We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best uk resort i have been too much better than pontins or park resorts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pwllheli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed at this resort because friends reccomended us and im glad to say were still friends, we stayed in the apartments on Llyn village in the ogwen units and i must say these were easily the standard of premier inn rooms and i know i work for them.
the apartment had a modern feel with a plasma tv, plasma type electric fire with remote (which my son loved) and a great bed. the kitchen was very clean and so was the bathroom and the lounge had leather sofas.
We went regually to the entertainments complex and really enjoyed all the entertainment we saw, i think people tend to forget the masses of people the entertainment staff have to please and i think they personally were an asset to haven.
Entertainment acts did vary and the character costumes were out every night which the kiddies loved.
we ate in the lakeside and the food, service was great and a good selection the team in there seemed nice however there was a girl wearing muticoloured socks tucked over her trousers she was nice but this seemed a bit scruffy, i also heard that this venue will be redeveloped for 2010
lots of people have written the site was dated so i did think pontins however there was a new golf area, new starbucks, new toilets, new changing rooms my list can go on.
if you expect a 5* hotel then go to a five star hotel, if you want a family holiday with the kids at a family seaside holiday then here it is.
well done haven! my family loved it as well as the friends that reccomended you and were coming back to see the new restaurant in 2010

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterHappytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,233 - 2,239 of 2,324 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

The accomodation at this site was terrible, I was in a gold standard chalet! utensils missing, window seals broken, beds uncomfortable, cold even with heating, poor cleaning staff etc. Due to us being located a fair distance from the main facillities it took a long walk every time even though we requested to be close to the facillities due to my mothers FMS!, rip-off prices, too much commercial emphasis, just a commercialised poor quality site DEFINENTLY WILL NEVER RETURN!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pictonwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We stayed at Hafan Y Mor for a week on Half Board basis, in the beginning of October.
The accomodation we booked was a standard apartment, it was clean, tidy and perfect for what we needed. The only downside to the standard apts is that you are about a ten minute walk from the entertainment complex and the canteen, which is where you go for all meals if you are Half Board. The area around the apts and by the Bonga Wonga club could have been better lit up as with young children it can be a horrible walk especially when its raining!
The food that we recieved on the Half Board basis was great, it pleased my husband and children, who are all fussy eaters. You get a good choice of food, for breakfast there were mainly choices of cooked brekkie, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurts and for your evening meals you had a starter, main meal and a pudding. All of which you could go back and have seconds or thirds even!!!! It would have been nicer if the canteen staff could manage a smile but it gets sooo busy here sometimes i didnt blame them.
The Entertainment at the complex was fantastic we barely left the park all week as there was so much to keep the kids occupied, they especially enjoyed the swimming which opens certain times during the day.
I would just suggest that if you need any essentials or shopping to take a trip to Asda which is down the road from the park about 5 mins drive, as food and shopping can be very expensive on the park.
We have booked to go back next year, again on a half board basis, I really dont know why people moan about things so much here as you really do get what you pay for. All in all my family had a fab time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walestc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

we went for a long weekend to this holiday park. we stayed in a chalet which was basic but had everything that you needed. it was great for the children and also plenty to do on site. the only downfall was that the room had a bit of an smell to it but other than that it was ok just for a short break. i would recomend people with young children to go to this park.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsMunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

I booked this half term break as it seemed like a good value offer but quite honestly I could have booked us into a Travel lodge for a lot less and been more comfortable.

We stayed in a Comfort Apartment with two young kids 4yrs and 9mths. we were a good ten minute walk from the main attractions which is ok for older kids but not so good for youngsters. The car park is not close to the accom' so you have several trips with your stuff before you can settle in. Added to this inconvenience you are then expected to make your beds up. After a three hour drive and with two agitated kids this is no fun at all. They say you get waht you pay for but at £75 a night for self catering I think the least they could do is make the welcome a little less stressful.
The apartment (chalet) smelled of stale smoke and was not very clean. I ended up buying floor wipes to mop the kitchen and bathroom floor as I was not happy to let my son crawl about. The carpet had fag burns even though they say their accom is all non smoking.
The bathroom had a nail banged into the floor as a door stop!.

In generall it was of a very poor standard and I'm not a snob, I have been to Butlins skegness and I have re booked there, this place doesn't even come close to the butlins standard.

We made the most of things for the sake of the kids. The beach is ok but its not the best in the area. The entertainment is nothing special but there isn't much else to do on site. The pool is great for kids but be aware that the changing areas are poorly designed with nowhere to sit in the family change cubicles unless you are lucky and get a baby change one which is double the size and has a baby change table. You need to be organised to enjoy it otherwise you will feel very stressed and hot after your swim.

overall the facilities in some areas are desperately in need of a revamp and it shows,
My advice if you are planning a trip here is to get out and about off site if you can because it is a lovely part of wales and theres a lot more to see than whats on offer here.

Finally parents be aware whilst making use of the soft play area I witnessed a sexual assault on a young child by a teenage boy who clearly should not have been allowed in.This became a matter of police investigation. This would not have happened if the park management had made sure the failed bulbs had been replaced and there had been someone supervising.



Needless to say I will not be returning to a Haven site.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We travel twice a year to this resort and have done so for over 20 years. Some of the reviews seem unfair we have had good breaks and bad breaks at this resort. However we come for the children and as long as they keep enjoying it were happy to come. Over the past 2 years we have resorted to staying in the caravans, as i agree with some reviews that the Chalet accomodation is very shoddy and needs to be flattened and replaced with newer more modern accomodation(some of thosse chalets are over 25years old).
Facilities for the kids are quite good and entertaining but the extras can be expensive. We have chose diners choice also for the past 2 years and have found this great value for money with a really good range of food and fabulous catering staff who deserve to be mentioned for their hard work and commitment.
Pwhelli and its surroundings is one of Wales most tranquil and picturesque places I have been to, with easy access to other tourist locations in Wales.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita_eccles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I read many reviews on this site prior to going to the camp. Because of all the negative reviews I was dreading it and so upgraded to a luxury caravan. Unfortunately our car broke down en route and so had no car for the whole 4 days. The site itself is well spread out with nice scenery. The caravan was great and had everything we needed. The local beach is small and pebbly however was quite nice on a sunny day. Swimming pool was ok for the kids although the funzone looked a bit dated and grotty. Food wasnt too bad. This place is ok to stay at as a base and use a car to travel around the area which has many attractions. Dont stay in the flats as they look like an aweful army barracks. Try to pay more for a luxury caravan if you can - it s worth the extra money. All in all not too bad and certainly not as bad as the doom mongers and whingers suggest.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeguapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwllheli
16.6 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
17.6 mi away
Bae Abermaw
Bae Abermaw
#4 of 4 in Barmouth
217 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,372 reviews
24.3 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Pwllheli LL53 6HJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Pwllheli
Also Known As:
Hafan y Mor Holiday Park Hotel Pwllheli
Hafan y Mor Holiday Park - Haven Pwllheli, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing