We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Fleece Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Golden Fleece Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Spend two nights here with friends, and had a very pleasant stay. I understand renovation is ongoing, so maybe we were luckier than some, but we had no problems with our room (over the pub) and the breakfasts and the one dinner we had there were absolutely fine. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back, away from the main square would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBi220653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are as you say undergoing renovations, the room you stayed in was one of the older ones, so I'm pleased you liked it.
We look forwards to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    104
    54
    25
    13
See reviews for
61
169
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

unfortunately the pictures on the web page are not a true reflection of the Golden Fleece, it's very dowdy, but in fairness they look as if they are renovating this place ,We were put in accommodation across the road, very scruffy entrance, the room was clean but had a fusty smell to it ,the bathroom needed renovating and little touches were missing IE fresh towels, and some where to hang them would be nice. Wouldn't stay there again .Thank goodness it was a Booking .Com deal or I would have been annoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 371Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
First of all let me start saying how disappointed I am by your review!
You arrived with what one can only describe as a negative attitude. The web pictures are a true reflection of our rooms and the rooms displayed on the website you booked through.
The issue you had and openly ranted about was that you didn't like the decor even though the room was newly opened this year!
I do believe you also made a ridiculous comment stating that the mattress wasn't even a mattress.
Yes we are renovating the place and you know this only too well as your friends were given a bedroom which had a beautiful brand new bathroom which had been completed only 2 days prior to your arrival and that didn't even seem to impress!
You were not happy with your room and I offered to refund you all of your money and even offered to assist you in finding other accommodation, you chose to stay here as you didn't want to pay any more money and there was nothing else in the area of the same standard for a similar price!
You paid £65 per night for a standard double and If i'm honest I believe you were hoping we would upgrade you to a executive.
You complain of not receiving fresh towels however you didn't put them in the bath as indicated by our sign in the bathroom and also reiterated in our guest information book in your bedroom. I do believe this procedure is normal in most hotels.
Once you asked for fresh towels they were delivered to your room within minuets, something else you neglect to mention!
You could have tried hanging the towels on the towel rail?
And how nieve of you to state:
"it was a booking .com deal or I would have been annoyed"
Had you have done your home work you would have realised breakfast would have been included in the price paid if you booked direct with us and you wouldn't have paid a penny more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pettswood
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Food....taste less, served on a plate that was slanted....hard to eat a lasagne like that, the place was grubby, and breakfast was like a greasy spoon...but worse.
And the bedroom was a joke,

Will not be staying again....

Room Tip: Do not upgrade !!! Room was tacky and dirty !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Well I hardly know how to reply! You lasagne was served in a bowl which had a slanted rim, it wasn't a plate as you romanticise.
I totally refute your claim that the place is dirty and even in other negative reviews you will find that people state the rooms are clean!
You never made a complaint whilst here, we cant even find a booking in the last month in your name and none of the staff recognise your picture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A traditional inn with a contemporary twist! The owner's attention to detail is evident through the décor of the rooms(we had the Audrey Hepburn room), we stayed above the Golden Fleece and the room well exceeded our expectations as did the menu and service offered in the restaurant. Fabulous food that set a high standard of expectation for other restaurants in the area. After searching the local area we could not find anything that met the choice and standard offered by the Golden Fleece. As one of the other reviewers had already said we waited a little while for our food but it was well worth it. The food is locally sourced and freshly cooked to order and presented well. I can recommend the Shank of Welsh Lamb - delicious !
All of the staff are warm and friendly and they offer a high level of customer service. I certainly plan to return to the Golden Fleece again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 288Jacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forwards to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Could only book one night but had to leave without breakfast because of my wife's ill health.The room was beautiful and clean.An ideal place to stay.Only downside was the manager's maths.
Cost was £64.99.I gave him £70 and got 5p change.Ah well I thought just get on with it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elbac1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the maths perhaps we can get you a drink next time. I do hope your wife's health has improved.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

As one of the other reviewers wrote, this is perfect for wandering tourists who want to indulge in some fabulous Welsh food. Our group enjoyed the 3 course Sunday roast and it was simply delicious! The wait staff was kind and courteous and the ambiance was quiet, but very "Welsh".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review I'm glad you enjoyed our tasty Sunday roasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumee, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband, myself and my sister stayed here on May 18. People were very friendly and kind. We did have to wait a bit for our food but it was well worth the wait! We traveled all over the UK on our 11 day trip and the food here was by far the best and we had eaten, and we ate at some very nice restaurants! Our rooms were nicely updated and clean. We did not stay for breakfast but they were kind enough to give us free coffee to go so that we could get on the road for our long drive to Edinburgh. The waitress and bartender were both very kind with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#1 of 12 in Porthmadog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Property: The Golden Fleece Inn
Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing