We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired cottage and unfriendly hosts”
Review of Afonwen Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pwllheli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Afonwen Farm
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tired cottage and unfriendly hosts”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I am struggling to believe some of the "excellent" reviews of Afonwen Farm. I have just returned from a week's stay here. Deep breath ---
- Hosts did not greet us on arrival, did not speak to us at all for WHOLE week and did not say goodbye, (They were on site); have rented holiday cottages for over 15 years, never had this before, not at all impressed. cottage very tired and dirty internally, mattresses very cheap and extremely uncomfortable, springs very hard to sleep on, dreadful undersheets. Dirty tissues down side of bed ON ARRIVAL. Tumble drier - dangerous, it continued to turn and operate when door was opened, very dangerous if young children around. Lighting - all lighting very dim, and hard to read by. Downstairs shower - drainage completely inadequate - soaked bathroom and bedroom floor making it very slippery if shower gel used. No mop to wipe floor with. Upstairs shower curtain inadequate, floor got soaked. Curtains didn't fit some of the windows and were hanging by a few hooks. No indoor airer to dry clothes. No oven glove - had to buy one! Oven - VERY slow to cook - dishwasher - top rack broken, powder dispenser broken. Internal staircases - very steep - not suitable for young children. Tennis court & table tennis table - nets broken. Personal outside dustbin not emptied - still had previous hirers rubbish in it. Broken music player in bedroom. All equipment was basically tired, broken and mismatched, looked like contents of a car boot sale. Never written a review like this before, but it needs to be said.
Visitors book was a couple of sheets of loose leaf paper so all the negative reviews could be removed, unsurprisingly all other reviews were glowing! Don't suppose my review lasted a day in the folder before it was removed. Although local area was nice, this cottage spolit our holiday. Normally we have one day on-site to have a rest from driving, but couldn't stay there for a whole day. The whole thing gave the impression that the owner wasn't interested in their clients comfort.
The reviews that say they are the best hosts and the cottages are wonderful and clean are in my cynical view, not to be completely believed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AahHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have been coming here for a number of years and we love it! We come about four times a year and it never fails to impress! It's in a great location with stunning views of cardigan bay. Every cottage is nice and cosy. It's great for holiday in the winter and summer. The pool is lovely with the hot tub and then there is the gym :)! In the summer months there is pony trekking for all experiences, nothing better then cantering down the beach and then afterwards for children there is the craft shop which also sell cold drinks and snacks! It's just a sort walk away from the beach and the lake with the bird watching hut. The owners are lovely and will help you if you have a problem. The farm is in a great location and is just lovely to stay in for the day and relax. As all the cottages are together it's a great way to meet new friends. We would recommend this holiday rental to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegAndria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Afonwen Farm is situated in the most beautiful of areas. The farm is perfect for families with children of all ages. We have had our 10th family holiday on the farm this Summer and have stayed in most of the cottages over the years. The farm offers excellent value for money. The cottages are clean, airy and practical, with some over looking the spectacular views of Cardigan Bay. The pool, games room, outdoor play areas/tennis court and gym along with pony trecking, provide excellent entertainment for everyone. We have become good friends with other families who have stayed on the farm over the years with us. Arthur, Nia and their children are not just fantastic hosts but great friends! We look forward to another holiday next year along with a few weekend breaks beforehand! :) Kate, Megan and Izzy Allen

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganAllen_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

OK, stayed at Deri cottage recently. It needs a good clean, much of the crockery is chipped/cracked/both. Even the mug tree had a prong missing ! The cutlery & glasses are mostly mismatched. Perhaps it all came from a student car boot sale....The beds are dire, the baby cot mattress is just awful (foam). I wouldn't let a dog sleep on it let alone a baby. The room doors are louvre style & cannot be shut like a standard door. They just push open & cannot contain lively children. One of the windows has part of the latch missing & allows in a howling gale. There is no curtain on the (non used) door in the living area. None of the curtains are blackout or at least dark. The curtain in the main bedroom ensuite bathroom can't be drawn as the basin is in the way. That bathroom was FILTHY particularly the disabled kit. There are beds for 5 adults but only dining chairs for 4. The outdoor play area is tired & some of the equipment is cracked & damaged. The swimming pool is nice BUT the liner needs mending. Rather disconcerting to feel something flapping at your feet that cannot possibly be seaweed...Hot tub doesn't work properly, just a feeble bubble from a couple of jets. The gym looks rather sad - didnt try it out. The games room ditto. The 10 minute walk to the beach is across overgrown fields full of cowpats etc & not buggy friendly. (We are used to fields so not griping about them - just the route). Much nicer beach at Criccieth but you have to pay to park. No sign of the pony trekking. No dvd player but there was a drawer full of vhs videos. No video player either. We have stayed in many holiday cottages across the country & have never encountered anything as run down & in need of an overhaul as this. Can't believe the reviews of people who return each year. Avoid like the plague. Lovely area, fab ice cream at Cadwaladers; just stay elsewhere.....Rarely saw the owner so could not even ask about missing dvd player & state of the cottage.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We booked Afonwen farm last year through a company, who later in the same year pulled out on using the farm as one of thier sites. After assurances from the owner (Arthur Parry) we decided to still go on the basis he promised the accomodation was of an excellent standard. I visited the website and some very professional photos have been taken to sell the farm! Unfortunately the pictures are a little bit over hyped and make the cottages look amazing unfortunately this is not the case!

We stayed in the main farm house which is of generous size and would be ideal for a family if it was firstly clean, Massive amounts of dust behind curtain rails and mantlepieces and the bath looked grubby and is in desperate need of been updated. The kitchen is og good size but more alarmingly is the washing machine/dryer which is supplied which appears to be somethiung out of ther arc and my brother's toddler was able to pull it open when it was in mid cycle, the most concerning thing wasd the fact that the drum of the washing machine would still spin once the door was opened!, A shelf in the fridge was broken so we had no where to store milk properly. The bottom panel of the cooker kept falling off!

The bunk beds had ladders on which were unsafe, our littlest one ended up on a make shift bed on the floor all week! The site advertisers daily pony trekking when we enquired we were told would only go once that week, part of our reason for choosing here was for our kids to be able to go pony trekking. The farm also advertises a craft workshop, which was no where to be seen and looks nothing like the pictures portrayed on the website!

The swimming pool although well used by us in urgent need of some basic repairs like the pool lining been replaced instead of been a trip hazard, so much so we eventually paid £20 to go and use Haven Splashzone! The farm highlights a gym as another added attraction, it is full of equipment but none of it works. Also the game room was a huge dissapointment, pool cues with no tips, holes in pockets! Nothing that is advertised or promised is available,the only advantage it has going for it is the location which acts as an excellent base for exploring a truly beautiful part of wales.

Everything is tired and desperately needs repair and refurbing. It really let down our holiday, and if you do book with the farm notice in the guests books that pages are missing from other peoples stay, I think that tells you its own story! Its a well thought out idea but really poorly excuted

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have just returned from a week's visit with our daughter's family, one three year old and a baby. Unfortunately, we were less than impressed.

Location wise, Afonwen Farm is ideal - in a lovely spot, great views and very easy access to most parts of North Wales.

As regards the cottage - that's another story. It is in desperate need of refurbishment. To say that is is "tired" is an understatement. On a basic level, the cottage could do with a really thorough clean from top to bottom. Layers of dust can be found everywhere, whereas it should be spotless. Used tissues were even found under one of the beds!

Moving on to the accommodation part. The beds need throwing away and replaced. We have NEVER slept in such uncomfortable beds, there was no support whatsoever and it would have been nice if the "fitted" sheets actually fitted. The bunk beds had no ladder - an accident waiting to happen with young children. Fortunately we did not have to use these. The "well used" mats were so worn they were curling up at the edges - a trip hazard if we ever saw one.

Kitchen - It would have been nice to have a complete set of crockery that actually matched and were not chipped - some were so mismatched that their size prohibited you from closing the cupboard door. Egg cups, we only had two - a problem when you have five people wanting boiled eggs! Matching cutlery, I think that would be too much to ask.The kitchen facilities appear to have come from a car boot sale!

Other matters. Light bulbs were either missing or broken, The coin meter gobbled up pound coins like they were going out of fashion, The outside bench (by the front door) was rusty and broken, with one leg being supported on bricks, the clothes dryer outside the back was rusty and would ruin any clothes placed upon it and all the plastic clothes pegs were broken.

On the plus side. The swimming pool was welcome and well used. The WiFi, whilst being welcome, should really have been accessible in ALL of the cottages and not just in one room. (Just how much does a router cost?)

Finally, would we return? Not in a month of Sundays. It appears that the owners either haven't a clue how to run holiday cottages, or more likely the could not care less about their guests' comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Witzendwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

After reading other reviews think we must have had bad luck, the cottage was very dirty and cold and the coin meter gobbled coins.Cobwells everywhere and the toaster was unusable.All the electrical items PAT testing was well out of date.The games room was scruffy and most of the things in it were broken as were the childrens toys in the play area outside.Such a shame as a few thousand pounds spent could make the place lovely as the views are brilliant and Mr and Mrs Parry seemed very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pwllheli hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Boduan
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#9 of 10 in Pwllheli
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 10 in Pwllheli
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli
0.0 mi away
Plas Bodegroes
Plas Bodegroes
#1 of 1 in Efailnewydd
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afonwen Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afonwen Farm

Property: Afonwen Farm
Address: Pwllheli LL53 6TX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Pwllheli
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Afonwen Farm Hotel Pwllheli
Afonwen Farm Pwllheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing