We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
100
18
2
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
18
2
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope swing clean facilities lovely site plenty of space air ambulance hot water bank holiday weekend picnic tables laundry room night stay ice packs vending machine small donation lovely owners brilliant facilities lower field toilets showers
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Barcdy caravan site over the weekend which had wonderful facilities. It was clear that the owners took pride in their campsite and the toilets and showers were very clean. Furthermore, we were able to dry our clothes in the tumble dryers after a persistent shower. But on our final day, whilst in the showers, my family was approached by the owner. He was extremely aggressive squaring up to my brother and shouting in front of a 6 year old, two 11 year olds, a 15 year old and a 16 year old. So much so that my niece started to cry and the situation got out of hand. If it wasn't for my brothers calm disposition, a fight would have ensued due to the owners aggressive nature. Despite us having a good holiday up until this point we will not be staying there again and feel appalled by the way that this situation was handled. I don't believe we are the first the complain about the owners emotional regulation issues either.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Kimberley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Owner at Barcdy Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

WOWWWW "Appalled" we are appalled by your absolute disregard for fellow campers and the park itself. Firstly we had 4 complaints about the noise up to 2:30am keeping people around you awake with loud talking, shouting and breaking wood off the trees for your fire. you had your fire on the grass that has made the pitch unusable for any other guests, your bbq was emptied on the grass burning a further area, old bbq coals thrown into the woods behind your tent along with other trash. When approached you were confrontational from the start denying everything you were being told when clearly your pitch had all the burn marks and debris
You were asked to leave the site immediately and not to book with us again.
I was understandably upset by your actions but was not confrontational.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights and were in the lower field with electric. It was very rainy and the field was very wet. We had no issue putting up our tent. The plot was a decent size. We loved how close the facilities were to our tent and that we had a tap in our field. We Had been a little concerned that there wasn't a playground as it's what we normally look for in a campsite but the children loved the rope swing and played a bit of football. The site has a country feel for it and I think a playground would actually spoil that but maybe some logs to climb on and a den area would be nice instead. The toilets were charming in someways. They really grew on me only issue we had was that they had a lot of spiders. My little girl counted 18 one evening, they were a little off putting but apart from that they were lovely. There is also a food van on site in the morning and evening which is good. The staff we spoke to were lovely and helpful. We had a picnic bench outside our tent which was an added bonus and we loved sitting at it watching the children play and enjoying the view in the evening. It can be a little noisy at night due to the road and sheep but nothing that stops you from sleeping. Everyone was very respectful of each other at night which is great. It's a really lovely site and would be happy to visit it again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Averageat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We have just returned from a three night trip to Barcdy. We were a party of four with two older teenagers. We picked the campsite primarily due to its proximity to a canyoning trip we were doing.

We pitched on the upper field and had plenty of space. The toilet blocks and showers were kept spotless dispite the mixed weather. Lovely to have hot showers with plenty of room.

The laundry room was a luxury to get towels dried (£2 for the dryer). The access to freezers was also appreciated so that we could recycle our ice blocks.

The owners were really kind and helpful. Gave us a good recommendation for the Harlech Indian restaurant. We had a day in Harlech walking on the beach and touring the castle. We also visited Porthmadog which had plenty to do and see.

We had excellent take away pizza from Penrhyndeudraeth on our first night - only a 5 min drive and much needed after our late arrival and set up.

If you have a young family there seemed lots going on on the lower pitches and if WIFI is important this probably isn't the right site - personally we were glad of the break from it!!

If you are looking for activities locally we used Snowdonia Adventure Activities and they were great.

All in all a very lovely stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sammi-Lou17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed here for 6 nights with our two children and had a lovely time. The location is beautiful and is the perfect base for exploring this part of North Wales.
The showers and toilets were spotlessly clean and had free hot water for washing in which is always appreciated when camping. The laundry and washing up room was well kitted out and had washer, dryer and ironing board in there too.
One thing I did notice was that they ask you not to put sleeping bags into the washer and dryer so if you need to wash young kids bedding during the week this could be an issue.
There was also a freezer to use for ice packs for a donation to the air ambulance.
The owners were very friendly and helpful and my kids loved the rope swing in the tree.
If you cannot live without wifi for emails then you get a complimentary voucher on arrival and then you can buy a new voucher using paypal for £3.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank caz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed for 4 nights and found it to be an excellent campsite in a lovely part of the UK. Great location for the Welsh Highland and Ffestiniog railways and for exploring Snowdonia and the coast. Close to Porthmadog for supplies etc. Campsite is well run and lovely and quiet. The showering and toilet facilities were very clean, plenty of hot water and well maintained. Our young son loved the freedom of being able to run about the small football pitch and hill/swing area with the other kids. Very little noise at night from the road and even though it rained most days the pitch stayed clear of water. Would recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macca102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews