We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golden Fleece Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Needs Attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for I night on route to a birthday party in Abersoch , the bedroom, room No 5 was fine clean fresh modern although 2 larges armchairs made access to the wardrobe should you wish to use it very difficult, and the room a bit cluttered, a second bedside light would be a good addition should you both wish to read in bed.
The bathroom was very disappointing and certainly needs a refurbishment, the shower was very mouldy, the fan and strip light over the sink neither worked and the threshold between the bathroom and bedroom was cracked and had some nasty sharp edges.
Breakfast was ok although the pleasant lad serving could be a bit smarter dressed !
We did not eat in the bistro instead went to the restaurant next door which was very disaponting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodneyHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. First of all please let me apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced, I have been u and inspected the room since this review and alterations and maintenance have been carried out.
I will be carrying out uniform checks on staff in the coming weeks which will ensure they are looking sharp.
We hope if you choose to stay with us again you may try our menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    107
    56
    25
    14
See reviews for
63
174
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Last minute booking at The Golden Fleece hotel the birth place of Lawrence of Arabia. Nostalgic hotel. Food excellent staff friendly room fresh and clean. This location was only a mile away from the main town Porthdog

Room Tip: We try and get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for what is a very nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Finding good well cooked food at reasonable prices is not that easy in the Porthmadog area, but the Golden Fleece is one of them. They do good well cooked pub food and a little bit more. Also excellent pizzas. Eating in either the pub or the restaurant they are both excellent, the satff friendly and helpful and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley-anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for your comments all of which are positive so I'm unsure why you only scored us 3?
We hope to see you again and maybe I can ensure you have a 5 star experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high peak, england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Came across this place by accident, and we were presently surprised. A warm welcome from the young barman put us right at ease. We ate off the 3 course Sunday menu £15.95 fantastic value & portion size was huge. The vegetarian choice wasn't to my liking but on talking to the staff I was told that all food is freshly prepared and that the chef would be able to cook the dish without the mushrooms. Overall we were both presently surprised and will be returing next time we are back at greenacres.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank candyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thanks for all your positive comments. We look forwards to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Just Called in for a drink to find ale prices very high and barman wanted a £1.00 for the code to connect Wi-Fi. this is the first time I've ever been asked for a charge shame on you, certainly got the right name 'Fleece'. 99.99% of pubs give this as a free service. even top Hotels. 'PEENY PINCHERS'

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Gosh I think I know who the real penny pincher is, our wifi costs just £1 for 5hrs! hardly an exorbitant price.
Our wifi system is state of the art maintaining high levels of security for our customers and making sure we comply with all current legislation.
To many pubs just have a wireless router and give out their password to any one, this is both illegal and dangerous for the land lord if something goes wrong.
We have a selection of real ales and prices vary.
We are not the cheapest pub in the area and nor do we wish to be, however we feel we offer our customers a beautifully maintained building, quality produce and service. If it's not for you I do apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal after a day of mountain biking in the area. We stumbled upon the place accidently and were glad we did. We both enjoyed 2 courses each of the Sunday roast menu and weren't disappointed. Very impressed with the portion sizes and the quality of the locally sourced foods. We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thanks so much for your comments and I'm glad you enjoyed everything. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have been visiting this pub for many years and have been pleased with the quality of the food but the last couple of times the last being 25th may 2013 the food was very poor , it was no better than ordinary pub grub but at restaurant prices and the Fleece is not a restaurant. We will not visit again until we hear locally that things have improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your last experience at the fleece however had you have taken the opportunity to inform us of this at the time we could have had the chance to rectify the situation.
Giving bad reviews on tripadvisor does not change your experience however had you have informed us your experience and this review may have been totally different!

In terms of value for money I feel we offer quality local produce at affordable prices.
We are not the cheapest pub in town (nor would we want to be) but had you have read the menu I feel you would have better understood our prices as it does explain on the first page that we source the majority of our produce locally (much of it being organic) supporting our community in which we live thus supporting local economy and employment.
This is something we feel strongly about given that there is such high unemployment in the area.

If you do decide to return and you have any questions over ingredients or any thing else one of our servers will be pleased to assist you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Property: The Golden Fleece Inn
Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing