We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Y Sgwar

Y Sgwar
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Tremadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open seven nights a weeks offering Early Bird menu, excellent value at £20 for three courses. Children are welcome and children's menu is available Fantastic Traditional Sunday Roast every Sunday with a choice of Roast Beef and Roast Lamb. Fish and vegetarian options also. 1 Course £12.50 2 Courses x £16.50 And 3 courses £21.00 Lunches served on Wednesday through to Sunday, snacks and meals offered. Dietary request are no problem to us!
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fantastic night at this restaurant after spending the week on holiday in Porthmadog - wish we had found it sooner! Staff are so friendly and attentive, nothing is too much trouble. I had scallops to start followed by the pork and I can honestly say it was the best meal I've had in a long time. Make sure you book as it was busy, even for a Thursday night but that shows how good it is. Well worth the taxi drive out of town and we will definitely be back next year. Thanks!

Thank Carol19532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

thank you so much for your excellent review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal with us tonight...the scallops and the pork are two of our favourites!
we look forward to welcoming you again soon,
best regards
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 385 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I don't know what went wrong with our visit here. I chose the Thai fishcake starter, they looked like very overcooked scotch eggs,The fish inside was a bland mush and no spice. The only thing Thai might have been the dipping sauce, the side salad on the plate was turning brown. Son had duck breast which was grey and over cooked, came with bak choi and guessing a plumb sauce,I have to question the pallette of a chef that put's plum sauce with minted new potatoes and broccoli? but the main issue was the duck overcooked. The waitress took it back then came back and told us the chef said WE should have asked for it pink, we were never asked HOW we wanted it cooked and besides doesn't every chef know duck should be cooked pink? I went outside to smoke & to cool down, i was SO ANGRY at being blamed for this but this was compounded by the waitress shutting the door on me (I'm disabled and use a cane). When i came back my son's new piece of duck came STILL between pink and well done but as it had a little pink in it we just wanted to eat and leave so for 1 pot of tea, 1 glass of wine, 1 lasagne, 1 duck and 1 starter came to £48. I live in a holiday area and would never find such awful food and service down here at such inflated prices. Do yourself a favour, find a local Macdonalds if you can or even a chippy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
9  Thank Babsmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Oh My goodness, you have some cheek. First you are rude enough to ask if you can smoke in the restaurant and then your rudeness continues. To be honest, I don't even want make comment on your rubbish critique of our lovely food and lovely restaurant.
How embarrassing for us that other customers were commenting about how rude you were and saying to our waitress 'how do you put up with people like that?'
When you did go our for your fag to 'calm down' , not caring two hoots that your smoke was wafting through the restaurant, I think you should count yourself lucky that the door wasn't slammed in your face, because believe me, that's what we wanted to do....Yes, do the industry a favor, stay away from decent quality restaurants and stick to Mac D's, much more suitable for people like you.
with utter disgust
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose the Square to celebrate our wedding anniversary with some friends of ours. We were made to feel most welcome, given very attentive service and the food was outstanding. Yes, the prices are slightly higher than other establishments in the area, but the rest are just pubs and we had previously paid inflated prices in 'the Fleece' next door for very 'basic' food.......
In short, the Square is exceptional value for money and perfect for that special occasion.The menu choices are varied and interesting, and the atmosphere and interior design are warm and welcoming.
Thanks for a lovely evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MikePullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

thank you so much for you kind words and lovely review. we are really pleased you enjoyed your anniversary and chose to celebrate it with us!
kind regards

Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were staying in Porthmadoc and had found nowhere really special. Three local residents recommended this great little restaurant.
We had made a reservation and I would recommend you do the same. They offer an early bird menu and so it was quite busy when we arrived just after seven. The service was attentive without being overbearing and the waiter obviously knew his role. prepared to recommend and equally supportive of our choices. King Scallops delicious, as was the Welsh rack of lamb.
The wine list was not extensive but attractively priced. The Malbec was exceptional value!
Would recommend this to anyone. Not Michelin certainly but well presented food exceptional value and therefore great value for money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

thank you for taking time to review us and highlighting several points in a positive manner. we are very happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.
kind regards
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been before to the The Square Restaurant ,the service was as good as before ,the food is Excellent ,and would recommend to anybody what is visiting in that area Tremadog Gwynedd .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

it was our pleasure to serve you again and lovely to see you both, thank you
until next time
Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Sgwar also viewed

Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Y Sgwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing