We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lamb Madras in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Golden Fleece Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Lamb Madras in Wales”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was recently staying near by, and stumbled across this beautiful, characteristic inn. Having seen that they had a variety of meal in the day to evening, I was eager to try. The curry of the day was Lamb Madras, and boy was it the best I have tasted in wales. I went back the following day to have the Curry of the Day again, which was the madras and did not fail to meet my saudi arabian taste buds. A beautiful delight place and great staff. My compliments to the chef.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liamnashir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for the Great review!
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    112
    56
    26
    14
See reviews for
66
178
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just return from a 3 day stay at the Golden Fleece hotel in Tremadog North Wales...
I would just like to thank Stuart and his team for a wonderful stay; nothing was too much trouble for them. Steven went out of his way to find detail on days out we had wanted to do and printed copies of the details.

Our room No2 in the main pub build was very clean with everything you would require for your stay,Tea, Coffee, Chocolate, Bottle water, Biscuits. No faults in the room what so ever, everything in good working order.
Breakfast is a must have, good home cooking or continental, it’s up to you, it is first class.

We had evening meal each night, lots of home cooking. The Sunday Roast is just fab.
Tuesday evening you are entertained from 9 o’clock with local acoustic musicians round the open fire, with a pint of real ale. What more would you want, thank you all very much, we will be come back up to the Golden Fleece if not in the summer it will be next spring...
Mike & Janette Tarr

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we look forwards to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a great weekend away here. Tremadog is tiny (2 pubs, a chippy, a cafe and and a spar all within a 1 minute walk of each other across a square). But its a perfect base for exploring Port Meirion and Snowdonia.

We stayed over the road from the pub in the converted Madoc (ask for this if its available). The rooms were compact but cute with modern decoration, nice furniture and whopping TV on the wall.

Make sure you eat (and drink) in the pub, the food is good (garlic mushrooms a must). The staff were friendly and also helpful with regards to tourism choices. The building itself has real character.

Only (small) points for improvement was that the continental breakfast was a bit bland. Perhaps a few bowls of dried fruit, some cheese and ham would make the difference and not break the bank. Also - maybe change the air fresher in the rooms, the current one can be misconstrued for something else.

But overall - loved it and cant wait to come back again.

Room Tip: Aim for the Madoc rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingovertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for a lovely review!
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned to reality after a two night stay at The Golden Fleece. The location of the pub is ideal for exploring North Wales with Portmeirion being about 5 minutes away and Snowdon about 40 minutes drive. Had the weather been a bit kinder to us I'm sure Porthmadog (about 2 minute drive) would be lovely to look around too.
We were staying in the Royal Madoc building and found our room clean, warm and very PEACEFUL. The bed was very comfortable - we're missing it. The decor is modern and simple - very fresh.
Both evenings we dined at The Golden Fleece as it really is a delightful pub. Roaring log fires, comfortable and snug seating areas and popular with locals. Both nights our meals were lovely with good portions so unfortunately we didn't get to sample the puddings. The Specials menu was tweaked each evening so there was plenty of variety. We chose the recommended Malbec wine and we're not disappointed - thank you Stuart. My husband enjoyed the real ales. If there was an 'ideal model' for country pubs to replicate then The Golden Fleece has pretty much nailed it.
Breakfast was also a treat. Cooked breakfast (meaty or vegetarian), kippers with parsley bitter and lemon, porridge, fresh croissants and a breakfast buffet all on offer. As much as I wanted the kippers on our second morning the cooked breakfast had been SO lovely that I had that again!
Everything, right down to the napkins, is of a high quality standard. They are not scrimping here. Stuart, and all other staff we met, was friendly, warm and attentive. It was an ideal weekend retreat for us. My only (girlie) suggestion would be that I'd like a full length mirror in the bedroom.
We would most definitely return and whole-heartedly recommend to friends and family. Delightful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007tortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
A fabulous review. Thank you so much.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Probably what you would expect of a country hotel. The pub was full of character, with many interesting real ales. We dined there on the Friday evening. The food was excellent and service attentive and brisk.

We stayed in the Annex, the older Royal Madoc building, parking in the Square, which our room overlooked. Some of the furnishings in the room were strange: black lampshades and furniture. The double room was adequate and probably what we would expect of a country hotel. There was a bit of noise from adjacent rooms and the road/square at the front.

The building is very interesting, as is the pub itself.

Breakfast in the morning had some excellent food, but service was erratic and we sat there waiting 25 mins for tea, until we reminded staff. Porridge, kippers with (unexpected) scrambled eggs all came together, a shame, because quality of the food was high. Despite the terrible service, no bowls, glasses for fruit juice etc., staff were very nice and in the end this did not spoil our stay.

We would return and enjoyed the visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I booked this hotel for four of us to stay for three nights in February. We arrived on a Sunday to a warm and busy Inn where we were quickly checked in and shown to our rooms in the old Royal Madoc Hotel which were wonderful. They were very clean and best of all,very quiet.

The food and drink in the Inn were amazing, the bar staff recommended a couple of different bottles of wine which for the price were truly wonderful. We had the Sunday roast, Barolo burger, Lamb Shank to name a few and every dish was wonderful. Breakfast was a choice of continental or cooked for a small supplement.

There was plenty of car parking outside in the old square and it was nice to see that it was popular amongst the locals, always a good sign!!

We had an amazing time exploring North West Wales from this very delightful Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Royal Madoc are apparently nicer and the ones at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks very much for a lovely review. Just to clarify for our tripadvisor readers you booked a special winter deal including continental breakfast. Our standard rates always include a Full breakfast.
Our best rates are always available by booking direct.
Im glad you enjoyed the wines I suggested including my favourite the Malbec!
As you mention rooms in the madoc are newer having been renovated in the last few months however there are rooms in the fleece being renewed this season, we are continually modernising and improving our standards.
Hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I booked this for myself and 5 friends for a walking weekend. Having used the neighbouring Royal Madoc hotel a few times before it closed we were intrigued that some of the Fleece's rooms are actually in the old Royal Madoc building. These have been refitted to a high standard, indeed all the rooms were well equipped and very comfortable. The food was very good and plentiful, the service was excellent. The beer was great too and there was a nice atmosphere in the bar which was quite busy for a wet weekend in February. Hopefully we have found a new favourite for our annual North Wales walking weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athealstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks For your review!
It was great to chat to all of you and hear your feed back on the renovation we have done to the Madoc building.
I'm glad you enjoyed your satay and our food,
We would be honoured to be the accommodation for your annual North Wales walking weekend. We hope that we can accommodate you again.
Kind regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
372 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Property: The Golden Fleece Inn
Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing