We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 4 Amlwch B&B and Inns
lancashire,england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great B & B for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here with my partner, daughter and grandson. We were given a family room which was great for us and better value than two adjoining rooms. We had a lovely big bathroom to share, sitting area, tea,coffee, biscuits, and even wine glasses, bottle opener and mini fridge. Great for when the little one had gone to bed. There was a view of the sea from the main room and we saw a beautiful sunset one night.

Owners are available and friendly but not obtrusive.

Breakfast was well cooked with a good choice, we were sat in the conservatory part, good idea so we had our own area and our toddler didn't disturb the other guests. ( he is very well behaved actually, but some people may not appreciate being next to small children.)
Been to Anglesey many times, stayed a few places, but would have no hesitation in recommending Rhianfa.

Room Tip: Room 6 at the top of the house great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is the 4th time we have stayed and once again it was exellent. It's lovely quiet location, with the bay 5 mins walk away where we regularly see dolphins and the occasional seal. The breakfast is to die for and having fresh milk in the room for tea making is wonderfull. We'll see you again next year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDR35H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here with a group walking the Anglesey coast path and found the owner to be very helpful in finding out bus times and booking a restaurant for us. Our room was large and well-equipped and a friend had the adjoining child`s bedroom which worked well as it was cheaper than a single room would have been. However, the bathroom was very small and I note that prices have increased by £10 per room since we booked last year and I would suggest that this is too much.
Breakfast was nicely served although the "fresh" fruit was not very satisfactory and I suspect the strawberries had been frozen. The cooked breakfast was very good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our Family which includes three children had a lovely 3 day break here whilst visiting family on the island. What a treat to find a B & B with a lovely family room that can cater for 2 Adults and 3 children (in their own room). without breaking the bank.
A Warm welcome, plenty of parking, the room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The house has lovely character with also offering modern and high quality furniture and fittings and it is all very nicely done.To top it all the breakfast was delicious......

We hope to visit again and would recommend Rhianfa to anyone

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wearelovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

At first view it is a lovely property in a beautiful location set in ample well kept grounds. As soon as you enter however, are the first signs of the tiredness of the house with peeling paint and mould. The welcome was short, with no introduction of our surroundings or mod cons (heating worked from a remote on the wall we eventually figured out). We stayed in the family room, my parents, my 7 year old son and myself. The main room is spacious and apparently clean, but the twin room is small with no storage other than a small set of drawers, and the bathroom is tiny. The kettle was filthy, as was the bathroom window and wine glasses provided. The breakfast is a definite bonus which I cannot fault, best eggs ever!! To top off a disappointing stay, and the main reason I write this review, is the fact that the owners saw fit to play loud music which they then had to talk over, right underneath our window - not easy to get a 7 year old to sleep! Also not easy to sleep myself, I feel that more regard should be paid towards paying guests!!! I love the island, and visit often, but I would not choose this b&b for a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhianfa, Owner at Rhianfa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are really sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us, customer satisfaction is very important to us and we are very upset that we failed to meet your expectations.
I would like to unreservedly apologise for disturbing you on the last night of your stay, we had family visiting that we see once a year and I guess we got carried away. We had no idea at the time that we were disturbing you, it is not a valid excuse and again we apologise.
If I may I would also like to respond to some of your other points.
Ours is a large 120 years old house and there is always something that needs doing, we do as much as time and money permit over the winter months but cannot always do everything but in general it is in good decorative order which is reflected in the feedback we get from guests and Visit Wales when they grade us. On this basis we do feel that describing it as tired is a little unfair.
The room itself is designed for families and as you describe has one large main bedroom and a small twin which though has two full sized single beds is designed so that the children can go to bed without the parents having to worry about disturbing them, it is not meant to be a second full sized bedroom. We can offer a double and a twin next door to each other but obviously the cost would be significantly more.
With regards to the kettle I checked this out and what you describe as filthy is the staining on the inside near the heating element that you get with a white plastic kettle, we do have spare ones in case one fails and would have been happy to provide you with a new one. Similarly we would have been happy to provide you with alternative wine glasses.
We do recognise that we do not offer 5 star service and facilities but we also do not charge 5 star prices. Our aim is to be welcoming and friendly without being over the top and we do our best to try and ensure that all our guests enjoy there experience with us, obviously we have failed to do so for you and for that we are very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Had a nice stay at Rhianfa. Bull Bay/Amlwch is right in the North East corner of Anglesey. Whilst not central to the popular parts of the Island we found we were never more than half an hour away from most things.

On-line booking easy. Found it first time as it is on the main road - though you might want to ignore your sat nav! Plenty of parking space. Pleasant staff, well only ever saw Michael. Very pleasant room. Very clean. Only really minor things - like curtain tie backs were falling out of the wall - need a bit of polyfilla! But really that apart, room felt a lot classier than I was expecting and was tastefully decorated. Big bathroom though strangely no bath in it. Again not a problem. Free Wi-Fi available though connection a bit hit and miss. Outside they enjoy a massive front garden with table and chairs if you want a lazy day.

I liked the breakfast set up. All the cereals and hot and cold drinks were laid out for you to help yourself. All you needed to order was your fried breakfast and toast. Good tea and coffee dispensers. All in all I'd say breakfast was good and it set you up for the day.

You can walk to Bull Bay in five minutes, though you would only need five minutes there - there is not a lot else to do! We ate in Beaumaris, about half an hours drive away, though there are a few local places which you will find recommended by fellow guests in the book in reception.

Overall a very good value place to stay in Anglesey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealGoneKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My son & I stayed here last week,as we were visiting family nearby.I can highly recommend Rhianfa,we had a very warm welcome from Sian,& we had a lovely comfortable room ( room 5 ) the breakfast was brilliant,filled me up until early evening. Will definitely be coming to stay here again. Thanks

Room Tip: We had Room 5,& it was spacious,& comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
0.3 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The Woburn Hill Hotel
The Woburn Hill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
15.4 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhianfa

Property: Rhianfa
Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhianfa is a quiet and friendly family run establishment on the outskirts of the beautiful seaside village of Bull Bay. The property itself sits in 1 acre of land and is surrounded by fields and trees and is 300 yards walk away from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Amlwch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing