We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estuary Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Estuary Cottage
Ranked #1 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed for one night prior t going on to Portmeirion and received a very warm welcome from Ann. The room was spotlessly clean and of a good size. It was just a pity the weather wasn't nice enough to enjoy the balcony or to walk to the estuary. We had dinner at the Lodge, a short walk away and which was very enjoyable.

Bob cooked us a delicious breakfast and both Ann and Bob were at pains to ensure we had everything we needed. We would definitely recommend this B&B and would return.

The nearby railway track was no problem whatsoever and the (very few) trains were barely audible

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warpfactor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    14
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
96
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We have stayed here many times now an we still keep returning because its a chilled out relaxing place,you can go out visiting or if like us u just want to relax then this is the place because of the beautiful gardens where you can sit and read etc. Anne n bob great hosts there there to help you or they will just let you enjoy there garden. Nothing is ever too much,we love our times here and look forward to many more

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceylovespete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

A diamond of a find looking across the estuary at Portmeirion and Mount Snowden. Ann and Bob were delightful and really cared about us having a good time. As mentioned in other reviews, Bob's full Welsh breakfast was to die for!!!! Room was spotless with all the amenities we needed. The convenience of the train station was perfect and the occasional passing trains made for an idyllic setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I've stayed here twice now, the most recently being New Year and would recommend it to anyone. Bob and Anne couldn't do enough for us, the room was well decorated and spotless. Bob's breakfasts were lovely, and they were very accommodating. Although it is near the train line, it was not an issue as passing trains can hardly be heard. I look forward to staying here again, and would like to thank Bob and Anne for having me :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozboz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stopped here on several occasions and have never been disappointed.Just come back from a very enjoyable weekend break in Talsarnau to visit friends and my stay at the Estuary Cottage was first class and Bobs breakfasts are to die for. We are back down there for New Year and have had no hesitation in booking to stop there again. The views are fantastic and the station is handily placed right next to the Cottage but you hardly hear the trains passing. Bob and Annes hospitality is second to none and nothing is too much trouble. Would definately recommend this to anyone for a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Procky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have stayed at Estuary Cottage on several occasions and it really is a 'home from home'. The accomodation is immaculate and the hosts, Ann and Bob couldn't be more welcoming. Bob's breakfasts are amazing and set you up for the day. The setting is excellent with wonderful views and the large, well-kept garden is great for relaxing in. There is ample car parking and the Cottage is very close to the coastal footpath and the rail link. The train does pass in front of the Cottage, but it's not a problem - it just adds to the quaintness of the setting.

Nothing is too much trouble for Ann and Bob. In fact, we have already booked another stay again in a few week's time, and we hope to do so for many years to come.

Room Tip: The Balcony room is a bit bigger than the Garden room, but both rooms are excellent, with everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinackVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urmston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Strictly speaking that should be reasons, Anne and Bob strike the balance the balance of being hosts and leaving you to your own devices if you wish perfectly. Being off the main road is a real plus for us and the access to the estuary and the coastal walk combined with the rail service is one of the cherries.

The convenience of a evening meal if you wish and the flexibility of the breakfast start time works for me as well, but don't make the mistake I did of eating to much the prior evening as you will not have the room to do it justice. (They do lighter options though)

There is a drawback for us, but is is only one. They are too far away...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
6.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estuary Lodge
Estuary Lodge
#2 of 6 in Talsarnau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Cottage

Property: Estuary Cottage
Address: Station Road | Station Road, Talsarnau LL47 6UA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Cottage bed and breakfast. Ideally located for most attractions in Snowdonia. Golf close by, Great walking area.Wales Coastal Path very close. Quiet location, off road parking, all rooms en suite. All rooms are self contained with own private access giving complete privacy. Large grounds and ample sitting out areas to enjoy the panoramic views all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Estuary Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Cottage Talsarnau, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing