We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Estuary Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estuary Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There was nothing at all that anyone could find fault with in this delightful place to stay in a very quiet village but close to so many places of interest.
The room had everything a traveller could want and scones with butter and homemade jam on arrival was a lovely touch.
The breakfasts were the best we've had in our weeks travelling around UK and freshly baked welsh scones hot off the griddle were an added delight.
The Estuary is a family run business and all of them made us feel part of the family imparting their knowledge of the area and going that little bit extra to help us when needed.
Loved it so much booked an extra night but alas had to move on!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

As one of the reviewers has already said, do not be put off by the motor-lodge look of the exterior of this place. The rooms and en-suites are comfortable and spacious, the parking excellent and the welcome unrivalled. Also don't overlook the fact that there is an enjoyable menu of evening meals which can be enjoyed with wine without the need to consider the car or a taxi fare. Fully family run, the friendly, excellent service is only matched by their good nature and friendly humour. For anyone who likes views, walks and wild birds there is a splendid circular walk taking in the salt marshes, with views across the estuary to Portmeirion. When the tide drops, it is possible to walk across the wide sands to and around the Ynys Gyfttan island. It is a well positioned base for exploring north and mid Wales. Just don't tell anyone else about Estuary Lodge. Let's keep it our secret!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Two minutes away from this little gem, are the most amazing, spectacular views,so don't be put off by its unprepossessing exterior.
The family treat guests like vips and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast was delicious, generous and bountiful - my haddock and poached eggs was perfectly delicious. Home made Welsh cakes hot from the griddle were an unexpected treat as were all the little extras in our wonderfully welcoming room 5. A few minutes away by car are fabulous rivers, walks, beaches, castles and waterfalls.i can't wait to return.x

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a family run organisation which is truly homely and wonderful. The staff are amazingly polite and helpful. The lodges are perfect and very comfortable with lovely furnishings and decor. We stayed two nights and will definitely be making a return trip. It was a very memorable stay in such a calming and peaceful atmosphere. Big HUGZ to CYFF their little sheepdog, she was as welcoming as the owners. THANKYOU to all.

Room Tip: There are ten lodges and all on ground floor with their own front doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently (2 couples, 2 rooms) and we couldn't have wished for a better place, it was absolutely immaculate, the family owners were so helpful and nothing was ever to much trouble. They also do evening meals here which are of an excellent quality, along with stunning breakfasts and during the day, cakes etc are available in the reception, restaurant area.
The lodge was well situated for the exploring that we wanted to do, easy drive to Harlech, Porthmadog, Portmerion and various steam train trips.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed last August Bank Holiday and were so impressed that we returne again, actually had the same room which was lovely. The location id great for walking around the estuary, Port Meirion and Portmadog to name but a few places. Food morning and evevning is beautiful and we loved the sound of the ducks paddling behind the building. A Lovely escape from the city. Local Pub down the road very friendly.

Room Tip: they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suecainred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had read reviews on this place before booking and all I can say is they are all correct, no one in this world could give this place any type of bad review.

You go as a customer and leave as part of the family, the food is excellent, the beds are comfy, the rooms are to the highest standard, not a spot of dust anywhere and the family dog is just a love.

We stayed for 2 nights, 21st and 22nd of May 2014 in room 3, this has a big double bed and in built bunk beds in the wall ( see pics I have posted ) The room was brilliant, my little boy loved the top bunk.

It Is 12 miles from Porthmadog and 20 miles from Barmouth. There is a little pub down the road but we didn't go as the bar on sight was good enough. The food was great with a personal touch from all the family on site serving you and looking after every need.

I would recommend this place to anyone with my hand on my heart to say you will have a great time if all you want to do is chill, eat, drink and enjoy watching the world pass you by then this is the place.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all the room are very good but if you speak to Daniel he would be happy to help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherCrompton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
1.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,499 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
712 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#2 of 12 in Porthmadog
423 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Lodge

Address: Stryd Fawr, Talsarnau LL47 6TA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range: £58 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Estuary Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Snowdonia National Park, the family-run Estuary offers free parking, free Wi-Fi and a stylish bistro. With elegant bedrooms, there is also a coffee shop.The Estuary boasts 10 en suite rooms, all of which are located on the ground floor. Rooms are individually decorated with luxurious fabrics and natural colours, and each has a TV with DVD player, work desk and tea/coffee facilities.The Estuary Bistro serves a delicious menu featuring fresh, local produce. The Coffee Shop offers traditional coffees, a selection of snacks and indulgent homemade cakes. Full English breakfasts are also available daily.Located approximately 4 miles North of Harlech, The Estuary is within reach of Portmeirion and the Llechwedd caverns. The hotel is centrally placed for exploring Snowdonia’s beautiful mountains and coast, and the friendly staff can help with planning trips and guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Estuary Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Hotel Talsarnau
Estuary Motel Talsarnau
Estuary Lodge Talsarnau, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing