We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem. Wish could of stayed longer.”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Pwllheli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem. Wish could of stayed longer.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited Pwllheli some 25 years ago & thought this would be a place we would never go again, what a huge surprise. Pwllheli is a beautiful little town on a perfect coast line, would be pleased to visit again.

Our booking at The Crown was very last minute & only for one night however the owners& staff were so accommodating, we stayed a second night. Our stay was £90 per night with breakfast for a family room for 3 of us, we found this to be a good price in this area.

The Crown is in the old streets of Pwllheli, it was central to the shops & a short walk to the Marina; the Holiday Camp Hafan Y Mor is also just 4 miles along a straight road. Free parking is available in a very small car park at the rear or in Asda with a free pass from the hotel, again at the rear. Parking on the road in front of the hotel is restricted to 1 hour Mon-Sat 9am-5pm but this was not a problem at all.

The Crown is a traditional Welsh pub which has had some modernisation, the bedrooms, bathrooms & hall ways have been updated to a good standard & are kept very clean. Access is via stairs which are a little steep but after several climbs I got used to them! Due to our late booking we stayed in 2 rooms (our things were moved by the staff who could not do enough to help). I found both rooms to be a generous size, with plenty of storage & plug sockets. The decor in both rooms was excellent & bathrooms had clean, modern white suites. Must comment on the beds which were just so comfortable, I didn't want to get up!

Breakfast is served in a pleasant downstairs restaurant area which is open to the public for meals later on. The Crown offer good quality food right through the day, their lunch time menu starts from just £5.00 for a main course. Our son ate there at lunch time on Friday, the meals coming out all looked beautiful. Cereals, juices & fruit is available for self service whilst hot food, hot drinks & toast is table service. It was very quiet on Friday & our breakfast piping hot & perfect, my husband said it was the best he had ever had; we were a little later down on Saturday & in fairness it was a tad busier, although hot breakfast wasn't quite as good as the previous day & the fruit had already run out. Service from all members of staff was 110% at all times, they really are a credit to the owners.

The Crown is an ideal base for anyone wanting to see the local area. The main routes in & out of Pwllheli can get a little busy but the hotel is very easy to locate. Criccieth about 7 miles away & Abersoch about 5 miles away are both worth a visit. We had friends staying at Hafan Y Mor holiday Park, day passes were available for our son who is 14, it was fantastic for him, plenty of activities indoor & out without spending lots of money. We had planned to visit Glasfryn Parc near Criccieth but we just ran out of time. Fabulous short break, hope to visit Pwllheli & The Crown next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRACEY1EVANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
I remember you well, and it was a great pleasure to welcome you into our small hotel.
I truly hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    40
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
23
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed on the bank holiday Friday, Checked in about five pm, The hotel is part of the pub and both were welcoming. Parking is as described and worked well.

We had room 6.. a twin en suite room which was massive. The whole hotel was spotless and looked fresh. Didn't eat at the Crown but the restaurant looked popular. Room was comfortable and warm, breakfast was a full Welsh... hmmm lovely!

The crown is situated on the one way road just outside the center of Pwllheli and probably the reason we have not discovered it before!..

A great place to stay in order to enjoy all the Llyn Peninsula.

Room Tip: Probably the room on the top floor will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfbum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review- I'm glad you discovered us!
You're always welcome, and we hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed here a few times now. Selected the Crown by sheer chance. Parking is ideal - either in their small car park at the rear or they will give you a sign to put in your car stating that you are staying there and you can park in the Asda car park at the rear. You get to the back of the hotel through the Asda car park. Easy access at the rear for luggage straight into the bar area. Rooms areq uiet, clean and comfortable and the breakfast range is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Many thanks for the positive review.
It is much appreciated.
We hope to see you again.

Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crymych, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great Service, very nice room with great wifi signal, sunday carvery fantastic. Thanks for the packed lunch as I had to leave very early before breakfast. Diolch yn fawr!
Stayed while working at Neuadd Dwyfor Theatre, very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello and many thanks for your kind review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here - it means a lot to us!
I remember you due to the Theatre and Packed lunch reference, and hope that the lunch was also to your liking.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We needed to visit Pwllheli on business and saw there wasn't much choice in hotels in the area! Plumped for the crown as best of the bunch as wasn't disappointed.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The old building is beautiful - as long as you go in the front door as the back entrance is not so picturesque!
We arrived late after a long journey and the staff had kindly held back two sandwiche platters for us so that we could eat after the kitchen closed. They also made sure we immediately had a cup of tea and a glass of wine! Friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable.
Breakfast was good - with a range to suit all tastes - and again served by friendly and charming staff.
Not disappointed with our stay - a good basic product for a very low price, delivered well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lucybrown13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to try to make your stay as comfortable as possible!
We appreciate how one feels after a long journey, so I'm glad the sandwich platters and welcome were of comfort.
We will be looking to make the rear of the hotel more attractive as one of our next projects.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our extended family (14 of us)were fortunate to spend 1-3 nights at this lovely hotel, which also hosted my Aunts 70th birthday dinner/party on the Saterday for about 25 guests. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant, we felt totally at home. The rooms were clean and comfortable and besides being on the street side we slept very well.We dined in their restaurant on the first night and I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. The breakfasts were also lovely.The dinner that was provided for the party was amazing and the team even provided the Kareoke machine for the evening. Victoria and her team seem to go out of their way for their customers and seem to gel as a great team.Excellent quality for the price.We will definitely be staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you - your lovely review is much appreciated.
I'm glad you enjoyed the steak!
Your family was truly a pleasure to host, and I hope to see you all again.
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a find! We stayed in this hotel where my aunt hosted her birthday party. The staff were marvellous, so helpful and friendly! All the rooms were lovely, quaint and perfectly clean. Beds comfortable too. The food was excellent and reasonably priced and the hot buffet prepared for the actual party was really good and varied - everyone commented on this. I cannot thank the staff enough for their attentiveness and for 'going the extra mile'. As there was nowhere to eat on Sunday night the chef very kindly offered to heat up the leftover food from the party (there were quite a few of our family staying in the hotel) and did so - even bothering to present it properly for us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Pwllheli. Thank you to all who helped make this family celebration really wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel-LL53, Manager at Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review.
Your family was a real pleasure to look after, and I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay here with us so much!
Best wishes,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwllheli
8.0 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
283 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#9 of 10 in Pwllheli
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli
1.3 mi away
Plas Bodegroes
Plas Bodegroes
#1 of 1 in Efailnewydd
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 37-39 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pwllheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and leased by the present owners for 8 years now, the Crown Hotel is renowned for its good food, relaxed atmosphere, polite service and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Pwllheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing