We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice lunch”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Pwllheli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice lunch”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

popped in for lunch and was pleasantly surprised how nice the meal was nikki the barmaid was very nice and the service great £18 for 2 meals that were very nice would defiantly eat here again if in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leggs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for your review - It means a lot to us all. I'm glad you had such a good experience, and we hope to see you again. Nikki was very pleased to have been mentioned!
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    41
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
24
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff at the crown are exceptional nothing is too much trouble. Me and my husband got married last weekend and chose the crown for a meal after our wedding. We were amazed at how much effort the staff had gone to. It was a quiet celebration with close family members which was made extra special by the fact the staff went the extra mile with table decorations etc. I would definitely recommend the crown hotel for a wedding reception. Me and my husband stayed overnight the rooms was spotless. We will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. As new management, it is very much appreciated.
You were a pleasure to have here as guests, and I truly hope to see you again.
Congratulations once more... the staff have demolished the thank you chocolates!
Best wishes, Victoria, Simon & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I was well received and shown to my very clean and comfortable room. I was wakened very early on two mornings by the street cleaners in the High Street outside. An excellent well presented breakfast. I was sailing each day at the Pwllheli sailing club which is a ten minute walk away.The Crown Hotel offered the perfect location to relax after a hard days sailing and an evenings socialising. I didn't use the hotel bar or the hotel evening restaurant preferring to use the sailing club.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank htbBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review.
My partner and I have recently taken over the Management of this hotel, and it is good to see positive reviews as we still have the same dedicated staff working here with us.
We are currently redeveloping the restaurant to be local-produce based including steaks , seafood and freshly caught fish, so perhaps if you return you will give our restaurant a try.
Best wishes, the New Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I was surprise ,when we have stayed in ,how clean was our room ,really satisfied .
Good location,behind this hotel is Asda store so not too far to buy something you need.
Downstairs of this hotel is a pub also restaurant .
In the morning we had nice English breakfast .
Only can recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TomKat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review.
My partner and I have recently taken over the Management of this hotel, and it is good to see positive reviews from before our arrival, as we still have the same dedicated staff working here with us.
We hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. We had a wonderful time. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who checked us in and showed us to our room. She explained to us the opening times of the restaurant and the times for breakfast. The food during our stay was fantastic, there is a full English breakfast on offer - however I chose something a little lighter which they were only too happy to make. The food in evening was just as good as the breakfast, really good portions and great service. I cannot fault the food in anyway or the staff. We both didn't sleep great, but they was due to the bedroom being too hot as we stayed during the height of the hot weather, we also had the window open all night and we woken by the noise outside. The hotel is in a great location, in between lovely gift shops and asda is very near and open til late. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: our room was over looking the main road - with the window open all night it was very noisy early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tash J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your encouraging review.
My partner and I have recently taken over the Management of this hotel, and it is good to see positive reviews from before our arrival, as we still have the same dedicated staff working here with us.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel is well maintained, our room, number 10, whilst being small, was very clean with fresh linen. The members of staff who worked in the bar in the evening and during breakfast service were friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was huge (even defeating my 14 year old, who is normally used as our family's recycling bin). Parking at the back was tight but manageable.

The hotel would have had had more stars, but when my son and I turned up (after a 4 hour drive), and checked in (not brill, given a key and told 'it's up those stairs'), we went back down to the restaurant at 9.15. I had read in the room that dinner service stopped at 9, but I decided to see if we could have a snack.

When the person behind the restaurant bar eventually acknowledged us, I stated that we didn't want dinner and asked whether it was possible to have a light snack (bearing in mind, we had passed the chefs in the kitchen and there were around four tables of diners who were still eating main courses). The answer we had was a blunt 'no', before he went back to the computer. I then asked if there was anything we could do for food, he said 'try the bar', when I asked what they served, he responded, 'I dunno, crisps'. He then effectively dismissed us. We went through to the bar, decided against the crisps, and after declining the rather ropey selection of wine, decided upon a g&t and a fruit juice before watching the last ten minutes of 'Miranda' on the large television.

When checking out the next morning, the waitress thought that the person who I had spoken to the previous evening, was in fact the manager! I appreciate kitchens need to have a cut off time, but I'm sure that a member of staff making us a sandwich wouldn't have created too much trouble. Bearing in mind Pwllheli is due to have a 'premier inn' next year, it would be tempting not to stay in a private hotel at £75 per night, but in a chain at £45 per night, especially if the manager's attitude stays the same!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank igdm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your constructive criticism.
My partner and I have recently taken over the Management of this hotel, and it is good to see reviews from before our arrival.
I am very sorry for your experience regarding trying to obtain a sandwich after the restaurant closing time, and can assure you that should we be lucky enough to meet you in the future, either Simon or I (Victoria) would make you a snack after such a long journey in similar circumstances!
Best wishes,
The New Management (since 12th August 2013)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The people who work here are friendly and helpful. The exterior of the property has seen much better days, and the room we stayed in, whilst very spacious, needed refurbishment. The casement windows are held open by blocks of wood. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was very good. The bar only had one draught real ale and that was the rather strong Theakston's Old Peculiar. The small TV set did have Sky Sports.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwllheli
8.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
378 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#7 of 10 in Pwllheli
30 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 37-39 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pwllheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and leased by the present owners for 8 years now, the Crown Hotel is renowned for its good food, relaxed atmosphere, polite service and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Pwllheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing