We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem on the Harlech coast line” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estuary Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estuary Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem on the Harlech coast line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights (with KGB deals voucher) had no problem booking in or finding place.

Estuary Lodge is family run, the service we received was fantastic, good size room, bathroom had wet room, mini fridge and micro wave in room as well as tea making facilities. There was a little outdoor sitting area. We ate all our meals at the Estuary Lodge and cannot fault either price or quality. Good selection on menu on all days. The Lodge is ideal for touring the area, we went as far as Snowdon. If going to Caernarfon do not park in Castle Square unless you want a parking ticket as we found out!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had wet room and had been adapted suitable for disabled users - wet room &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    31
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
36
165
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Spent 3 nights over the Bank holiday weekend & couldn't fault it. The location is great, staff were fabulous, food excellent especially the breakfasts. The room was spotless. It really was a pleasure to stay & along with the perfect weather could not have been more perfect. Would definitely stay again & would not hesitate to recommend. This was our first time in this part of Wales which i must say is absolutely stunning, so with the scenery and accommodation we had an excellent weekend. My son who is 11 is already asking when can we go back. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had 4 nights here in the middle of August and cannot speak too highly of the place, the staff (family) and the food. An excellent welcome, a spotless room with more-or-less everything you could want and very good food. The cooking is enthusiastic, voluminous and hot. We ate in all four nights and wanted for nothing, especially as it is also licenced . One additional thing is that it is within 5 minutes walk of the local railway station and we used the train every day - an excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here and it was faultless. The spacious rooms are immaculate and the travellers needs well anticipated. We ate in both nights and the food was of the same very high standard. Fancy a pint?............. 100 yards away "Ship Aground" sells splendid local micro brewery draft.
This is a family run business, established in the 1970's and they clearly apply all they have learned to the benefit of the guests.
Look forward to another relaxing break here.

Room Tip: Suspect they are all the same, ours had a king sized bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travleeds28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and they were very flexible when our arrival was delayed a day due to a back problem.
We went for the "classic double" and we had all the room facilities and most of the space we had in our 5* hotel in May (cafetiere, microwave, fridge and bathrobes) and free wifi.
The cooked breakfast was invariably delicious, with the choice of pretty much what you wanted from what they had available (including eggs from their own chickens). There was a modest fruit, cereal and yoghurt buffet too.
Dinner was also good (and we ate in most evenings); the menu is closer to gastropub than fine dining.
As the village has no other attractions, the license was welcome, with local beers in bottle.
The village is 4 miles from Harlech, and close to Port Meirion, Portmadoc and Festiniog..

This is a small motel-style hotel punching way above its weight - I would certainly recommend it and stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the "classic double" - king size bed and dedicated car parking space immediately in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_in_Macc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I book this hotel through laterooms for myself and my mum for a holiday, it was left right to the last moment. We read the amazing reviews and decided this was the right choice. The hotel/motel was so easy to find the satnav took us straight there. We ended up having one of what we guess are the luxury rooms, it was more then what we expecting, with so many extras I don't know why it's not rated 5* rather then the 4* it has been given. One the first night we had dinner there as the reviews were good and we weren't let down the food is truly lovely and the waiter Dominic he was such a pleasure to have serving, he serves at breakfast aswell I can't fault him he is brilliant at his job. There are pizza's on offer until late and been told by the others there it is rather good. All staff, owner (not seen wife) daughter and so on all act very professional, friendly and approachable. The room has, a fridge (big help) tea, coffee, tv and other things you expect. Bed's comfortable we had a twin room. I can't praise this place enough. Brilliant stay, we stayed 3 nights and didn't want to move on.
Regards Barrett's

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kay250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

It was my wife's birthday and as normal I leave everything to the last minute. My wife has always wanted to visit Port Merriam so I looked on Tripadvisor for a hotel/BB. I came across the Estuary Lodge and they had one room left so booked this. When we arrived the staff were very friendly, the sheepdog loves a fuss. We were shown to our room which had a large kingsize bed and shower room etc. but there was also tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits, Galaxy chocolate bars, bottled water in the fridge, a microwave cooker, hand cream and the list goes on. We had evening meal there on the first night and although the restaurant business is not part of the hotel the food was excellent, in fact one couple had been three nights in a row and were not even stopping at the Estuary Lodge. The breakfast was excellent many choices and no complaints, also must say how good Dominique was as a waiter nothing too much trouble. Local pub just down the road so after a meal nice walk down there, very local to train station about 5 mins walk, would definitely stay again if in the same area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
1.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
3.7 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estuary Cottage
Estuary Cottage
#1 of 6 in Talsarnau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Lodge

Property: Estuary Lodge
Address: Stryd Fawr, Talsarnau LL47 6TA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Snowdonia National Park, the family-run Estuary offers free parking, free Wi-Fi and a stylish bistro. With elegant bedrooms, there is also a coffee shop.The Estuary boasts 10 en suite rooms, all of which are located on the ground floor. Rooms are individually decorated with luxurious fabrics and natural colours, and each has a TV with DVD player, work desk and tea/coffee facilities.The Estuary Bistro serves a delicious menu featuring fresh, local produce. The Coffee Shop offers traditional coffees, a selection of snacks and indulgent homemade cakes. Full English breakfasts are also available daily.Located approximately 4 miles North of Harlech, The Estuary is within reach of Portmeirion and the Llechwedd caverns. The hotel is centrally placed for exploring Snowdonia’s beautiful mountains and coast, and the friendly staff can help with planning trips and guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Estuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Hotel Talsarnau
Estuary Motel Talsarnau
Estuary Lodge Talsarnau, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing