We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MAGICAL VILLAGE AND A GREAT PUB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Fleece Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Golden Fleece Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A MAGICAL VILLAGE AND A GREAT PUB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived in the Village to find Christmas in full swing, trees and lights all going up.
The pub was just the same roaring fire and all trimmed up.
Our room was great warm clean and with a huge bed.
Excellent food service for our evening meal, and a great breakfast in the morning.
We have had a lovely weekend thanks very much.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay in the next few weeks ask for a room away from the pub as the Christmas party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmofud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing us.
As I'm sure you guessed I do enjoy decorating the pub for christmas and in recent years I have been lucky enough to work with are neighbours at the restaurant and other locals to get funding together for decorating the village.
Further more we now have a Christmas fair which did this year for the 2nd year running. We are fortunate enough to have the backing of the locals and the council who allow us to close the square down to traffic and put on a lovely fair with gift stalls kids rides and much much more.
We also have a summer fair in September and these are great weekends to come and stay as the village really comes alive and quite special.
We hope to see you soon. This years summer fair is Saturday September the 13th and the Christmas Fair will be held on Saturday November the 29th.
Kind Regards
Stuart and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    104
    53
    25
    13
See reviews for
61
168
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

On arrival the small village of Tremadog looks lovey with its square and old stone buildings. We went into the Pub to book in and collect our room keys after being shown to the room that was the last we heard/ saw of any staff for the evening. The room itself was across the square in another building, 2 flights of stairs later we were at our room. The room itself was well decorated and looked clean and cosy accompanied by an en-suite bathroom. As we were trying to wind down after a long drive we decided to have a drink and watch tv for a while. This was short lived as the tv signal kept going on and off and the bass from the resident in the room above was so loud we soon gave up on the idea. We decided to venture into Portmadog for something to eat as the Fleece was packed out. On returning to the room around 10:30pm we both just wanted to go to sleep...However we were woken up several times by noise from other guests until 4.40am, this accompanied by a hard uncomfortable mattress left us less than refreshed the following morning. Due to this we chose not to stay for the £9.99 per head breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR1922013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Let me start by saying I am sorry that you left us feeling disappointed.
As we were unaware of any noise coming from the room above you we were obviously unable to request the residents in question to lower what ever "base" noise they were creating.
The Fleece is a popular food and drinking venue and we are consistently fully booked so if you wish to dine with us a reservation is always recommended.
The mattresses we provide guests with are top quality hand made British mattresses and I would possibly suggest that the firmness of a mattress is down to personal preference.
Again I can only apologise for residents waking you up and I can only reassure you that this is not a complaint I normally receive, If you had of made us swear of this we could have sent a member of staff to deal with the situation.
Breakfast is actually priced at £7.95 and I'm sorry you missed it. Had I have know of your misfortune I would have offered this free of charge along with some strong coffee to help you on the road home.
I do hope you will give us another try and return in the future, maybe I can get you that coffee!
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
271 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a great place to visit. I have reviewed lots of hotels and restaurants and this is a little gem.

I was visiting Portmeirion for a wedding and my parents stayed here. I ate in the Fleece restaurant with them on Friday night and joined them for breakfast on Sunday morning. The Inn was buzzing on Friday night. I loved the feel of the place - stone Walls, low ceilings but bags and bags of style. The lighting is cozy, music not too loud, staff were 'very' pleasant and our food arrived hot and quickly.

The menu was very good and this is a place that takes customer satisfaction very seriously. I asked for a salad that was lain because I didn't fancy any of the salads on the menu and the chef was so happy to accommodate my fussy request that he even popped out to ask if I would like to add some extra ingredients to jazz it up a bit!! Wow!! I ended up with my perfect salad, totally off piste and I will remember that because it really shows how much service and the customer really is at the heart of everything at the Fleece.

Just to show that this wasn't a one off I experienced the same warmth from hotel staff at breakfast. I wasn't booked into a room here but when I joined my parents for their breakfast on Sunday morning I was offered a coffee and made to feel very welcome.

The location of The Flee is great, very close to Portmeirion, the coast and woodland walks. There is a spa supermarket in walking distance and a number of lovely villages are close by to explore.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. We are glad that you and your parents enjoyed our hospitality.
Guests are always welcome to bring someone else along to breakfast, we are here to meet the guests requirements and I'd like to think we would accommodate most requests. We hope to welcome you back this year.
Kind regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

stopped in room 1 which was a double..in fact it was 2 single bed pushed together...room was clean and very well presented and lovely and warm...ensuite was clean although no plug for the sink...on arriving at the pub they had difficulty trying to give me an invoice and a copy of credit card receipt having run it through the system when booking..ate in the bar and food was lovely and also wifi was good in the room...main issue i had was that locals continued drinking in the bar downstairs till after 1.00am in the morning and then would come out to smoke directly under my bedroom and could be heard chatting..yes i know it is a pub which does b+b but some people would like to sleep

Room Tip: a room away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for your review. Room 1 in the Fleece can be configured as a twin or a double, the bed is known as a zip lock, it zips up turning the 2 mattresses into one. Zip lock beds are very standard in hotels and I do hope you found the bed comfy.
I'm sorry you were kept awake by the customers in the pub,we are not a raucous venue so I take it your a light sleeper therefore if you do decide to return I would suggest you request one of our madoc rooms which are located away from the pub itself.
I'm not sure what happened with the invoice at this point as I'm replying to this weeks later however I shall make sure that I run through the system again with all staff.
The plug has since been replaced.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Not a bad pub, not bad food,
Ok if you want a pint and ok if you want to eat
Been several times and don't have a bad word to say really. But never excited or leave feeling totally satisfied. Tremadog Tuesdays with the music, good fun old folk music,
Would recommend
Would go again
But not for a special occasion

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for reviewing us. We are about to launch our spring menu so hopeful there will be some thing to excite you on that.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We popped in here for lunch, the last time I was here was about 25 years ago. I loved it. Rustic, charming, great cave-like area behind bar and the chap serving was helpful and charming. We had a fab burger and a bacon and Brie sandwich - both delicious. If you are looking cheap pub meal, this isn't it, but we thought it was excellent for the price and will definitely go back if in area.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you returned to us after 25 years! And I'm glad you enjoyed the meals.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind Regards
Stuart and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a fantastic evening, great service, great food and a friendly atmosphere! Loved the vaulted bar leading to a modern bistro.
We have found really good food hard to find in this area. I would recommend the food to anyone!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balmydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 7 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plas Tan-Yr-Allt
Plas Tan-Yr-Allt
#1 of 5 in Tremadog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Property: The Golden Fleece Inn
Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing