We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship Aground

Ship Aground
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Talsarnau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in Snowdonia National Park, a family run business which offers heartily home cooked food. We pride ourselves on quality locally sourced produce and a homely atmosphere with views from the restaurant overlooking Snowdon.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

nice country pub on main road but with parking, very friendly locals. pleasant staff reasonable food if slightly over priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charline R, Staff at Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and for visiting The Ship Aground. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal but are a little surprised you thought we were over priced. We believe we are very competitively priced in comparrision to others in the area and all our meals are generous portions. Diolch / Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great friendly local pub, with lots of character and charm. Can recommend the beef and red pepper curry.....fantastic

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“More than pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Pleasant friendly staff. Varied menu & specials board. Generous portions of excellent food. Needless to say we ate there 4 evenings in a row & sampled something different every day. We did not have a bad meal. Complements to the chef. Lovely decor & beautiful views from the restaurant windows. Please be aware if you arrive early the chef does not start service until 6 pm

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were staying in talsarnau week commencing 5th July. On Saturday night had take away from Ship Aground which was excellent. On Sunday had an enormous roast beef dinner followed by home made crumble, all very well presented. Staff very friendly and helpful. Because food was so good decided to eat there each evening, staff reserved us table 6 each time. For me so lovely not to have to cook whilst on holiday. As I said all staff very nice, the lady who looked after us most times was lovely unfortunately don't know here name she wore glasses and had been called in because they were so busy. We will definitely go in there again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Titch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charline R, Staff at Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our food and our company. The member of staff you are referring to is Meinir and we have passed on your compliments to her. We look forward to inviting you back again on another occassion. Diolch / Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“exceeded expectation by a mile!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

visited on a monday evening restaurant was almost full which i guess was a good omen on a monday.staff were very friendly as was the owner and his business partner ..the guys own the garage next door as well it seems.pub is well updated nice atmosphere clean tidy with modern toilets.restaurant is again well presented.food was really nice,welsh rarebit followed by chicken with fresh veg and a huge meatballs and pasta were spot on...wine was good value and pleasant.all in all a really good experience and much better than i had expected from a village pub.price is a bargain compared to the other eating places locally and the quality and service and presentation make this a place to try.had a nosy at other peoples meals all looked great and didnt see a plate go back other than empty!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stejancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Aground also viewed

 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Ship Aground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing