We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps we hit it on a bad day!”
Review of Plas yn Rhiw

Plas yn Rhiw
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Pwllheli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perhaps we hit it on a bad day!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Not too difficult to find if you aim for Rhiw village. Car parking is very limited and may require some manoevering to get into a place.

Upon entering the lady behind the entrance door immediately tried to sell us a raffle ticket and, when not succeeding, effectively shunned us. In fact not one of the three stewards made any attempt at contact or tried to explain what we were looking at. They looked fed-up and milled around aimlessly, even ignoring some quite inquisitive small children. Internally nothing was explained so you can leave no wiser than you were when you entered. I lost count of how many "don't touch" notices there were, one at the door would surely have sufficed.

We left very disappointed with the whole, very short, experience. Basically ..... three sisters bought the house, renovated it and died leaving it to the Trust. There are better ways to spend an afternoon I'm afraid.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller1648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Plas Yn Rhiw is beautifully situated 17th century house. I found it a bit hidden, you have to look carefully for the sign otherwise easily missed.
It's close to Rhiw, and might be easier to found coming from Aberdaron way because its just after this village. If you are coming from Abersoch way you pass a Camp site and right after when the road got narrower and very steep uphill, the sign should be on your right hand side. Look out for it.

It is a magical, small place with a beautiful garden, lovely forest walk, and a nice view.
I was quite spelt by it. The Keating Sisters left everything to the National Trust, so you can see and enjoy the atmosphere as they lived. You can step into their word! Most museum just filled with some periodical furniture, but this one is so real that you will be move by it. A real treasure!
The staff was very kind and gave helpful information.

Taken photos are not allowed in the house but you can not capture the atmosphere and how fascinating everything was anyway.
It was a shame I thought that there was no books about the house, or books about the Keating Sisters.
There is a tiny shop, where you buy your ticket, with little pack of snacks, ice cream, tea or coffee and some books. No place to sit inside but you can found picnic areas nearby.
Toilette is located behind the shop.

I visited the House Easter Sunday, when an Easter egg hunt was on for kids. They filled the garden with excitement. It was good fun for families and children. If you wish a peaceful day I would advice you check if anything on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 7729Moss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We didn't realize how long it would take to get to this place and how difficult it was to find. We arrived just as they were closing but they kindly stayed open so we could see the inside of this delightful, old stone cottage. It was saved and restored by the Keating sisters. The views to Cardigan Bay are super with a beautiful garden out front. You can understand why the Keatings chose to live here. Free admission to National Trust members.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3dogmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our second visit to this little gem and well worth the effort. Travel along winding, narrow roads with passing points to this property which has limited car parking around a small National Trust shop. The location is great as it overlooks Hell's Mouth and Cardigan Bay, and woodland walks and a picnic area are also here. There is an orchard which comprises of native apple trees and there are also beautiful ornamental gardens to wander around. The house itself has lots of memories for the visitor, showing items from the kitchen, living room and bedroom of years gone by that remind you of past relatives and their homes. It's a delight to visit. You can book the cottage next door or have a choice of two other cottages which the National Trust let, one of which I was told that dogs are permitted to stay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gangan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favourite NT house so far!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This little house oozes with character, charm and historic interest. The gardens are delightful and the views over Hell's Mouth bay are breathtaking. We are planning on booking a break in the adjoining cottage to make the most of the experience and pretend we actually live there when the visitors have all gone at 5pm!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plas yn Rhiw also viewed

 
 

Been to Plas yn Rhiw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing