We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely looking pub, service appallingly slow”
Review of The Golden Fleece

The Golden Fleece
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Tremadog
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional coaching inn offering B&B accomodation, free WIFI, Beer garden and all day food: breakfasts, lunches and evening meals.
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Currently sat in the Golden Fleece unhappy with service. Arrived at 1.30 and was 15 minutes before anyone came to table despite say with a screaming child who clearly needed a high chair. Had to ask for drinks and then for food order to be taken. Have now been waiting for 45 for our food, children have had to be given a biscuit each as they are starving a screaming - how long does a sandwich take? Staff have ignored us for the most part. The food may be nice when it arrives but the time taken for it to come and the service has ruined it for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lisahod3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Food was good, although the service was very poor. Its a shame that the restaurant was let down by a waiter who didn't seem interested.

1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We had been experiencing some staffing issues which we had now addressed. Please accept our apologies and do give us another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had walked up and then back down Snowdon so we were VERY hungry. Hubby had oriental infused cod and our daughter and I had the chicken on spring onion mash with blue cheese sauce. Very tasty and good sized portions, we couldn't manage pudding. Would recommend this pub/reastaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmgWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for you review we do hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Stuart and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a lovely old pub in the centre of Tremadog. Had an evening meal here. Friday night and very busy, but had a nice table in the old pub section. Good selection of food, good kids menu, all home cooked to order, no significant wait and very nice. Good real ale (it's a Cask Marque pub) and a lovely atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for a great review, we look forwards to seeing you here again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

went here twice this week for dinner with my husband and 3children while on a weeks holiday in greenacres caravan park. this is the place to come for great homecooked fresh delious food no complaints atall :) food great, staff extremly friendly, spotless and made us very welcome if u r in north wales come here nicest food, def worth a visit!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mrsanniehillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldenfleece1980, Manager at The Golden Fleece, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for your fabulous review! We look forwards to seeing you here again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Fleece also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing