We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trecastell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Sometimes in life a happy accident takes you by surprise and you can'rt believe you didn't try it before. We have been going to Anglesey for 30 years and have driven past the Trecastell Hotel so many times without calling in. This year we decided to book a couple of nights here and loved it so much we have just booked our 6th visit this year! The genuine warm welcome you receive as soon as you walk through the door is as good as ever. Gill, and ALL of her team are so pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. The process of changing the decor in the rooms is well under way and the attention to detail and colour coordination is fabulous. The menu leaves you spoilt for choice and the general atmosphere is geared to toal relaxation, so much so that you can literally feel your heart-rate slow as you take in the views and ambience of such pleasant surroundings. Already booked for our Wedding anniversary for another break. If you keep going back they must be doing something right! Thanks to all. xx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It was good to see you again and we look forward to your next visit for your wedding anniversary soon. We should have made some more changes to the hotel by your next visit so you will have seen the hotel as we took it over in May right through to its conclusion in the coming months, hopefully not too many.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    96
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
36
197
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our third stay here and it just gets better. We came for two nights for our anniversary and had room fourteen. This is a lovely room with a settee by the window. It was nice to sit there looking at the sea and relaxing. The food was delicious as usual, and our old friend Paul was there also. Gill gave us flowers and chocolates on the day of our anniversary which we thought was wonderful. The service and friendliness cannot be faulted and we look forward to our next visit in November.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evilcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are glad you chose to spend your wedding anniversary at our hotel and that you we both made to feel welcome and were able to relax and enjoy it so much.
See you again we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just returned after our fourth stay at this hotel since the present owners moved in and, as always, absolutely first class. Gill and James (and son Paul) made us so welcome and we had a thoroughly enjoyable overnight stay. The evening meal was wonderful, a varied choice of menu, and there was a lovely relaxing atmosphere in the restaurant. Plenty of choice for breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for Gill and staff. As for the room, it was beautifully decorated with sea view, tea/coffee making facilities and we had a great night's sleep as it was so quiet. I was lucky enough to be shown a couple of the other rooms which Gill had personally refurbished since our previous visits - what a difference! A lot of hard work had been undertaken and which continues on other rooms. Once again a memorable visit and we left feeling as if we had had a relaxing week's stay. I took my 91 year old father for an overnight stay and everyone went out of their way to make his stay enjoyable. He had only one word for it - "perfect". Thanks to Gill, James, Paul and all the staff for another brilliant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon with hopefully more changes made both up and downstairs for you to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at the Trecastle, we were made to feel very welcome from the minute we entered the hotel, nothing was to much trouble for them.although the decor is looking a bit tired, every where is clean, the beds are really comfortable & bedding & towels are spotless!
The breakfast was excellent, a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt & cooked food, we ate in the restaurant every night & enjoyed every meal, food was well cooked & well presented by pleasant staff, the owner Gill goes that extra mile to make sure your stay is enjoyable, she is a very pleasant person as is her son Paul, & would have no hesitation in staying there again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are really happy that your visit was so enjoyable and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Over the past 2 months, we have stayed at the Trecastell Hotel 3 times, twice with business colleagues. My husband is a hard taskmaster and at times a bit of a Victor Meldrew! By our third visit, we felt so comfortable and well looked after we didnt miss an evening meal as the food is first class including the breakfast. Our room had a stunning view and was clean and comfortable. A big thank you to all the staff for making us so welcome and a big thank you to Gill who even went out of her way to run us about when we were let down by a tax. In conclusion, Victor says 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverleyshenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thanks for making us smile. So glad Victor and yourself have enjoyed your visits to us.
Bet though that he is not a Victor when driving the Lambo which enhanced our car park nicely for a few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Found this on a last minute site, what a find, views are beautiful and we was very well looked after. There's a new head chef and the food was beautiful! Rooms were clean and the owners were very friendly, would not hesitate to book and return, I always find something to moan about, but not here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulak279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thanks for your honest comments and pleased you felt that you had nothing to complain about.
Our chefs try really hard to keep to the high standards they themselves have set.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Enjoyed a 1 night stay on 31st August with the wife and youngster. From booking the room to departing on Sunday morning, we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were shown to our room, which whilst basic, was very clean, good size for the three of us and a stunning view of the bay. When we suggested that we would like to take evening meal, we were offered a special table within the games room, as the reminder of the restaurant was full, a further good sign for me. The food and service were excellent, both the dinner and the breakfast the following morning.
Overall a very pleasurable experience and whilst I'm not sure when we will be back in Anglesey, when we are we will certainly seek out the Trecastell again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit so much and hopefully when the next time you visit Anglesey you will stay with us and see the changes that will have been made to improve our hotel.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
8.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
15.7 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Property: Trecastell Hotel
Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Amlwch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing