We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate B&B, stunning natural setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gwrach Ynys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwrach Ynys
Ranked #4 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Immaculate B&B, stunning natural setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here after a wedding in Portmeirion. Wonderfully welcoming and kind hosts, very accommodating of our last minute booking. Breakfast was delicious and perfectly timed, with warm toast and our nicely scrambled and poached eggs arriving at the same time. Immaculate and cosy rooms and common areas. And what a setting! Mountains and fields (including horse) all round, but easy to find off just off a main road. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I saw this guest house in June whilst staying in Porthmadog in a "budget box" type of hotel.
It looked so inviting that I booked 3 nights in September.The reviews I read are totally accurate,from the warm welcome with tea or coffee to the immaculate rooms and well cooked breakfasts which set you up for the day.Forget your guide books because Gwynfor can give you detailed information on where to go and what to see and where to park!The location is superb,just 2 miles north of Harlech and close to Porthmadog for railway enthusiasts,whilst Snowdon is easily reached as is the North Wales coast and Anglesey.I am now planning a return stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this little gem.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have stunning sunsets over the hills and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeemerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is an excellent B&B, and Gwynfor and Deborah are good humoured and helpful. When returning at the end of a day it's like coming home. The room facilities were appreciated, including the lighting - something which is often neglected elsewhere. The location is good for views and for accessing many Snowdonia attractions - the two railways and Portmerion are a short drive away, all enjoyable. An excellent free Wifi at the property was much appreciated too - so many places advertise this and don't deliver, theirs was spot on. We didn't know about the awards they have won before our stay, but having stayed, we feel that the awards are well justified.

Room Tip: See THEIR website (not other organisations pages about them) - it has photos and descriptions of al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCHanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed there for 6 nights and didn't want to leave!! It was brilliant and I have no complaint or criticism. You get a very warm welcome from the hosts Gwynfor and Deborah and nothing is too much trouble for them in making your stay comfortable and pleasurable. If you need help planning sightseeing or hiking in Snowdonia then Gwynfor is very knowledgeable and very willing to help. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious, ample and nicely served. There is good off-road parking. Excellent value for money. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts welcomed us with a pot of tea after a long journey from Ipswich, couldn't be more helpful and accommodating.Rooms are spotless and bright. Breakfast is great, location good,couldn't fault a thing. Gwynfor even rang me on my mobile to tell me I had left my boots in the room within 5 mins of leaving so turned round and went back to get them. Thanks mate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arguable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights with my husband and we got a very warm welcome from Deborah and afterwards from Gwyn and they were really helpful giving us advice on what to do and on the local restaurants. The house is cosy and clean, but our room was a bit to small.
The view in the morning was glorious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macarravilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just got back after staying for two nights, great value, lovely staff who make you very welcome. Room was spotlessly clean, great breakfast choice - Manx kippers are delicious :-) would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattsmith72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Old Tannery B&B
The Old Tannery B&B
#6 of 6 in Talsarnau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frondirion
Frondirion
#1 of 2 in Llanfair
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwrach Ynys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwrach Ynys

Property: Gwrach Ynys
Address: Talsarnau, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gwrach Ynys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwrach Ynys Talsarnau, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing