We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the suite at the top of the building”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castell Deudraeth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portmeirion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castell Deudraeth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Certificate of Excellence
manchster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved the suite at the top of the building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2005

lovely hotel very helpful staff.

will definitely stay again. food wonderful.

beautiful suite with large open fire

was most impressed with the fish menu (local produce)

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aileen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    64
    16
    14
    12
See reviews for
66
245
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2005

This is the wost place I have ever stayed in. Being a well travelled business man i know the standards of a good Hotel when I see one. Every member of staff looked miserable. Even though the hotel is situated in the heart of Wales there are no Welsh speaking staff in the restaurant whitch is disgusting. For the price of one room I would expect a Personal Assistant next time. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2005

Took my husband for his birthday in mid January, got a good deal on Late Rooms actually recommended by the hotel itself!!!. Looked at the web site and chose our room (not saying which one in
case it becomes so popular its never available,) but it was a fabulous suite with views overlooking the bay and a bathroom in the turret Breakfast and dinner are excellent and the staff are really friendly. Bar is fab with oak panelling and a huge log fire blazing away. Ideal for a romantic winter break apart from the fact that the rest of Wales is closed, couldn't find anywhere open for lunch at all and were told this is the norm until the Summer season starts. Will definately go back and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank slj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2005

My husband and I have stayed at Castell Deudraeth on a number of occasions, all of them a wonderful relaxing experience.

The penthouse is exceptionally spacious, with a lovely living flame gas fire in the middle of the room, very romantic and cosy.

The restaurant is very well priced with a varied menu, vegetarians catered for, and an average, but varied wine list, again well priced.

A stroll around the village is a must before leaving as it will leave you feeling very well rested and relaxed.

Helpful?
7 Thank Holidayheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2004

Probably the finest hotel that I have stayed at. With the beautiful views of the coastline and Snowdonia and the excellent facilities and staff Castell Deudraeth is a must for anyone wishing for some luxury in North Wales.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2003

My husband and I vacationed in Wales in September, 2003. I am a travel agent, and was able to do a site inspection of this wonderful property.
The imposing facade leads one to believe that there is a traditional hotel inside, but the rooms are all modern/minimalist in styling with all conveniences. Castell One room with the blue/grey color scheme was soothing, and the light woods for furnishings add to an overal "clean" look. Marble baths are quite large, and have jetted tubs. Rooms also contain a good-sized wardrobe closet, wet bar, flat screen television with DVD built in. We were served tea and scones in the lovely main hall, and the friendly staff was eager to please. For stays at Portmeirion I would definitely choose this property!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portmeirion
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
17.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castell Deudraeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Deudraeth

Property: Castell Deudraeth
Address: Portmeirion | Penrhyndeudraeth, Portmeirion LL48 6ER, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Portmeirion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portmeirion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castell Deudraeth has eleven spacious and stylish rooms over three floors. The ground floor has a gastropub restaurant and bar plus a Victorian walled garden which al fresco dining in fine weather. The interiors merge traditional materials with contemporary design. Welsh oak and slate feature prominently as well as leather, wool and stone. Guests have free access to all of Portmeirion village’s facilities and a shuttle bus service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castell Deudraeth Portmeirion, Wales
Castell Deudraeth Hotel Portmeirion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing