We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better and better!!”
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trecastell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gets better and better!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Just been back again for another weekend and I didn't think it was possible for anywhere to get any better, but refurbishments are continually ongoing and it is truly a wonderful place to stay, or just eat. As soon as you walk in the hotel you can feel the tensions of everyday life drain from you. On a nice day there is a lovely patio area with breathtaking views. Gill, James and Paul (and the other staff) can't do enough to make your stay a pleasure and really go out of their way to do all they can to please. We had room 14 with spectacular views, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits, and a sofa by the window to enjoy the scenery. The menu is great - something to please everyone and always beautifully cooked and presented and served by very pleasant staff. So if you want to lose yourself in good food, good hosts, good staff, good accommodation and good views then get yourself down to the Trecastell. Well recommended. Well done Gill, James, Paul and all the staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you your kind words and will no doubt see you again soon for another visit where we hope you will see more changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    96
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
36
197
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Had visited here on an earlier holiday so returned for lunch. Don't be put off by the empty conservatory when out of season. Lovely views over the bay, cosy and warm (cold outside), friendly staff and a freshly cooked meal and dessert.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed here but rooms with a sea view would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Really appreciate your honest comments and hope you will come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here a few months ago when it had just been taken over by the new proprietors
It was a but upside down with more off the menu than on but four of us eating did have tasty meals and enjoyed the food and the stunning views from sitting outside
On our second visit however the food was disappointing
I had the lasagne which I found to be very dry and seriously lacking in sauce. The meat was bland and had and no sauce in it whatsoever so it was really like eating mince meat and nothing more
The garlicky bread was garlic ciabatta but was very thin and dry and tasted of nothing more than crusty bread
My friend had the Lamb Henry, exactly the same as the last time we visited, but it was served in a completely different way and the vegetables were barely visible when served. It was ok but certainly nothing to praise

The batman/waiter was very pleasant and attentive

But it's not cheap here and I'm not really sure I would make the effort again from Conwy

And after reading the review about the family who booked the family christmas party and having to cancel because of the loss of a close relative through cancer and then refused their deposit refunded I actually feel less inclined to visit
Empathy stretches a longer way in times like this family suffered.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Sorry you didn't enjoy your second visit as much as the first.
It's a shame you didn't point out your feelings whilst here as we may have been able to rectify your grievances.
Our food is always slightly different each time you have it as its all home cooked and we buy our meat from a local butcher who tries to keep things as consistently sized as possible but joints of meat can sometimes bit slightly different in size, taste and consistency.
We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Driving round the coast from Holyhead we came across Trecastell Hotel, we were greeted with warm smiles and a warm bar, the food was lovely and the Guinness was excellent. The staff were relaxed and helpful, just a shame we were only passing through. Thank you all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolBford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Glad you liked our hotel and please return soon for a longer visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We are a local sports club and Came here for our Christmas party it was brilliant. The food and the service were great Gill and her team could not do enough for us.
In the past 2 years this place has had 4 different people running it and to be honest we had pretty much given up on it ever being good again. Gill and James have put the sparkle back in the place.

I have since been back with my family and had equal quality food and service long may it continue good luck for the future I will be spreading the word locally and further afield.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellbent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for recognizing all the hard work that we as a team have put in.
See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just stayed here for one night and cant fault the place. Gill offered us an early breakfast as we were a team of 5 working in the area. she is in the process of slight refurbishment and the place has a great atmosphere with good food. You will always get people with silly opinions about food portions etc, but none of us had any complaints will be back in the summer, good luck Gill.

Room Tip: There are premium quality rooms with views to die for, just ask on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyc645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We thank you for taking the tie to comment on our hotel.
You are right that its impossible to please everyone, but we do try to as much as possible.
Glad you and the lads enjoyed you brief visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic weekend spent at trecastell. Went with a group of friends for Friday and Saturday night. Ate in the restaurant for both nights and had a lovely tasty meal, can definitely recommend Brie and mushroom Wellington even if you're not a veggie .

This is the second time we have been to this hotel and have to say well done Gill and James for creating such a lovely relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.

Gill was also serving breakfast which is hot, tasty and definitely sets you up for the day. She is a hands on type of lady who looks after her guests with welcome and makes you feel relaxed and happy to be there.

We stayed in room 5, and what a beautiful and relaxing room. The king size bed was so comfortable and two goods nights sleep was had. The little extras of tea, coffee biscuits and water, plus the little extra bathroom bits were well appreciated.

All said and done, lovely time had by us and our friends, and would we recommend this hotel and a stay with Gill and James? You bet!! You will not be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We are really pleased you liked our hotel as much as we do.
Please visit us again soon to see the changes that have been made which we hope has improved the hotel still further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
8.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
15.7 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Property: Trecastell Hotel
Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Amlwch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing