We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but rather expensive for a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Golden Fleece Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Tremadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient location but rather expensive for a B&B”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Warm welcome and shown to a nice (premier) room overlooking the wide street. However, be aware that the street lighting is on all night, the smokers sit under the window with their cigarettes and the bus stops there too.
The staff seemed to be more interested in dealing with computer and staffing issues than with the guests. For the 2 nights we stayed there was no TV signal and were given 3 different reasons for this but no solution or apology. We gathered that there were 5 managers - maybe too many chiefs and not enough indians!
We didn't eat there either night because it was expensive for eloquently described pub food. The pub opposite was reasonably priced pub-grub.The restaurant next door was very nice and worth paying for.
Our booking was through Late Rooms so breakfast was extra. It was £8.95 set price per person and certainly not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Equibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
I'm Glad you liked your Deluxe room. However I'm puzzled to how on earth you though the bus stop was outside your window?
The bus stop is actually located 2 doors down and around the corner from us outside the Restaurant that you ate in, not quite outside your window really was it?

I do realise that you probably had your windows open as it was a hot week while you stayed and therefore you smelt smokers outside however we have now opened a beer garden to the rear of the premises and hopefully this will remedy the situation to a satisfactory level.

I'm very sorry you thought the managers were more interested in the computer than the guests, that was not the case, we were in fact having training on a new hotel management software which had been installed which is why there were so many of us in at the same time.
We had one manger on hand for guests and the others were receiving training form the software company.
We have 4 duty managers and my self who run the business, that is because believe it or not we are open for around 19hrs a day so that's 133hrs a week.
As we aim to always have a manager on hand for guests we divide the hours between 2 full time duty managers and 2 part timers whilst I take care of administration, not that it should be any concern of yours how many duty managers I employ but there's an explanation for you.

I'm surprised you kept asking the bar staff about your TV and not one of the "chiefs" since you noticed there were so many of us around.
Had you have asked one of us we would have actually been able to tell you that we were awaiting for a part to be delivered.
And again had you have spoken to a manager they would have been able to address the situation by compensating you for your inconvenience or even moving you into the other building which was unaffected.
Quite frankly I don't feel that one should ever comment on food they have never tried, the Idea of critiquing food you haven't even eaten is ridiculous and for the record I don't think "eloquently described pub food" is what one would call the food that our head chef John Charnley creates.
Try searching his name you may find out where he trained, and some of the prestigious places he worked as a head chef, oh and then you may see to what level of rosette he's cooked to!
John has only just joined our team in the last month and has implemented a daily menu which is ever changing. We are very pleased to have him on board and look forwards to him further enhancing the business for our guests.

Just for the record breakfast is £7.95 and for that price you can help your self to as much cereal, pastry's, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee or juice as you want followed a range of cooked breakfasts.
Had you have booked direct it would have all been included in the price which would have been the same as what you paid through your agent.
Perhaps I could suggest you base your next review on facts opposed to flippant comments based on mistruths, or preconceptions you may have, remember your actually commenting about real persons business and what you say can be damaging to their business for months or even years.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    114
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
71
186
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here as a great location to climb Snowdon the following day. It is around 20 minutes from the ranger path route up the mountain.

The room was quirky (room 1), although it was very hot as no air conditioning. As this room was facing the road there was some noise with the window open till around 11.30pm. room had all the typical amenities but a small bathroom with NO bath but just a small shower that worked ok.

The room could have done with an upgrade if I'm being brutally honest. The bed was set up as twins as i was with a mate and were on the small side.

The food was good but a little overpriced for the quality. The cheese board was very nice but needed a much better chutney to complete the board.

The staff were friendly and swift. They could have done with an extra member of staff at breakfast as this was only served for an hour between 8.30-9.30 so there was a rush on.

Wifi was free and worked ok, however you had to keep logging back into the wifi when my iPad screen locked - very annoying.

over all this was a nice stay and did the job, although i don't think i could do more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
As we are located in listed buildings we are currently unable to install air conditioning, and to be fair I think it is some thing you would perhaps expect in a hotel that you were paying a lot more money for opposed to a B&B. That being said I do appreciate you stayed on a week where we had higher temperatures than that in the Bahamas and I also felt the need for air conditioning in my life!
The beds in your room were 2 standard size single beds as you booked a twin room, I think given that you were extremely tall you may have benefited from booking a king size room each as king size beds are obviously longer and better suited to some one of your height.
I have taken you comments about our food and feed them back to the kitchen, the price we charge are reflected in the ingredients we use and if you didn't feel this than I can only apologise.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again!.
Remember the best rate is always available by booking direct, and its the only rate to include breakfast!
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A last minute two-night break to re-charge batteries in Wales resulted in us finding a very friendly pub/inn as a base to look around the area. The staff were lovely - very friendly,nothing too much trouble and our bedroom was spacious, clean and newly refurbished with attention to detail. We chose to eat in the restaurant on the Tuesday evening and we were delighted to discover there was live music - a jamming session of acoustic musicians plus a couple of young chaps who were visiting the Inn who had brought their guitars. Our evening meals were superb - especially the fried Butterfly Breaded King Prawns with BBQ sauce, mixed salad and fries. We sent our compliments to the chef asking how the prawns had been dusted - but it was a secret recipe. BUT, the secret is definitely the Chef's background and where he/she has worked over the years! We'll definitely return in the future and enjoy the newly refurbished beer garden to enjoy more Welsh real ales.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alidina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us!
I'm glad you enjoyed everything we had to offer you as guests, our aim is that everyone enjoys their stay as you did and its always great to hear back from guests.
You'll be pleased to hear our beer garden is now open and is shaping up nicely with just a few finishing touches to add.
Don't forget to book direct for our best rate including breakfast!
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our stay in the golden fleece was disappointing, the cleanliness wasn't great in the room and bathroom, only curtains on window but as the street lighting is very bright it seemed like daytime even at 2am. The food isn't great and over priced, under staffed at breakfast time, the 2nd morning we left the restaurant with no breakfast as even after 10mins we didn't even have coffee
We will not be back!

Room Tip: Website looks better than actual place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. As I understand it you were on a tight schedule and even though you requested a early breakfast you turned up late hence you weren't able to eat because you were late!
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel itself is charming and the rooms were very spacious, very clean and with all the amenities you'd need all in a picturesque setting. I'd definitely recommend staying here and would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for a lovely little review, I do hope if your planning another visit to Wales you will chose to stay with us again.
Remember the best rate is always obtained by booking direct and its the only rate that includes breakfast.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I should start by saying that the best thing about this place are the staff, from the bar staff through the restaurant staff to the breakfast staff, they were all superb. Never 'in your face' attentive but always available if required and nothing too much trouble.
We stayed in the Madoc across the way from the main building, rooms newly refurbed and very comfy - they are in the process of doing the communal areas and when this is complete it will be superb.
The bar had some excellent Welsh real ales (the Felinfoel is wonderful) with a good atmosphere, enhanced by dried hops hanging from the ceiling and the food in the restaurant was very good. The waiter was extremely helpful and happy to advise if asked and the advice was good. My wife was undecided between new potatoes or chips to go with her meal but eventually opted for new potatoes - when the meal arrived a few chips had also been included, a nice touch.
We will definitely be returning and when the refurb is fully completed it will certainly score an excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.
Remember to book direct for the best rate also the only rate to include breakfast!
Kind regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soke on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A very clean, traditional pub. An excellent well stocked bar and a relaxing atmosphere with ambient decor.very friendly and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them when ordering your meal. My wife asked on a few occasions if they could prepare her a fish that wasn't on the menu and they obliged. An excellent varied choice of food and the quality was outstanding, everything is freshly prepared, well worth a visit, we will be going back, I highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed meals, our skilled chefs are always happy to adapt our menu offering for any of our customers as long as we have the ingredients in we will do our best to meet any request.
We look forwards to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremadog
0.8 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
291 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece Inn

Property: The Golden Fleece Inn
Address: 8 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog > Tremadog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tremadog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic market square of Tremadog (The Birth Place Of Lawrence Of Arabia) The Golden Fleece Inn is a truly traditional and quite unique family run Welsh Coaching Inn with a modern outlook on service and standards. Aside from our outstanding Real Ales, extensive wine list and fresh locally sourced food, we also encompass a Bistro for private dining and hotel quality B&B. You will find us recommended in many North Wales & Showdownia guides including The Good Pub guide, The Lonely Planet, CAMRA Northern Ireland, Our Tuesday night live folk jamming sessions have always been popular and are a great mid week entertainer. Our Jam session has been running for over 2 decades now and is listed We have also featured heavily in the press with wonderful recommendations and articles from newspapers such as The Guardian, Our intimate bar provides the perfect location for a romantic, drink or a quick catchup with friends over a real ale, a glass of wine or even one of our Welsh spirits including Five vodka, Brecon Gin and Penderyn whiskys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Golden Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Tremadog
The Golden Fleece Inn Tremadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing