We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli
Ranked #6 of 11 Pwllheli B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Made a booking in April for specific date in June. Arrived in June to be told that the owner had no record of our booking, he implied I had got the wrong hotel! A room of sorts was eventually found for us, which was very small, grubby and no hanging space for cloths. The kitchen sink was full of dirty dishes and the kitchen is where we were apparently to eat our breakfast! Never again and would definitely not recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

me and my partner decided to go to pwllheli for the night.we googled hotels and y castell came up first so we booked it.we had a warm welcome as soon as we arrived by a young lad called mick.so welcome in fact we talked to him all night.the owner peter is down to earth.the room was clean and the bed was comfy. the locals are very welcoming and we will defiantly be going there again.the town its self is small but has some fantastic buildings and alleys to explore.we recommend the pizza place peckish just over the road from y castell .plenty of places to go walking.

Room Tip: 2 en suit rooms all others are shared bathroom as it is also a hostel.top place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Really friendly and accommodating staff. Even refunded me five pounds as we were staying in a room for 6 but only as a two. Lovely and unexpected gesture. Clean rooms, good facilities and top staff. Perfect for weekend away.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were working in the area and were after something that could accommodate four of us at a reasonable cost and have places to eat and pubs nearby. The Castle met our requirements, the staff were very friendly and the rates were very reasonable. If we are working in the area again we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterWills2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Castle this summer and had a brilliant time.
The room was nice and clean,we had the en-suite at the top of the building which was a good size room for 2 people.
The staff were very kind and helpfull,we had a nice time down at the bar,was a busy saturday night and everyone in good spirits!
Would stay at The Castle again,great value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Parcini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I recently spent a weekend with my wife in Pwllheli, and after a quick Google search, I managed to snag the last en-suite room here. I wasn't disappointed, and found it excellent value for the price, and considering above a pub, very little noise. My only disappointment was the lack of any late-night eating options as we arrived late in the evening on the Friday.

That said, the staff went out of their way to provide us with ideas for activities over the weekend, (particularly enjoyed the rabbit farm!), and we enjoyed a couple of beers downstairs in the evening.

Excellent decor and general ambiance, toilets downstairs could do with some attention perhaps...

All in all, I'd certainly recommend to anyone looking for a good-value stay in Pwllheli and the surrounding areas. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Was staying up for a wedding, tried the Crown but they were full, arrived inside a little dubious, but was shown up to the en-suite, which suprised my partner very much for the price. Very attentive staff, recommended a number of quality eateries in the area, staff couldn't have been more helpful, even booking our evening's restaurant and taxi back. Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Take an en-suite, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwllheli
11.9 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#9 of 11 in Pwllheli
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Plas Bodegroes
Plas Bodegroes
#1 of 1 in Efailnewydd
206 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Boduan
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 11 in Pwllheli
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli

Address: 89 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5RR, Wales (Formerly The Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pwllheli
Price Range: £44 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing