We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAAAAZING”
Review of Y Sgwar

Y Sgwar
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Tremadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open seven nights a weeks offering Early Bird menu, excellent value at £20 for three courses. Children are welcome and children's menu is available Fantastic Traditional Sunday Roast every Sunday with a choice of Roast Beef and Roast Lamb. Fish and vegetarian options also. 1 Course £12.50 2 Courses x £16.50 And 3 courses £21.00 Lunches served on Wednesday through to Sunday, snacks and meals offered. Dietary request are no problem to us!
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAAAAZING”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Im local to Tremadog, have lived here 30 years and have ate in every restaurant in a 10 mile radius 10 times over. I have never written a review before but felt I had to this evening. We came in at 7 o'clock as a table of 8 plus a high chair, we had our starters within 10 mins of ordering and our mains 10 mins after clearing our starters! AMAZING food and AMAZING service by lorraine, iolo, sammie, olivia and annie, all full of smiles and nothing too much for them. Im sooooo coming back! Thanks lorraine and dave, love mair, kayley victoria and co. Keep up the good work xx

Helpful?
1 Thank trozzer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
thanks so much for the review guys! means a lot coming from local people that know there stuff....oh...can I just mention, if you can be less demanding next time, that would be great!! :)

Lorraine and co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    64
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recomended”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A really fantastic restaurant. Top class food and service. We will definitely be going back there to eat next time we are in Wales. I have already recommended it to all my family in the area

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Many thanks for your high recommendations!

regards
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS CUISINE”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had never been to this restaurant before so didn't know what to expect,
We decided to go early between six and seven for a set menu called the early bird with a choice of either a two course or three course meal.
How pleasantly surprised we were when our meal arrived, my husband had a starter and main course I had a main and a pudding.We both had the steak and ale pie (Home cooked) with piping hot fresh vegetables and home made chips both in separate containers.
The staff were very friendly and attentive & the young water had a cheeky sense of humour which made us feel very welcome and at ease.
This is a place we will definitely go to again when visiting my family who live in the surrounding area

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had a very tasty lunch, mussels were very good.
Calamari batter a bit heavy weight.
Bread and butter pudd a bit stodgy. Otherwise good.
The waiter, a well known face in the Portmadoc area! was great.
Will be back

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MerchGogleddCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening ”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

After a dissapointing evening the night before where we were golden fleeced, we had an amazing meal at Y Sgwar. Clearly a lot of effort has gone into ensuring a fantastic dining experience is had by all, everything from the wine, the service, the atmosphere, and the food was all brilliantly presented. You will pay a bit more, but rest assured that it's worth every penny. We each had a different main course and everyone was delighted with their choice. Would definitely go back if I was in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank satis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
thank you very much for your positive comments. we look forward to your return

Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Sgwar also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Y Sgwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing