We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Caffi Glas

Caffi Glas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Informal Italian style café with al fresco terrace serving home made pizzas, pasta and salads with wines by the glass, local bottled beers and Welsh cider.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
617 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It was a fairly busy day there, but we were fortunate in getting tables early on when we wanted a coffee and cake and later for a light lunch.

Being a captive customer and not many other eating choices, prices i felt were a little on the higher side. Saying that it was all good. Staff were welcoming and friendly and the cafe had a light and appealing look. There was plenty of choice on the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    59
    27
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We only called for a coffee but we were served promptly & politely. There is outdoor seating right by the little train stop. The view across the village is beautiful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Very good lunch, but please silence that loo door!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Enjoyed a very good lunch here. We found the service to be friendly and efficient and the food was very good indeed. The cakes and desserts looked very good too. The frequent banging of the loo door was the only thing that got on our nerves - it was like a gun going off every time anyone entered or left the loo area. Without the noise of the loo door I would have awarded 5 blobs. Recommended nevertheless.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_R_Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was surprised to read the other reviews on here after having a positive dining experience at Caffi Glas. The service was a little slow, but the staff made sure that we had drinks and provided crayons and a colouring book for my 17 month-old while we were waiting for our food. When the dishes were served, they were freshly-cooked. Between us, we tried pizza, an italian herbed-pork roll, sardines and pasta for the baby. The prices were no higher than in our local pub. I'd eat here again if we visit Portmeirion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Why would you ?”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

They have people who obviously know how to cook (some things) so why use poor ingredient 's. I had a home made mushroom soup (on a previous visit) that was just liquidated mushrooms, disgusting. This time I had a scone with cream and jam. The scone was fresh and lovely, they gave us jam that was pathetic, pre-packed with no taste, we had just one each, and as it has little flavour it just did not do the job. The cream was in a little dish and went to liquid within minutes. Coffee was good but at £25 for 4 coffee's and 4 scones it is not bargain basement food. The staff did not smile once or make any effort to be pleasant. Why would you run a cafe like this? , why would i go back? Come on proper jam and proper cream please, proper food is required for this sort of money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffi Glas also viewed

 

Been to Caffi Glas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing