We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was excellent”

Mariner Cafe Bar & Bistro
Ranked #20 of 71 Restaurants in Pwllheli
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The food was excellent”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Last week we were visiting Wales and went to Pwllheli and hence we needed lunch. Found the Mariner and from the moment we walked in we felt more than welcome. We ordered lunch, an omlette and beefburger, both with side salad but the presentation was lovely and the side salad was very good (more than just lettuce and tomatoes). We had an inexpensive lunch with good service, welcoming and friendly staff and very very good food. Highly recommend to others when in Pwllheli. Best lunch by far that we have had in a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Salousun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So glad we popped in!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We were on our way to Abersoch and decided to stop in Pwllheli for lunch. Not knowing the area we weren't sure where to go and spotted the Mariner. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. We had toasties and jacket potatoes which were all delicious and very reasonably priced. Despite it being after closing time we were still very kindly served hot drinks to finish our meal and felt absolutely no pressure to rush them so that the staff could close up. I would definitely recommend popping in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SCL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brian Morris Highly Recommends The Mariner for excellent food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have dined at The Mariner on numerous occasions and the food , service and atmosphere has always been excellent , I would highly recommend to anyone wanting good food at very reasonable prices , it is the ideal place to go with friends or family or maybe a special occasion , you will be well looked after by the friendly welcoming proprietors and staff

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Nice people, Nice food, Good atmosphere"”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had a lovely meal this evening, made to feel very very welcome, lovely food and wine. Would definately recommend to others :)))))
Andrea, Tony and Finlay,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwllheli
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent meals,and good value.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

had a very good meal , excellent value in price and good service.
friendly atmosphere, I would highly recommend for a good meal with friends and family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shalikaPwllheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariner Cafe Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mariner Cafe Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing