We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal location warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli
Ranked #6 of 10 Pwllheli B&B and Inns
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ideal location warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed for 2 days for the wakestock festival June 11 and 12. Got there quite late but parked right outside, people were out on the front step and the bar seemed to be a bit noisy so at first we were a bit worried about the noise. Went straight in the bar and Pete soon sorted us out with pass keys and we were in our room in 5 minutes. we were on the top floor and were surprised to find we could hardly hear anything of the bar. The room was quite small but was clean enough and had a tidy little shower room. Second night got back from the festival at 12.30 and the bar was in full swing, wife went to bed so i put on my england rugby shirt and had some great friendly banter with the locals, met a great lad named Wayne. All in all a great stay for the 2 nights and would not think twice about going back. Couple more things, Pete has free private parking 5 mins walk from the hotel (its free but limited beteween 9 and 5 outside) and no tea or coffee facilities in the room which was a shame but £55 a night when the other options a festival tent, no contest!

Room Tip: Get one of the two rooms on the top floor to minimise noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    6
    1
    12
See reviews for
3
19
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked to stay here on the 22/6/14 as it is listed as pet friendly. After a 124 mile drive, and even though I mentioned in our confirmation we were bringing a dog I arrived to be told only the bar was pet friendly.

The guy behind the bar told me it happens all the time if you book through late rooms.com. So me and my wife got to sleep in the car.

My advice to the owner get your listing changed.

But to be honest the place looked very scruffy. Hay ho!

Cheers
Mike

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naughtymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here when attending a wedding in June this year, was a little worried from outside but was soon proven wrong, a helpful lad behind the door took care of us. Room was small but cheap enough and was ideal for a one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Made a booking in April for specific date in June. Arrived in June to be told that the owner had no record of our booking, he implied I had got the wrong hotel! A room of sorts was eventually found for us, which was very small, grubby and no hanging space for cloths. The kitchen sink was full of dirty dishes and the kitchen is where we were apparently to eat our breakfast! Never again and would definitely not recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

me and my partner decided to go to pwllheli for the night.we googled hotels and y castell came up first so we booked it.we had a warm welcome as soon as we arrived by a young lad called mick.so welcome in fact we talked to him all night.the owner peter is down to earth.the room was clean and the bed was comfy. the locals are very welcoming and we will defiantly be going there again.the town its self is small but has some fantastic buildings and alleys to explore.we recommend the pizza place peckish just over the road from y castell .plenty of places to go walking.

Room Tip: 2 en suit rooms all others are shared bathroom as it is also a hostel.top place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Really friendly and accommodating staff. Even refunded me five pounds as we were staying in a room for 6 but only as a two. Lovely and unexpected gesture. Clean rooms, good facilities and top staff. Perfect for weekend away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were working in the area and were after something that could accommodate four of us at a reasonable cost and have places to eat and pubs nearby. The Castle met our requirements, the staff were very friendly and the rates were very reasonable. If we are working in the area again we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWills2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwllheli
8.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 10 in Pwllheli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#9 of 10 in Pwllheli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plas Bodegroes
Plas Bodegroes
#1 of 1 in Efailnewydd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.2 mi away
Craig Y Glyn
Craig Y Glyn
#1 of 4 in Llanbedrog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli

Property: The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli
Address: 89 High Street, Pwllheli LL53 5RR, Wales (Formerly The Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pwllheli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle / Y Castell Pwllheli Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing