We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arvonia Fish and Chips

Arvonia Fish and Chips
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in Pwllheli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: we are a fish and chip shop in the heart of pwllheli with both welsh and english speaking. We serve traditional fish and chips freshly cooked and served with a smile in our 48 seater restaurant. Our menu ranges from breakfast to an evening meal with a wide range of choice. Our hygiene rating is a 5*, which has been maintained for the last few years.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We arrived in Pwllheli on the sat afternoon,went to the chippy and ordered fish and chips and a bacon roll with chips,the fish was cooked to order which my husband loved,nice and crispy and cooked to perfection,my bacon roll was to my liking,I asked for crispy,which they did,overall this chippy caters for everyone,even the fussy ones,will def go again when we visit Pwllheli,nice friendly owners,and staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    34
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pwllheli
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Favourite fish and chip bar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have been visiting the Llyn Peninsular for around seven years. Happily we discovered 'Arvonia' very early on. Its our favourite chippy in the area. The fish are always cooked fresh and are delicious.
In reply to a previous comment regarding uncleanliness. That is simply wrong. The whole establishment is very clean and well organised. This is a thriving chippy and gets very busy in peak holiday times.
As far as chip shop food is concerned, we think its the best.
The business has been there for a long time and repeat custom is a definite. They must be doing something right!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Chip Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went whilst on holiday the portions not over big but ample. Very nice tasting products would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chewy Fish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I went there a couple of weeks back and unfortunately the fish was chewy and tasteless. Not very friendly service either which further added to the disappointment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“New favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Called in here for a takeaway after long sunny day walking coast paths. Quick service and exceptionally good fish and chips - fresh and clean tasting with no greasy aftertaste. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arvonia Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Pwllheli, Gwynedd
Pwllheli, Gwynedd
 

Been to Arvonia Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing