We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recomended”
Review of Y Sgwar

Y Sgwar
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Tremadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open seven nights a weeks offering Early Bird menu, excellent value at £20 for three courses. Children are welcome and children's menu is available Fantastic Traditional Sunday Roast every Sunday with a choice of Roast Beef and Roast Lamb. Fish and vegetarian options also. 1 Course £12.50 2 Courses x £16.50 And 3 courses £21.00 Lunches served on Wednesday through to Sunday, snacks and meals offered. Dietary request are no problem to us!
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A really fantastic restaurant. Top class food and service. We will definitely be going back there to eat next time we are in Wales. I have already recommended it to all my family in the area

1  Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Many thanks for your high recommendations!

regards
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Y Sgwar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 377 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had never been to this restaurant before so didn't know what to expect,
We decided to go early between six and seven for a set menu called the early bird with a choice of either a two course or three course meal.
How pleasantly surprised we were when our meal arrived, my husband had a starter and main course I had a main and a pudding.We both had the steak and ale pie (Home cooked) with piping hot fresh vegetables and home made chips both in separate containers.
The staff were very friendly and attentive & the young water had a cheeky sense of humour which made us feel very welcome and at ease.
This is a place we will definitely go to again when visiting my family who live in the surrounding area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a very tasty lunch, mussels were very good.
Calamari batter a bit heavy weight.
Bread and butter pudd a bit stodgy. Otherwise good.
The waiter, a well known face in the Portmadoc area! was great.
Will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MerchGogleddCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

After a dissapointing evening the night before where we were golden fleeced, we had an amazing meal at Y Sgwar. Clearly a lot of effort has gone into ensuring a fantastic dining experience is had by all, everything from the wine, the service, the atmosphere, and the food was all brilliantly presented. You will pay a bit more, but rest assured that it's worth every penny. We each had a different main course and everyone was delighted with their choice. Would definitely go back if I was in the area.

1  Thank satis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

thank you very much for your positive comments. we look forward to your return

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend were looking for somewhere to eat on our first night on holiday and glad we found this place. The food was very tasty and the service attentive. It is quite pricey, but what you'd expect given the quality. Will definitely come back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suziefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our restaurant and enjoyed a meal with us. Maybe you can return before you go home?! If you do, please give us a call and we can book you a window table!
Best regards,

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Sgwar also viewed

Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Y Sgwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing