We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local food”
Review of Ship Aground

Ship Aground
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Talsarnau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in Snowdonia National Park, a family run business which offers heartily home cooked food. We pride ourselves on quality locally sourced produce and a homely atmosphere with views from the restaurant overlooking Snowdon.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The village pub has recently had a refurbishment of the restaurant which adds a completely new dimension to the pub. Staff are friendly and efficient and the food and choices good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent pub”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great food just down the road from an excellent campsite. Great for little children, and good beer. Not open earl enough during the week!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Excess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charline R, Staff at Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. A few people have mentioned that they would like to see us open earlier and we are currently trialing opening lunch time between 12pm and 3pm on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday's. Of course we are open all day from midday every Saturday and Sunday. Diolch / Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Dined here 2 evenings while staying locally. Was really good food. The service was excellent and decor clean and fresh. The bill was about fair for what we had.

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice pub food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

nice country pub on main road but with parking, very friendly locals. pleasant staff reasonable food if slightly over priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charline R, Staff at Ship Aground, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your review and for visiting The Ship Aground. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal but are a little surprised you thought we were over priced. We believe we are very competitively priced in comparrision to others in the area and all our meals are generous portions. Diolch / Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North wales
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely local”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great friendly local pub, with lots of character and charm. Can recommend the beef and red pepper curry.....fantastic

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ship Aground also viewed

 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Ship Aground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing