We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning Golfing Party”
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecastell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel for many years with varying degrees of satisfaction, so knowing it was under new management was hopeful it would return to former glories.
We weren't disappointed, James and Gill proved perfect hosts and all the staff were very friendly.
The hotel has undergone refurbishment and it shows, from the bar to the bedrooms. Happy to say we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancisOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We try to keep improving and hope you will notice still more changes next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Trecastell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

James and Gill, the relatively new proprietors have improved the hotel considerably, especially in terms of furnishings, food and service. The hotel is ideally located for golf at Bull Bay Golf Club (which is only a few hundred yards away). I have been organising an annual golf trip to the hotel for friends for many years now and the latest visit (in April 2014) was the most pleasurable at the hotel. James and Gill were very helpful and looked after us all very well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for considering organizing your annual trip back to our hotel after the experiences you had in the past from previous owners.
You made our job easier with the way you had your side organized and we carried on your good work.
See you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We experienced a very good "value for money" hotel during our recent golfing trip. The staff, food and accommodation was better than expected and the hotel is superbly managed by the present proprietors James & Gill and ably supported by efficient and cheerful staff.
The hotel location is excellent and the views from the comfortable rooms overlooking the sea are tremendous. Would certainly recommend the hotel for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Similar to previous comments from your colleagues we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A group (16) of us have stayed at the Trecastell Hotel for a number of years whilst on a golf trip to Bull Bay GC.. This was my 3rd visit with this particular group and I have to say the James and Gill have so far done a great job on the hotel. It is still work in progress but to date all is good. I had room number 12 which is a non en suite double, however the loo and the shower are just outside the door on the opposite side of the corridor. It is sea facing and was very comfortable. We stayed from Thursday night to Sunday morning. The food compared to previous years was really good and service was excellent. After the first mornings breakfast James took our orders as we came downstairs and the wait for food was minimal. The evening meals were off what is a large varied menu. All food is freshly cooked and once again once we sat down at 8 oclock the wait was minimal and nothing was too much trouble. I am sure that once the renovations are complete this hotel will attract a lot of custom. It was interesting that this year there were a lot more people dining than I had noticed on previous visits. All the staff were really helpful and remained cheerful throughout. We have already told them we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_richards32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

You guys were great company and when you return next year we hope that you will see even more changes interestingly enough to rooms 4 and 12 which we hope to have fully en-suite once the plans have been agreed upon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I were passing through Bull bay and decided to have food here. We were greeted by a pleasant young woman at the bar, we asked if we were able to eat as the bar looked full, she warned us that we could but there may be a wait as they were busy. We decided to order anyway and we are both glad we did! My husband had the steak and ale pie (one of the nicest he's had by his own admission) and I had Sea bass from the specials. There was a small wait of about 25 mins, we had been told when we ordered so that didn't bother us, and the food more than made up for the wait. My only problem was that I didn't have room for a dessert! Will definitely be returning on our next visit to Anglesey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thanks for being so reasonable about your 25 minute wait.
Really pleased you enjoyed your food so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Trecastell Hotel in Bull Bay, Anglesey.

We stayed there two weeks ago and found it exceptional. The service, food and accommodation was superb. We highly recommend it.

Well worth a visit. Staff and owners very friendly.

Room Tip: Sea view room great views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickilaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thanks for your concise and kind comments.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

At the beginning the staff were very friendly and helpful. A few teething troubles (no water or heating due to maintenance) but the water was soon sorted and we were cosy again after the first night. Clean and pleasant room and decent breakfasts. However our experience was spoilt when we decided to eat a lunchtime meal in the restaurant. It was a sunny afternoon in the conservatory with a beautiful sea view and we decided to order a bottle of wine and enjoy the ambience for a a few hours. We were told that there would be a 20 minute wait for food but we said that would be fine as we were in no rush.1 hour later my husband's overcooked dark brown, battered fish arrived. We were now hungry so he ate the chips and mushy peas but the fish had dried up and stuck to the batter and was inedible. My fish pie was very average with lots of chewy overcooked prawns but I ate it. They came to clear the plates away and then asked if everything was alright.My husband said no and the proprieter's son said that he would not charge us for his meal. That was fine but then they chose to completely ignore us. I would have liked a sweet or even a coffee but we were completely ostracised. No one came near us, tables were cleared and served while we sat there for an hour to see if the waitress would ask if we wanted to complete our meal. They seemed to be totally disinterested in our custom because we had complained. It was quite an upsetting experience.

Room Tip: Hotel Service was fine but restaurant service was terrible. I have rated the hotel only.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Our son did the correct thing by refunding your meal even though you had eaten yours completely as the fish was below below par. We were very busy but that is no excuse for a sub standard meal. We have since appointed a new head chef as our previous one had move on to run his own place. If you are down for the folk weekend next year we hope that you will give us another try.
Thanks for the comments about the rooms and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
8.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
1.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,021 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
740 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range: £71 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Amlwch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing