We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Decided to go camping with the family over the August bank holiday weekend and searched the various sites in the lakes and Wales and was getting silly prices of £35 and over per night for a tent and minimum of 3 nights on bank holidays. After much searching came across Barcdy caravan and camping site near Porthmadog in Snowdonia area at £42 for 2 nights ,no extra charges for large tent or teenager . What a gem of a find, it is in a beautiful location about 3 miles from Portmerion (location of the series "the prisoner" ) a must to visit when in the area, you will be gobsmacked and think you are in a town in southern italy. The campsite is well set out ,the toilets, showers and laundry facilities are the cleanest and best I have ever seen on a campsite. showers are large individual private cubicles and FREE!!! Yes free, no tokens and no coins needed .There are also private showers in ladies and gents for parents with small children. A freezer is made available for your icepacks, again no charges( a donation is asked for to be put in the air ambulance donation box). The owners are nice and friendly and very helpful. Beware there is no shop so take what you are likely to need, there is a Tesco in Porthmadog 5 miles away. There is also no bar or entertainment so if you want a lively noisy site then look elsewhere. But if you want a nice clean family place to camp then this is highly recommended as noisy drunk campers are not tolerated. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: pitches with or without electric hook up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just spent a week in the caravan with two of our grandchildren. Owners very helpful, site for caravans and tents and facilities excellent!! Children are able to play in a safe environment, creating a relaxed atmosphere for adults!! many places to visit and good beaches nearby. (but beware of the weaver fish) our eldest grandchild got a nasty sting, which could have been avoided had he had crock shoes). All in All, an excellent site, good location and we will be back next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanP1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindonl, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Returned here for a 3 night family break. My family have been coming here since I was a toddler (I am now 32 with my own family) so wanted to bring them to share the experience and I myself have not stayed since I was 15. My parents came too with their caravan and my husband and our kids camped.

The camp site is fantastic and reasonably priced. Such clean facilities, and attention to detail everywhere. The owners are in their late 60's but everyday he was out in his truck or tractor tending to the land round the site or making sure the bins were emptied etc.

Like an earlier reviewer said this campsite is a hidden gem. I have so many happy memories of Barcdy and will be ensuring we return so my children will have happy memories too! My husband thanked me for sharing it with him!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just returned from 3 night camping break at Barcdy, what an absolute gem of a site with lovely owners for whom nothing was too much trouble they both work tirelessly to maintain high standards of which they should be very proud. Close proximity to Portmeirion, Harlech, Portmadog, Black Rock sands the list is endless. Toilets and showers were spotless regularly cleaned to a very high standard always plenty of hot water and everything you could ever need is available in the utility room. We pitched on the bottom tent field which was very flat and well drained despite the previous week being very wet. It was wonderful to wake up to the sound of the lambs in the next field and sit watching the buzzards hovering overhead. The site is within walking distance to the local pub The Ship Aground where the locals are very friendly and the real ale is a triumph. I highly recommend visiting this site, I'm sure you will return if you do, we definately will.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Absolutely loved this place. Toilets and showers extremely clean and plenty enough so do not need to wait in a queue. Helpful and friendly staff. We went during August Bank Holiday so were bit worried that it will be a bit overcrowded especially when seeing the sign at the entrance gate saying 'full' but to our surprise it was lots of space left so the site was not overcrowded and guests could enjoy it better. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nelusienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
2.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#2 of 6 in Talsarnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Estuary Cottage
Estuary Cottage
#1 of 6 in Talsarnau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryn Derw Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park

Property: Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park
Address: A496, Talsarnau LL47 6YG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, Barcdy is a small, quiet, dog-free family holiday park offering pitches for touring caravans and tents. It lies in a secluded and sheltered vale, with wooded hills tumbling down to the rear and wide open views across the Dwyryd estuary to the front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park Talsarnau, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing