drinks. Food excellent and nicely presented by friendly and attentive staff - Chilean Sauvignon Blanc on the wine list particularly good. Food and drink reasonably priced for such an impressive venue and service. The bonus is that you get the £10 entrance fee to Portmeirion village free if everybody orders two courses - in our case a saving of £60.00! Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well maintained with spacious rooms. The bar is sung with an open fire, which was not really needed during our stay. The breakfasts were good and varied including haddock and kippers if they are your sort of thing. We ate in the restaurant which was good value and the food very good. The pool is at the sister hotel and is 10 min walk and open air, we did not try it.
Portmeirion village is 10 min walk and is quirky and has some nice forest walks. The village does not really have much apart from tourist shops and their is only 1 restaurant in it open at night.

I would not rush back as once done Portmeirion village does not warrant a second viewing in my opinion. This is no reflection on the hotel though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
22.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Property: Castell Deudraeth
Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing