We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estuary Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Talsarnau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longueuil, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, nice location”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

PROS:
- Bob and Ann are very friendly hosts;
- Charming location in the countryside with sheep and nice trails nearby;
- Lots of fresh air thanks to 3 windows;
- Quiet and restful place. Only sounds we could hear were from Mother Nature!
- Excellent breakfast;
- We feared noise from the nearby railroad tracks, but these are no longer used;
CONS:
- Our room, the one at one end of the building, was a bit cramped.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    17
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twyford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were given a very warm and friendly welcome on arrival by Ann and Bob as we walked into their beautiful, peaceful garden. Our accommodation was the chalet and although we were not planning to self-cater fully it was very useful to have the little kitchen and especially the microwave. The lounge area was very comfortable and we had wonderful views of Portmeirion across the estuary and of Snowdon from there aa well as from the bedroom. Breakfast, cooked by Bob, was excellent and kept us going all day! Ann's knowledge of the area and her advice on routes and places to visit were very helpful. As well as being in such a delightful and tranquil location, Estuary cottage is very conveniently situated for visits to all the tourist attractions in the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If visiting Portmeirion, go later in the afternoon when it is quieter. It doesn't close till 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiandorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely couple of nights in the balcony room. The weather was amazing so we had stunning views across snowdonia and to Portmeirion. The gardens at estuary cottage are second to none and guests can use them freely. breakfast is just right to set you up for the day. Our room was clean and comfortable and Bob and Ann were great hosts. Looking forward to going back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Estuary Cottage for three nights on July 25th 2014.
On our arrival we were greeted by Ann and Bob ( Marnie the Cat )and shown to the chalet which was to be our accommodation for the duration of our stay.
We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious it was and very well decorated and spotlessly clean.
The lounge has two sofas, a dining table,TV and sideboard.
The bedroom has a very comfy bed which was dressed beautifully and the en-suite with shower was ample size.
It was a bonus to have our own little kitchen where we could prepare food if we were not eating out, every need has been thoughtfully catered for in this lovely accommodation.
The garden is huge and has been beautifully designed by Bob to include a large scale working model railway and you can meet the very hens responsible for providing the lovely fresh eggs you get with breakfast in the mornings, everywhere you go you see something different.
If you are a keen walker there are some lovely walks and for your convenience there is a little railway station right outside the front gate.

( although the train is not running at the moment due to repairs on the bridge )

The view across the estuary is spectacular and a visit to Portmeirion is a must.

If a good wholesome breakfast is what you're after, then look no further, as you are served in the dining room overlooking the beautiful views and guaranteed to set you up for the day.
If you leave there feeling hungry it certainly is not down to Ann and Bob.
This is one of the nicest places we have stayed in on our travels and based on my own experience, would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to have a peaceful break in a little piece of Heaven.
Thank you Ann and Bob we are looking forward to returning for longer next time.

Room Tip: We loved the chalet as it was like having your own little cottage out in the country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelticSoul58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

was a lovely stay excellent weather and great surrounding, but just didn't do it for us, at points it dose feel like staying at some ones house with the large table for breakfast, though i would recommend it its not for us, excellent price good location. need refining to become something special.

i will say i am glad the trains are not running at present, as you are next to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A truly lovely setting and beautifully appointed with own veranda and entrance, with views across the estuary to Portmeiron. Mine hosts were friendly and attentive without being overwhelming and the breakfasts are fresh and highly recommended (especially the poached eggs!). The only (very slight) downside was the bijou quality of the ensuite - difficult for anyone of a larger than 'average build' to manouvre with the door shut. Good evening eatery in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Very small setup but can recommend the garden room. Didn't get to see the chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stay with Bob and Ann for three night, our room was lovely with a veranda to sit out on in the evening, bob was happy to ring up and book us a table for dinner at the pub which was a few minutes walk away,bobs breakfast was excellent and ann had a lot of info on the free bus times ect,they were so friendly and their garden is so beautiful, , with views of portmerion and snowdon, an excellent break there and their Cat was beautiful as well, would recommend Estury Cotttage to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindafc2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talsarnau
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,458 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
3.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
6.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estuary Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estuary Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Estuary Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Station Road, Talsarnau LL47 6UA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Talsarnau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Talsarnau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estuary Cottage bed and breakfast. Ideally located for most attractions in Snowdonia. Golf close by, Great walking area.Wales Coastal Path very close. Quiet location, off road parking, all rooms en suite. All rooms are self contained with own private access giving complete privacy. Large grounds and ample sitting out areas to enjoy the panoramic views all around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Estuary Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estuary Cottage Bed And Breakfast Talsarnau, Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing