We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buy a dyson !!!”

Dinorben Arms Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amlwch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dinorben Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Amlwch B&B and Inns
Indian Ocean
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“buy a dyson !!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here recently and first of all let me start off by saying that Veronica and her husband are the nicest and most friendly couple you could ever wish to meet. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, served with a smile and at a time convenient for us.Nothing was too much trouble.
We were lucky to be offered a quiet room and we didn't hear the music from the bar downstairs and for that we are grateful !
The only downside to the stay was the cleanliness of the room. The carpet looked relatively new but looked as though it had never seen a hoover...I pulled out the bedside cabinet to use the plug behind and it was utterly disgusting....dead skin and toenail clippings, hair and layers of dust !! It really did make me feel sick. Cobwebs were in all corners of the room. Under the bed was also a disgrace.
The bathroom was ancient and also looked like it needed a hoover...actually it's a shame as it's nothing a good going over with the new 'Dyson' wouldn't solve...although I'm not a fan of carpet in an en-suite ( if you could call it that). The toilet was clean and the towels replaced everyday.
The shower was very old and had moldy black tiles....could be updated.
Plenty of tea and coffee making facilites in the room. The TV only worked occasionally with the picture constantly showing a 'no signal' sign....but then maybe that's Wales for you !!
The bed was quiet comfortable... bedding also ancient but seemed clean ( I felt a bit itchy all night)
So I don't really know what to say...obviously I am being a coward by writing this on trip advisor instead of confronting the owners with my complaints but maybe if they read this they might give all the rooms a huge spring clean.....I wouldn't stay here again unless I had a cleaner room but then the owners were really lovely so who knows ?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aroundUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed for only one night, for a nearby Wedding. Service was excellent and the breakfast fantastic. Would have loved to stay longer, and will stay here again in the future. Very welcoming owners. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Veronica and her staff have been fantastic with our lads, easy to deal with and arrange work accommodation with. Great prices and fab food, perfect for the lads to retreat to after a hard days work on that windy island.

Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HSE U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were in need of a clean comfortable room for the night, that would allow the dog (golden retriever) to stay with us, after a very unsatisfactory night at a campsite nearby!
The Dinorben Arms Hotel was very welcoming, Breakfast was excellent, and the room was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aggie422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel and i'd have no hesitation in recomending it to others. The staff were friendly, the room was warm and clean and the breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We would echo the comments of the previous review in July. The hotel does not look particularly inspiring from the outside but the owners have invested considerably in refurbishing and redecorating the bedrooms. Our room (10) was a good size, very clean and well furnished, even if the floorboards creaked a bit. There was a smallish ensuite shower, wc and washbasin.
The breakfast room was light and simply but tastefully furnished and our "full breakfast" was freshly cooked to order.
The owners were most friendly and helpful.
The biggest downside was the seagulls waking you up in the morning!
We had a particular reason for wanting to stay in Amlwch and having discovered the Dinorben Arms, would stay here again if we returned.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PES389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

The hotel is probably the most centerally located in the village with the local bus station about 5 mins walk away and the local shops on the doorstep. There are also a surprisingly large number of pubs nearby and the Port/Harbour is a 15 minute walk away.

The hotel itself is pleasent to stay in and deceptively big with three dining rooms and two large bars at the back with plenty of entertainment. I had B&B and the owner asked me what I wanted and he made it for me (no set menu or set combinations). The room I had was large with a decent shower and a very nice TV. It was clean and well looked after.

Overall the hotel was fine. It's a small village so some people won't find the hotel of there dreams there but it was comfy, clean and well ran.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cls14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
1.1 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Woburn Hill Hotel
Woburn Hill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
7.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#1 of 1 in Rhosgoch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinorben Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinorben Arms Hotel

Property: Dinorben Arms Hotel
Address: Dinorben Square, Amlwch LL68 9AL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Amlwch
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run Hotel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dinorben Arms Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Amlwch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing