We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estuary Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Estuary Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here last September, the hotel is motel style where you park your car in front of your room, and you have a microwave, cutlery, crockery and cafetiere as well as a kettle. However most motels are basic, this is more plush with beautiful rooms, everything matches and the decor is very tasteful. The restaurant is also excellent, the evening meal that we had there on the first night was fabulous and so were the breakfasts. On a Sunday they only do lunches in the restaurant, we didn't require this as we were out walking, but their take-away pizzas were very good!!
I would whole heartedly recommend Estuary Lodge, it is a family run hotel and they are extremely friendly and helpful!! We will be visiting again!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are of a similar standard, we had a standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladydiver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    31
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
37
167
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We come here for dinner on a regular basis - atleast once a month!
Each time we have been it has been excellent- food is fantastic, atmosphere is brilliant and the staff faultless extremely helpful.
It is so nice to see home made food from starter to dessert and homemade produce for sale in the recepion area.
See you soon, thanks again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SMDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Fabulous welcome and quick check-in. Room had everything we could need for our nights stay. The bath robes being very welcome - just wish more places provided these!. We ate in the bistro - lovely food and excellent service - the lamb steak to die for! Breakfast the following morning was just as welcoming and I loved the fact I could customise my full english :). Shame hubby had to work the next day else we would have asked to stay a second night!

Room Tip: Room 1 is right next to reception & restaurant - very handy if you can't walk far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank First-time-in-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Initially we were a bit disappointed when we pulled into the car park to find a modern motel appearance to the low rise building. Not the picturesque Welsh cottage we had imagined. But we were soon won over by this very friendly family run business. The rooms are really comfortable with everything you could want, spacious comfortable bed, two handbasins, microwave, fridge with milk ready and waiting for tea/coffee making. We had already had a long drive so decided to book in for dinner. This was an unexpected pleasure too. Brothers Dan and Dominic have a real feel for food and wine. Breakfast too was exceptional. Friendly family business with emphasis on excellence in all the right places. Really recommend a visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gilli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a lovely 'find'. Welcoming hosts, lovely rooms and exquisite food...from breakfast to dinner (including tea). We were catered to for the entire weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We left feeling refreshed and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The most helpful and pleasant people I have ever met.Beautiful rooms tea coffeee and a fridge.Good parking & Dominic full of useful information about local area.
Would definately recommend a stay and definately going back as lots more to see.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chichy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here last year as well - we stayed for 3 nights previously and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the area. We enjoyed our last stay so much that we had to come back - so as soon as we got a day off I arranged to go again in October for 2 nights.

My elderly grandfather, his friend, my mum and dad all joined us and stayed here.
Our last visit was so good we didn't think they would have been able to improve it. Yet they did.

There rooms are gorgeous – very luxurious and cleaned impeccably. Grant and Alison are so hospitable and friendly – even the dog, Chuff is friendly.

In our last stay we had Dan’s Crème Brule – so this time round we had to have it again. Dan’s Crème Brule are by far the best we have had ever. Its worth travelling here just for them!!
This time round we had dinner at the hotel and I must say not only was Dan’s crème Brule amazing as was his dinner. On the Second night he was kind enough to prepare a menu especially for us and had 4 different fish/vegetarian options for us.

Also Alison’s home made jams are absolutely amazing and Grant’s honey from his own beehives are just the best. Definitely buy some whilst you are there.

I can't see why it only has 4 star - its a 5 star hotel - will definitely be making this into a regular break!!

Room Tip: We have now stayed in rooms 10, 5, 6 and 7 and every single room has been amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadafKhan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
1.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estuary Cottage
Estuary Cottage
#1 of 6 in Talsarnau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Lodge

Property: Estuary Lodge
Address: Stryd Fawr, Talsarnau LL47 6TA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Estuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Snowdonia National Park, the family-run Estuary offers free parking, free Wi-Fi and a stylish bistro. With elegant bedrooms, there is also a coffee shop.The Estuary boasts 10 en suite rooms, all of which are located on the ground floor. Rooms are individually decorated with luxurious fabrics and natural colours, and each has a TV with DVD player, work desk and tea/coffee facilities.The Estuary Bistro serves a delicious menu featuring fresh, local produce. The Coffee Shop offers traditional coffees, a selection of snacks and indulgent homemade cakes. Full English breakfasts are also available daily.Located approximately 4 miles North of Harlech, The Estuary is within reach of Portmeirion and the Llechwedd caverns. The hotel is centrally placed for exploring Snowdonia’s beautiful mountains and coast, and the friendly staff can help with planning trips and guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Estuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Hotel Talsarnau
Estuary Motel Talsarnau
Estuary Lodge Talsarnau, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing