We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”
Review of The Union Inn

The Union Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Tremadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Union Inn is a friendly village pub dating back to the 19th Century. It is situated in the picturesque and historic village of Tremadog, gateway to the Snowdonia National Park and the Llyn Peninsula. We are a freehold, family run pub, focussing on excellent food and drink and professional service in a friendly environment. We welcome families in both the bar and restaurant.As a traditional village pub, we always welcome those who come to drink a pint of locally brewed ale in front of a roaring fire or to enjoy the garden on a summer's evening. Alternatively our restaurant will more than reward those seeking a more formal dining experience.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Home”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I am a local, and can definitely say that I would recommend this pub to anyone who asked me where they should eat! The food is delicious, i can honestly say I've never had a bad meal there... And I've eaten my fair share of meals there. Friendly and warm atmosphere. Beer garden in the back is a nice place to eat in the summer as well. You get exactly what you pay for in my opinion.

Helpful?
Thank SmallSocial2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    71
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Locals keep on talking of the "union burger"”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

As a local, I have heard several friends mention the quality of the food at the union, so we decided to try it out and was not disappointed by far we had the union burger which are produced from welsh beef. It's quite a plateful to say the least! Very filling and tasty. It was followed by a sticky toffee pudding which waste
huge...1 portion was enough for 2 and was to die for. Will def be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HILLHOPPER46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made our New Years Eve”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were staying at our flat in Porthmadog over the new year holiday but had not booked anywhere to eat on New Years Eve. After phoning around without any success we tried the Union in Tremadog. We were in luck. We could get an early table there. We were given a warm welcome and a lovely table in the restaurant. Even though they were busy the landlady took some time out to chat to us. The staff were all very friendly and efficient but the star of the evening without doubt was the food. Very reasonably priced (not over inflated for the evening like some others). The chef if a real master in the kitchen. His sauces were fantastic and everything else was beautifully prepared. We would certainly recommend it to anybody wanting a good meal in the area. It certainly made our New Year's Eve. Very well done.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a lovely pub, only popped in for a couple of pints in the afternoon and what a nice experience it was. Landlady was chatty and welcoming to us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Number 2 rating?”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this place as it was rated 2nd in the area and near our hotel. My husband didn't mind his meal, a bit well done but good. Mine was dreadful! I ordered the burger, it was not worth the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K4T3R1N4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Union Inn also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing